Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I hate topgear

• 09-02-2020 12:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭

Its been **** for years now, supposedly a show for "petrol heads" but it's not really. It's just crass consumerism and scripted fake tomfoolery. As somebody with an interest in engineering in general they're wantom destructive of classic cars in every episode borders sacrilegious; like going on antiques road show and smashing a ming vase for the lols.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

It's gone downhill badly with the new bunch. A bad tribute act basically. Do they destroy classic cars though? Surely it's just old Mondeos etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Its been **** for years now, supposedly a show for "petrol heads" but it's not really. It's just crass consumerism and scripted fake tomfoolery. As somebody with an interest in engineering in general they're wantom destructive of classic cars in every episode borders sacrilegious; like going on antiques road show and smashing a ming vase for the lols.

Why are you still watching it so?

Can someone start a thread in the forum requests for a television forum. Maybe even a specific top gear forum too?

Maybe another forum for car related stuff too?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

You can watch the original top gear crew on Fifth Gear over on Channel 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

We need to start our own motors show in Ireland. Promote the sh1t out of it and it will bring d'Tourists too

Pity cars and driving are timely unfashionable with the politically correct crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

The new top gear is pure muck.how it got a budget for production is beyond me.
    Fcukin cat malodeon.
    A p1ss poor copy of what went before it.
    It’s like jaws 3 and 4 or smokey and the bandit 3 and 4.best forgotten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Think it's been rubbish for years now including the time the old trio where involved. I don't care about if a car can float or cross a frozen lake etc.. i'd like to hear about day to day issues with cars i might buy or own for a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

The specials were good, the show it's self was exactly the same thing each week, fast car drives fast, comfortable cars feels comfortable etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You can watch the original top gear crew on Fifth Gear over on Channel 5.

Unless it’s repeats you’re watching, Vicky Butler Henderson is the only TG presenter left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭KaneToad

It's less about the cars and more about the wacky personalities and fake scenarios.

Similar to Wheeler Dealers dropping Ed China as they wanted to devote less time to the actual mechanical/engineering end of things.

It's a similar trope for the property shows, such as Dermot Bannon's show...SFA about actual building and more about the drama and fake scenarios.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

The OP is only realizing this now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Hang glide down a mountain or drive down it quicker in a Ferrari?
    That is what I think about before buying my **** basic car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Your Face wrote: »
    The OP is only realizing this now?

It more the general trend of TV shows becoming utterly fake mindnumbling drivel.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Hang glide down a mountain or drive down it quicker in a Ferrari?
    That is what I think about before buying my **** basic car.

Yeah but to be fair, If you want the know whether a Kia Picanto or an Opel Karl has a bigger boot, there’s plenty of YouTube videos.
    Cars are boring nowadays, and the appetite isn’t really there for a sensible car show.

There is possibly a happy medium between that and what Top Gear has become. In a world of dumbed down programming and so much content available outside the conventional tv schedules, I can see why they haven’t bothered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

KaneToad wrote: »

Similar to Wheeler Dealers dropping Ed China as they wanted to devote less time to the actual mechanical/engineering end of things.

Apart from Edd deciding to leave himself and there being the same if not more mechanical stuff, that paragraph is spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Think it's been rubbish for years now including the time the old trio where involved. I don't care about if a car can float or cross a frozen lake etc.. i'd like to hear about day to day issues with cars i might buy or own for a few years.

Watch Youtube reviews. Do you really think a weekly show (that only runs for about 10 weeks a year) is going to get around every consumer car out there? Nobody would watch it these days.

Apart from Edd deciding to leave himself and there being the same if not more mechanical stuff, that paragraph is spot on.

China thought he was on to bigger and better things and it hasn’t quite worked out for him. Ant is better anyway.

I always liked Top Gear, even the LeBlanc series’, but I could never bring myself to watch the current LadBible version.

Edit - actually, the year of Evans was puke too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I love the latest one. I never watched any of the last two years as I couldn’t stand the ginger whinger and when he left the following presenters (who I can’t name except for Joey from friends Matt LeBlanc) weren’t good.

I love the current line up. They’re entertaining and while the show has gone away from being a pure car show it’s easy watching and lighthearted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Smashmouth

The Clarkson crew were a pack of tossers as well tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

That's nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,878 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

BanditLuke wrote: »

RTE did their own version with mundane stuff like that and by Christ I'd rather watch paint dry.

The 3 lads were alright, except Burma was wall to wall Rudyard Kipling references and when they were up against their German counterparts every tiresome WW2 cliche was trotted out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

I've watched from the start but gave up when Chris Evans got involved.

Have to say I'm enjoying the latest series though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Some programs have a limited shelf life,
    top gear on bbc now is a random bunch of blokes who are trying to be funny with some stunts.With very little info about cars.
    Unless it gets good ratings
    The old top gear was funny ,they knew about cars, the interview with a guest who drove on test track was entertaining .
    i can still watch old episodes on youtube and its entertaining .
    Jeremy clarkson was quite witty and can make tell a joke better than most comedians on tv now.
    You could watch the old top gear even if you have very little interest in cars.
    The worst thing about it is james may 1970,s hairstyle .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

I really like it now, hated it after the three amigos left but Freddie and paddy are gold, the little token lad isn’t great though but 2 from 3 is good and way better than the last couple of years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭D9Male

My Dad used to watch it.

Now my 12yo son watches it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Smashmouth wrote: »
    The Clarkson crew were a pack of tossers as well tbf.

James May is alright with me.

🙈🙉🙊

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Bob Flavin is the only lad I watch for car reviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Shur how can they compete with SupercarBlondie? She's the ultimate car reviewer! Like, seriously. Oh my god. Look at this. Cool right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,679 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

James May is alright with me.

He's done some decent shows in his own right. Can't abide the other two.