Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE Death Cult

• 12-02-2020 1:55pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 426 ✭✭

I know RTE is a closed shop which has taken nepotism and cronyism to an art form, but is anyone else getting tired of them acting like the death of their highly paid presenters should be treated like state funerals/national mourning from the old Soviet Union. Reading state propaganda off an A4 sheet of paper is not some amazing achievement.

People in jobs die all the time. No where else does the company turn it into a week or two of national mourning followed by something akin to a state funeral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,009 ✭✭✭Allinall

MrAbyss wrote: »
    I know RTE is a closed shop which has taken nepotism and cronyism to an art form, but is anyone else getting tired of them acting like the death of their highly paid presenters should be treated like state funerals/national mourning from the old Soviet Union. Reading state propaganda off an A4 sheet of paper is not some amazing achievement.

People in jobs die all the time. No where else does the company turn it into a week or two of national mourning followed by something akin to a state funeral.

No.

Bit of respect wouldn't go amiss, MrAbyss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

Poor form.

Go off and have a beer alone and think about your actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I've mixed feelings. It is their work colleague and quite possibly their pal.

They have to give some kind of acknowledgement. So long as it is done succinctly and not spread over days I'm OK with it.

They did a little thing there last night on the Shanley lady, rest her, at the end of the current affairs show. Was fine - not OTT. Time for the living to get on with it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I don't see any problem.
    They want to acknowledge and commemorate a colleague through the medium they work in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Aside from Miriam O'Callaghan and Catríona Perry taking a minute, at most, to acknowledge the passing of their friend and workmate before her time, I haven't seen any State funerals or national-level mourning. Maybe you should pull your thumb out of your arse?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Can't agree with you OP

Came across as a lovely lady.

I was watching morning ireland few days ago and Justin was nearly in tears paying tribute to her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

So RTE get criticised for paying tribute and then the colleagues attending a funeral.

Why do people on the internet just want nothing to happen ever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

No but I do get the chilling feeling that someone with a *LOT* of power has had enough of the high salaries at Montrose :eek:

Think you need to have a little word with yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,214 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I think they paid a tribute to her at the end of the news and on Primetime.
    It would be similar to anybody who died that was involved in the media all around the world.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 426 ✭✭MrAbyss

I think they paid a tribute to her at the end of the news and on Primetime.
    It would be similar to anybody who died that was involved in the media all around the world.

The RTE website all this week was a non-stop memorial. Not the woman's fault.

This is an insight into the narcissism of RTE as a whole in that they see themselves are above other people. Hence why someone like Tubs who is paid a Hollywood salary and in any other country would be afternoon drive time DJ on a small local station.

Why does it matter? We are being taxed to pay for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...We are being taxed to pay for this.

Oh put a sock in it, youngfella. The lady is hardly cowld in the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭MakingMovies2

I think you're just a scumbag op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

LoQ5DyT.png
    I mostly agree with the other posters that the OP is making too much of it, but RTÉ have 5 articles about her on their site right now, so I can see where the OP is coming from too.

EDIT: apologies for the large image. I don't think there's an option to shrink it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Ronan Collins signed off just before 1 PM with a mournful piece of music as well the sentimental bastard!

They do like to make a big deal of their own dying it is true. I'll not hold against them as long as they drop it as of today's funeral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Billyo66

RTE have indeed raised nepotism and cronyism to a sad art form and I concur with the obscene salaries paid for woefully mediocre broadcasting.

However, I really enjoyed Keelin Shanley as a broadcaster and believe RTE are definitely poorer for her passing. RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

jimgoose wrote: »
    Aside from Miriam O'Callaghan and Catríona Perry taking a minute, at most, to acknowledge the passing of their friend and workmate before her time, I haven't seen any State funerals or national-level mourning. Maybe you should pull your thumb out of your arse?

You missed the funerals being broadcast live on TV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Classy.

RTÉ do indeed have a death cult in that the presenters Tubridy and Duffy are forever trawling for death and illness in the lives of people being interviewed. The Liveline & LLS threads reflect this. A guest in LLS might be talking positively about their life and Ryan will inevitably get around to “sadness” in their lives, trying to press for tears. Many guests are selected for their sad stories, but other guests are getting cute to this RTÉ obsession with death and try to get back on the positive aspect of their story. Ryan & Duffy will always try to get back to the tragedy aspect.

RTÉ are indeed having an Annus Horribilis regarding the mortality of their presenters, and morale cannot be good in there. Keelin died far too young, and having met her I know she was a person without notions about herself and was one of RTE’s treasures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

RTÉ do indeed have a death cult in that the presenters Tubridy and Duffy are forever trawling for death and illness in the lives of people being interviewed. The Liveline & LLS threads reflect this. A guest in LLS might be talking positively about their life and Ryan will inevitably get around to “sadness” in their lives, trying to press for tears. Many guests are selected for their sad stories, but other guests are getting cute to this RTÉ obsession with death and try to get back on the positive aspect of their story. Ryan & Duffy will always try to get back to the tragedy aspect.

Grief junkyism.

Social media is full of it.

Idiots pouring out grief over people they never mentioned before.

Turning someone else's death into a thing about themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Snails pace

The LLS and that miserable bástard Joe Duffy thrive on misery, sadness amd people's grief. I think David Mcsavage was fairly on the ball with his sketches about Joe. I liked Keelan, she was professional and nice at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 784 ✭✭✭LaFuton

murpho999 wrote: »
    So RTE get criticised for paying tribute and then the colleagues attending a funeral.

Why do people on the internet just want nothing to happen ever?

"people" ruined the Internet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Xertz

She was an excellent broadcaster and probably one of the best they’ve had. She didn’t come from a broadcasting background. She was actually a scientist and landed a job in RTE as she’d a talent for investigative journalism, extremely good communication skills and a phenomenal voice.

RTE may have some issues but she was an example of what a good journalist is and of a public service broadcaster at its best.

Honestly get fed up with threads like this. Ireland’s a small place and she was well known and well liked. We mourn those who passed away here. Have a bit of sensitivity and cop on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

Well,when the President and the Taoiseach attend, it endorses a funeral as practically a State occasion. What strikes me is that, despite the shortage of priests, there is never a shortage when a celeb dies and Fr Brian D'Arcy is always available when an oul sweat from the showband era dies. I'd imagine the spirit of Ms.Shanley is rolling her eyes at all the fuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Yeah, what is up with the LLS misery slot? The two that stick out in my mind was the teenage daughter of former Galway footballer Tony Keady being asked to recount the moment of his death in some detail and the same asked of the poor man whose wife was murdered by terrorists on holiday in Tunisia a few years ago. What is to be gained by asking them to relieve the trauma like that? It’s unseemly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Xertz wrote: »
    She was an excellent broadcaster and probably one of the best they’ve had. She didn’t come from a broadcasting background. She was actually a scientist and landed a job in RTE as she’d a talent for investigative journalism, extremely good communication skills and a phenomenal voice.

RTE may have some issues but she was an example of what a good journalist is and of a public service broadcaster at its best.

Honestly get fed up with threads like this. Ireland’s a small place and she was well known and well liked. We mourn those who passed away here. Have a bit of sensitivity and cop on!

Yeah and a lot of people were very shocked at her death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

You don't know what a death cult is, do you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Stovepipe wrote: »
    Well,when the President and the Taoiseach attend, it endorses a funeral as practically a State occasion. What strikes me is that, despite the shortage of priests, there is never a shortage when a celeb dies and Fr Brian D'Arcy is always available when an oul sweat from the showband era dies. I'd imagine the spirit of Ms.Shanley is rolling her eyes at all the fuss.

Her ceremony was humanist so no priest there despite being held in a church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Pay tribute, fair enough.

Coverage of a funeral as a news item, come on. It's not as if we don't know what happens at funerals.