Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How did you afford your dream car?

• 03-03-2020 10:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭

Am upgrading my car and have my dream car in mind but amn't in the strongest position financially. Not in a bad place but not sure if I want to be working to pay of my car for the foreseeable future.

Just want to know what others have done.
    Did ye see it as something ya wanted so just went for it?
    Does anyone regret doing this?
    Did anyone feel its not worth it?
    Does finance or a loan make it worth it where ya just set aside a weekly amount for a set period of time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

What's your dream car?
    Luckily for me my dream car is a 3 to 4 year old big German saloon which come relatively cheap and I can afford. Was saving for a while and was able to buy in cash. As I've no loan I can continue to save towards my next one, whenever that will be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭S.G.M.

I'd love a Skoda Octavia VRS which would be close to 25,000 euro when 15,00 euro would be a lot more sensible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭MarkN

S.G.M. wrote: »
    I'd love a Skoda Octavia VRS which would be close to 25,000 euro when 15,00 euro would be a lot more sensible.

Fully financed some ‘dream cars’ before. Big monthly repayment, no deposit. Crazy stuff really when I look back but I had the money (was doing extra work to have the fancy car) and wanted to have the experience of owning something special.

Older, wiser me doesn’t regret it as such but I do cringe a bit when I think what I could’ve saved.

If you love cars fair enough but don’t leave yourself without other things just to have a nice car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭maddness

Depends on a lot of factors really.
    If your 25 with no kids, mortgage or other forever responsibilities then it’s a no brainier to aim big.
    If you are middle aged with lots of grown up (no fun) responsibility then unfortunately it’s a lot harder to justify.
    My own feeling is if you love cars and really want a nice one, do it.
    I’m lucky enough to be able to have a nice car at the moment but I’ve not always been in that position and may not be again in the future. However a nice car makes me happy and life is short and we should all be happy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

A Skoda is your dream car?

Something has gone badly wrong with the World:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    A Skoda is your dream car?

Something has gone badly wrong with the World:P

Said the proud fan of Sheffield Wednesday.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Warriors4

Have you taught about going down a few years?
    Some nice Vrs’ to be had at €15k.
    Compromise now and you’ll thank yourself later
    IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I'd have to start dealing coke or something to afford my dream car. I don't drive my dream car by the way, lol.

🙈🙉🙊

Warriors4 wrote:
    Have you taught about going down a few years? Some nice Vrs’ to be had at €15k. Compromise now and you’ll thank yourself later IMO

May not be a bad idea. Just hope that an older car won't end up giving me more bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Warriors4

May not be a bad idea. Just hope that an older car won't end up giving me more bother.

Do some research on particular engines weigh up your options of petrol v diesel saloon or estate etc,
    Maybe start a thread asking other Vrs owners of any common problems or faults they have found.
    There are plenty of advantages of buying used a couple of years older over buying new, Let someone else take the big depreciation hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

If I learned one thing in my years of boy racer and car junky experience, it would be this - Don't look at what car you can afford to buy, look at the car you can afford keeping on the road. I learned it the hard way.

Nothing wrong to have a car you want, but you always have to do maths and see if owning your dream car in the end will make you hate it as it is choking you.
    Nothing wrong with taking finance to buy that car, but as I said, do maths on a piece of paper.

Warriors4 wrote:
    Do some research on particular engines weigh up your options of petrol v diesel saloon or estate etc, Maybe start a thread asking other Vrs owners of any common problems or faults they have found. There are plenty of advantages of buying used a couple of years older over buying new, Let someone else take the big depreciation hit.
    Good idea. I may do that, thanks.
    Nothing wrong to have a car you want, but you always have to do maths and see if owning your dream car in the end will make you hate it as it is choking you. Nothing wrong with taking finance to buy that car, but as I said, do maths on a piece of paper.
    Very true. I'm driving a small car ATM, fuel costs would be significantly higher with a bigger car. All needs to be taken into consideration.

Not necessarily. A small car with a small engine driven at high speed will use more fuel than a bigger car with a bigger sized engine.

If you get a big car with a small engine then receipt for disaster....

Shefwedfan wrote:
    If you get a big car with a small engine then receipt for disaster....

Oh really? So you'd want a big car with a big engine?

You had a lot of VW and Ford with a 1.6 Diesel engine for the Passat/Mondeo etc. The engine was far too small for the size of the car

The 2ltr was a lot better option and even with a bigger engine it was more economical

My sister in law had a focus, I think it was a 1.4 petrol in it, a few years back now, it burned petrol as the engine was too small, she would have been better going for the 1.6 in it

People got and still obsessed with cheap tax. Oh my car is onky 300 euro tax, or cheaper, never thinking about the other costs for a car which are a lot more expensive, like fuel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

Id love a camry but price wise still out of reach like the look of skoda superb sportline too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Try save up as much as you can towards your dream car, it will make the ownership a bit more enjoyable knowing that your hard work finally paid off. I find financing a car a bit pointless but I don’t usually keep them long enough to see out a loan term..

I’ve had a few of my dream cars and mostly I saved up a bought outright but I now find myself looking at more expensive cars and will likely be paying the credit union a visit for the next one.

My number 1 tip is make sure you do your homework on whatever car you want, my next “want” car Porsche Panamera is within my reach to buy but the running costs are making me think twice.. I’ve been caught in the past with some expensive repair bills and learned really quickly that just because you can buy a car that was originally 100k for 10k, the cost of running it will be that of the 100k car and not the 10k that you paid...

Thanks for the input folks.
    As I said, I'm after a Skoda Octavia VRS. I wouldn't call it my dream car as I wouldn't say I have a dream car. It's one that I really like and wanted to see how people afforded their dream cars as I knew there would be more car enthusiasts here that would have some expensive cars and I wanted to know how they went about getting them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭73bc61lyohr0mu

Luckily at 32 I've already owned 2 of my dream cars, a Saab 93 Aero and a Saab 95 Aero. A Saab 93 Turbo X would be the icing on the cake for me..

If I was to look for a VRS, what year and mileage would be good value.
    Dad is very much one for going for as low and as young a mileage as possible but that may be ruling out genuine options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭maddness

Look for one you can afford the repayment on.
    If that means older and higher mileage so be it. There are plenty of older higher mileage cars that are still desirable too. Don’t over think it either, life is short so if it makes you happy buy your dream car whatever that may be!