Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The only thing we have to fear is...

• 26-02-2020 7:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭

...climate change, the weather, Corona virus, Sinn Fein, drinking and smoking, muslamic Ray guns, running in the yard.
    Is the world today too fearful of random things outside our control? Is this the result of society becoming more rational or a more sinister attempt by the man to keep the populace compliment?

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,415 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

...the fear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

.....a woman scorned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,770 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Fear itself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,770 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

For Each A Rose

For Everyman A Religion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I feel pity for the 'Reeling In the Years' when they cover 2020.

Fitting even up to now into 30mins will be damn hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

...a dead Chuck Norris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

...being singled out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

End of along ****e and realising there just one square of bog roll left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,044 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Linda Martin singing.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

Corona virus and Sinn Fein. You're linking those two haha.

Let me guess, your political party got hammered in the last erection. Hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

...climate change, the weather, Corona virus, Sinn Fein, drinking and smoking, muslamic Ray guns, running in the yard.
    Is the world today too fearful of random things outside our control? Is this the result of society becoming more rational or a more sinister attempt by the man to keep the populace compliment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

the inside of our heads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,964 ✭✭✭growleaves

The only thing we have to fear is beer itself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I have 3 falggins of LIDL cider so away with yer end of the world mallarkey

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Soon Met Eireann will start naming showers of rain, that's next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

uch wrote: »

I also notice he didn't mention Cake, so feck yiz all, I'm grand

21/25

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 41 The Shocking Truth

...the fear
    ian brown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

The prospect of Ireland being turned into a socialist Utopia.

🙈🙉🙊

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭Ladybird18

One thing I did see was along the lines of "our worst fears are things we have never even imagined"
    Given the spate of wrong place wrong time victims recently I think it should put our fears in perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

Twink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,036 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

uch wrote: »

You sound like you're already half way through one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

The real problem is that we are faced on TV etc with the disasters of the entire world, whereas less than a century ago we rarely heard of eg a earthquake in far away lands.

Which is one reason I rarely see any world news and then often skim it.

After 9/11 when I was in some US chat groups online, some folk were getting PTSD from watching the film over and over again.

There is nothing we can do ; except support folk who are stressing too much and avoid doing that ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,717 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Graces point is well made.

Ignorance is bliss, a little knowledge is a dangerous thing etc etc.

What we have to fear is a relentless stream of information and communication, never switching off from work or the world, a constant bombardment acting like gamma rays on our mental health and inducing anxiety and disassociative disorders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

False Evidence Appearing Real

So many of our fears are groundless, imaginary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭Millicently

Nothing to fear from SF, a gimp party of thugs who got less than 25% of the vote, most of which were protest votes and votes by young workshy people who thought they'd get a Dole increase, going around organising Nazi like rallies in the hope of forcing their way into government.:D They are a joke, they'll be on the sidelines like they usually are. In a way it's a pity because if they had gotten into power they'd have bankrupted the country for generations and made themselves completely un electable forevermore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

cancer