Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Obstacles outside houses.

• 19-02-2020 7:03pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭

I live in the countryside where the roads are very narrow and there’s a school. The places to pull in meeting cars are few and far between. There are a good few houses built in the last 10 years or so but nearly all have concrete bollards outside to stop cars or whatever pulling in. I have on occasion got down and fcuked them into the ditch. These weigh around 30kgs. Are they legal?
    What’s the point in keeping the hedge or fence in, only to stick these on the side of the road.
    Very frustrating meeting forward drivers only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

Moving fences etc back as part of planning permission is for lines of sight etc for vehicles pulling onto road. Councils would not be entitled to widen road per say.

That said obstacles should not be hazardous to vehicles. Land owner would be liable if they are hazardous.

You should not interfere with a persons property like moving bollards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Gods Gift wrote: »
    I live in the countryside where the roads are very narrow and there’s a school. The places to pull in meeting cars are few and far between. There are a good few houses built in the last 10 years or so but nearly all have concrete bollards outside to stop cars or whatever pulling in. I have on occasion got down and fcuked them into the ditch. These weigh around 30kgs. Are they legal?
    What’s the point in keeping the hedge or fence in, only to stick these on the side of the road.
    Very frustrating meeting forward drivers only.
    Your right. Mostly it's folk not wanting hgvs pulling in on there thin depth of tarmac usually recently laid. others are quite protective of a bit of their property. its a irish thing.

read alocal court case some years back where a car owner hit what you describe above alongside the public road, causing damage to their car.
    took a claim against home owner for damages to car and judge ruled in the car owners favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Your complaint should be at the council. They have made the house owners move the fences back from the road meaning they have to mark their land boundary somehow. It is not the house owners duty to provide safe pull off areas, it is your responsibility to drive to the road conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

Gods Gift wrote: »
    nearly all have concrete bollards outside to stop cars or whatever pulling in. I have on occasion got down and fcuked them into the ditch.

Where did you pull in before the houses / boundary ditches were there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭kk.man

The main problem as I see it, on those country roads drivers of cars are becoming more and more 'ignorant'. The day of manners pulling in to the nearest gateway is gone I am afraid. If you pull in and let another car pass they would fail to salute you thus claiming 'a moral victory'. If you both meet in the narrow strip you are viewed as the 'aggressor'.
    Its really a definition of where Ireland is with regard to manners and respect imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭kennethsmyth

I live in the country with a hedge 4 foot back from road. I have a maintained grass verge and have wooden reflectors to mark the line of the road on the edge of this verge (inside the edge by 6 inches say). My section of road is wider than most of the rest but it still doesnt stop absolute a**holes going down the road too fast, meeting another car and riding the edge of the verge to get by without slowing. In the process they hit the refective markers and muck the grass verge. Ye know what they are just a**holes. Theres plenty of room to get by but not at the speed they do. I'm going to have to replace the markers and this time they will be put more permanently in. Re-bar into ground and marker attached to this. In this manner if a car has to go up on verge to avoid a crash they can but the marker is less likely to move as easily as just hammered into the ground - your choice.

Explain that you didnt see a reflective marker and happened to scrape your car off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

The speed people drive now is crazy. I live on a country road, busy enough. I walked with the kids to my parents sometimes and my heart does be in my mouth. They pass you all full speed. It’s ludicrous. They seem to think if there was an accident they wouldn’t be at fault, and maybe not, but If they just slowed down a touch to anticipate something going wrong then the chance of an accident would be also zero.
    Re putting the rebar. If there was an accident could you be held partially responsible?

The speed people drive now is crazy. I live on a country road, busy enough. I walked with the kids to my parents sometimes and my heart does be in my mouth. They pass you all full speed. It’s ludicrous. They seem to think if there was an accident they wouldn’t be at fault, and maybe not, but If they just slowed down a touch to anticipate something going wrong then the chance of an accident would be also zero.
    Re putting the rebar. If there was an accident could you be held partially responsible?

I'd be tempted to put angle iron in the ground and paint them Hi-Viz with some decorative chain hanging between each post
    9508.jpg?mh=460&mw=690&hash=794D0876FD8408E541F3A3646011C08D6DAEE858

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

ganmo wrote: »
    I'd be tempted to put angle iron in the ground and paint them Hi-Viz with some decorative chain hanging between each post

We live in a very litigious heavy society now. If there were an accident and the wrong judge presided I’d worry about a claim being made.

_Brian wrote: »
    We live in a very litigious heavy society now. If there were an accident and the wrong judge presided I’d worry about a claim being made.

true, you'd want to have examples of where the council used similar and follow what they did in terms of how many inches back from the road like in the pic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Sac O Spuds

Around here the most valuable piece of real estate is outside people's properties. Theres more attention paid to the grass margins than to the lawns within. My neighbour is running a guesthouse and he cuts the grass margins weekly with a lawnmower . A lot of what he cuts isn't bounding his property- its owned by 2 neighbouring farmers.
    He got thick with a contractor once over them tearing up the sod turning while coming out of a field on the other side of the road about 20 metres away from his property. Contractor told him that as far as he was aware the ground was belonging to the farmer who owned the ground inside the ditch. Maybe take it up with the tractor drivers and tell the farmers to widen their gaps away out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 aphextwit

IMHO Excessively manicured verges lead to increased level of wildlife and pet roadkill. Hairier verges provide the security of cover for spooked animals. They are also better at holding water in times of excessive rainfall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭elperello

ganmo wrote: »

I can understand that people want to prevent damage to the verge outside their property.However angle iron with chain link could be lethal to motorcyclists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

elperello wrote: »
    I can understand that people want to prevent damage to the verge outside their property.However angle iron with chain link could be lethal to motorcyclists.
    Check the planning with the property most require ditch to be moved back 3 metres and this area to be covered with stone and 804.

Maybe it would be best if the County Council laid the area the same as the road and maintained it.
    The home owner wouldn't have the problem and the passing area would be available for all.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,358 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Outside a wall or boundry is considered part of the public thoroughfare and if any damage to vehicles is done by obstacles placed there then the person putting them there is liable.end of story

ruwithme wrote: »
    Your right. Mostly it's folk not wanting hgvs pulling in on there thin depth of tarmac usually recently laid. others are quite protective of a bit of their property. its a irish thing.

read alocal court case some years back where a car owner hit what you describe above alongside the public road, causing damage to their car.
    took a claim against home owner for damages to car and judge ruled in the car owners favour.

The first paragraph there reminds me of a dog cocking his leg to mark his territory.
    "All this is mine and if you're not looking after yours I'll take care of it so that makes it mine too"
    There's one particular spot not to far from me and they'd nearly take the road if they got the chance. Stone walls and flower pots and shrubbery.

K.G. wrote: »
    Outside a wall or boundry is considered part of the public thoroughfare and if any damage to vehicles is done by obstacles placed there then the person putting them there is liable.end of story

Reflector markers are standard verge items and would not be considered an obstacle, a rock would.

The first paragraph there reminds me of a dog cocking his leg to mark his territory.
    "All this is mine and if you're not looking after yours I'll take care of it so that makes it mine too"
    There's one particular spot not to far from me and they'd nearly take the road if they got the chance. Stone walls and flower pots and shrubbery.

If you are talking about the left one, the pots just stop cars turning around in the entrance. You'd need a flying car to hit them as there is a ditch down with a pipe on either side of the pots etc. The left one however is a disgrace, a car could clip the stone wall edges and flip over.

The pots and stones were put there after a tractor pulled in to let traffic pass . Left some muck after him off the wheels. Owner was hopping. The funny thing about the other entrance is that its owned by a Garda. Working in the Traffic Corp no less. The little walls were damaged when they were working on the house across the way. Did Not go down well to say it lightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

elperello wrote: »

And a tree would be too. You're not supposed to drive into them.

Reflector markers are standard verge items and would not be considered an obstacle, a rock would.

Rebar?

And a tree would be too. You're not supposed to drive into them.

Yes some people plant trees on those areas too.

I do know that you are not supposed to drive into them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭sandman30

kk.man wrote: »
    The main problem as I see it, on those country roads drivers of cars are becoming more and more 'ignorant'. The day of manners pulling in to the nearest gateway is gone I am afraid. If you pull in and let another car pass they would fail to salute you thus claiming 'a moral victory'. If you both meet in the narrow strip you are viewed as the 'aggressor'.
    Its really a definition of where Ireland is with regard to manners and respect imo.

Generally speaking, the smarter the car the less manners.

Rebar?

The rebar is essentially underground

The pots and stones were put there after a tractor pulled in to let traffic pass . Left some muck after him off the wheels. Owner was hopping. The funny thing about the other entrance is that its owned by a Garda. Working in the Traffic Corp no less. The little walls were damaged when they were working on the house across the way. Did Not go down well to say it lightly.

Ye do know that tractors are meant to clean the wheels on exiting a field - but none ever do. It’s so a vehicle does not encounter excessive mud on road and it acts like ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Ye do know that tractors are meant to clean the wheels on exiting a field - but none ever do. It’s so a vehicle does not encounter excessive mud on road and it acts like ice.

If any farmers on here are lucky enough to have a private road not yet built on, never give permission to let any one build, this thread is just a small example of what to expect.

wrangler wrote: »
    If any farmers on here are lucky enough to have a private road not yet built on, never give permission to let any one build, this thread is just a small example of what to expect.

How is this thread relevant to private roads?
    I thought it was about public roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

First post I think I’ve ever agreed with you on......!!

The mud cleaned off is the law - specifically Section 13 of the Roads Act 1993

This thread is an example of what to expect some farmers think of the law and the safety of others.

The rebar is in the ground to support the reflector markers, it’s attached to back of marker and would be level with ground. Marker however wouldn’t be easily driven over as wouldn’t give way as easy.

The mud cleaned off is the law - specifically Section 13 of the Roads Act 1993

This thread is an example of what to expect some farmers think of the law and the safety of others.

law doesn't apply on a private road.
    Been there,guards had to go home.
    Same as trying to apply the law to a private avenue

Forget the private road, the muck posting was regarding normal public roads.

Also even on a private road you have a duty of care, so if an accident occurred due to the mud you couldn’t just claim “private road tough” unless road was gated off and sign posted as private with enter at own risk etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,061 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Someone called the Guards about muck on the road?

Agreed.
    But why are we on private roads when the rest of the thread is about public roads?

Forget the private road, the muck posting was regarding normal public roads.

Also even on a private road you have a duty of care, so if an accident occurred due to the mud you couldn’t just claim “private road tough” unless road was gated off and sign posted as private with enter at own risk etc

Where's the duty of care in those rocks and obstacles, they're there all year, the road is only dirty for a fortnight (at the most ) in the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Do it right put down kerbs and keep those drivers off the lawn. 10ft wide road coming down a steep hill and a deep dyke on the left.

That's a grand manicured pull in area, sure jeeps and tractors would have no problem pulling in there

Where's the duty of care in those rocks and obstacles, they're there all year, the road is only dirty for a fortnight (at the most ) in the year.

Yes there also is a duty of care for rocks and anything else dangerous but I think you may have a different view as to what constitutes obstacles. Would you consider reflector markers fair game to drive over? My guess is you probably would and that’s not right. Regarding the muck on road, I don’t care about dirty but mucky dangerous roads I do. Two weeks or not it’s breaking the law and people do get hurt.

The last comment ill make is havent lads alot to bother them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

The last comment ill make is havent lads alot to bother them

Driving over private property with gusto aye?

Re not getting the salute on country roads... In Dublin there must be loads of traffic accidents, because to a man/woman they are all incapable of lifting their hands above shoulder level.

And it's self fulfilling, Dubliners are far less likely to be let out into traffic by other Dublin drivers.