Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Average (mid sized) bet in a shop..

• 04-02-2020 8:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭

What are people betting these days? Most I ever bet was 10e win on on the big race festivals about 10 years ago. I rarely came away with much.
    A cousin said he'd send me a few tips this year if I wanted and he seems to know what hes doing.
    Would a 50 euro bet be alot these days or would it barley raise an eyebrow?
    Couldnt be bothered online (I hate passwords)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

If I was putting a chunky bet with bookies I would go to a few shops within a short walk of each other.
    Back in the day I was backing a team in the soccer World Cup and betting small amounts every few weeks in the same shop for about eight months.
    Things are different now, cameras, face recognition, databases.
    They do not like to lose, ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

thanks,
    How much would you regard as chunky? Only found out by reading a few threads that they dont have to pay out at all if they want. No law, just a gentleman,s agreement..
    Would a high street shop pay out on a 50euro win at 66/1 or 33/1 or would they refuse or make it a hassle etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

thanks,
    How much would you regard as chunky? Only found out by reading a few threads that they dont have to pay out at all if they want. No law, just a gentleman,s agreement..
    Would a high street shop pay out on a 50euro win at 66/1 or 33/1 or would they refuse or make it a hassle etc...

Course they should, but Ladbrokes never have any money, and most of them make you wait for anything over 2 grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

50 or 100 would be nothing to the staff really

thanks,
    For 50 at 66/1 I would put that on in ten shops, and a few different organisations.
    About 20 years ago they phoned head office before taking a bet if the potential win was 500+.
    My guess is if you stand to win 1,000 they might not take the bet from a stranger.
    For almost all the great coups the better used commission agents, people who split the bet into tiny amounts, and get hundreds of people to place the bets.
    You do not want to be remembered as the guy who had the big win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I don't really bet but a lad I work with would be placing €1000 bets on horses maybe once a fortnight and they don't seem to make a big deal out of it. I lost €20 on roulette a week ago and I won't darken the door of a bookies again for months.
    I think bet as much as you like so long as you can afford to loose it. The bookies won't think twice about taking €50 off you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Irishphotodesk

What are people betting these days? Most I ever bet was 10e win on on the big race festivals about 10 years ago. I rarely came away with much.
    A cousin said he'd send me a few tips this year if I wanted and he seems to know what hes doing.
    Would a 50 euro bet be alot these days or would it barley raise an eyebrow?
    Couldnt be bothered online (I hate passwords)

To answer your question, no, a €50 bet isn’t a lot these days.

Yes, bookies will have the regulars putting a few euro on pretty much every race (virtual and real), but they will also have regulars who turn up and throw €20 bets, some with throw €50 bets and others might not be regular but might better larger amounts.

For me, above €100 is a big bet, not massive but most people that bet bigger amounts tend to bet on short odds.

If you are looking for what amount you should bet.... bet what you can comfortably afford to loose, once you start betting it’s their money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

Ask the question politely and discreetly of a member of the staff. They may ring head office etc. or bring you into a back room to count money.

I put €2000 stake on a Football match in Boyle Sports shop last year. Payout was €2500. Happily I won :-)

Discretion is everything.

Another trick is,

When you're going in to place a decent bet, start looking at the form on the newspapers on the wall, so they think you're not going on info and that ur just a mug punter. Also maybe place a few euro on a horse with no chance and get angry when it losses.

THEN, go and place your substantial bet so it looks like youre chasing losses

Thanks....
    I dont think I'd have time for the 10 shops thing. I'd probably have to drive 50miles to find 8 shops. interesting how they aren't willing to take the win's with the losses like the punter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

Andrew00 wrote: »
    Another trick is,

When you're going in to place a decent bet, start looking at the form on the newspapers on the wall, so they think you're not going on info and that ur just a mug punter. Also maybe place a few euro on a horse with no chance and get angry when it losses.

I'd say it's some craic when you go to the chemist to buy Johnnie's :-/

too late to chase my losses in that department...:D

It also depends on the race.
    1,000 on the Cheltenham Gold Cup, the Grand National, the English Derby won't get a second look.
    1,000 on a small race at a minor racecourse will set off the alarms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

New laws in these days, any time you win 2k plus have to show i.d and proof of address so might be best off trying to keep any liabilities below 2k for each shop.
    50 Euro bets are nothing out of the ordinary at all but 50 at 66/1 would be rang to traders and probably knocked back if you're a stranger I'd say, maybe 20 win at 66 and the rest sp.
    Some people might think that's bull but believe me some of them are hilarious. I moved a horse from 40 to 25 with a 20 ew bet. Wanted 40 ew and was told I could have 20 ew at 40 and the rest sp. Didn't bother with the so part. Horse needelss to say was useless:pac:
    On a separate note bookies really have no balls. I was at a flat track a few months back and was looking for 100 at 2/1 on a horse that was generally a 15/8 shot, asked 3 different bookies before I could get it on. Rest of them said they couldn't get 2's on Betfair so not a hope would they lay it. Accountants most of them,not bookies at all. Again another loser. :pac:

It also depends on the race.
    1,000 on the Cheltenham Gold Cup, the Grand National, the English Derby won't get a second look.
    1,000 on a small race at a minor racecourse will set off the alarms.

Except for Ladbrokes where they interogate and harass you for wanting 100 quid on the champion hurdle or gold cup.

No matter what ladcrooks shop I've went to I've been made feel like a criminal. No problem with bar one or paddies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭famagusta

bcklschaps wrote:
    I put €2000 stake on a Football match in Boyle Sports shop last year. Payout was €2500. Happily I won :-)

Where is fannywank???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

Generally speaking you’d have no problem getting €50 on a horse in a shop but at a big price may struggle. Worth having an account linked to the likes of a Revolut card (to avoid transactions showing on bank statements). This way you could do have and half. Have €20-30 on in shop and the rest on the account. Or chance it all on the account. Having said that I tried to get decent money onto a 33/1 shot late last year (Some for me and more for the guy that had the info). Had to split it across 4 different accounts between myself and my wife and the most I could get in was €56 on any account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭stretchaq

Cheltenham 2016 I won €3500 on my sister!! Bet365 account got email after to state account was restricted had a good bet on bridgets pet at 50/1 and Ian Williams horse at 16s can’t remember his name begins with an a, in the last race on day one I was on track to watch them come up the hill 1st and 4th was a good days as I had a big bet on Annie power in track, actually probably must best day ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

My average bet would be a fiver to a tenner
    my cheltenham bets would be 20's
    once in my life i have staked over 25 euros on a bet
    I don't do EW since i stopped doing Lucky 15/s

To clarify, i will gamble 100 a day for cheltenham, but no single/double bet will exceed 20/25 quid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

Another trick is,

I think the people in the shops earning pretty poor salaries more than often have no real loyalty to the shops they are in, and that they are constructing profiles by your actions in a shop are laughable. If you are semi regularly they will recognise your patterns and deviating from them might raise an eyebrow, but nothing more.

For the op, 50 quid at 66/1....maybe split the bet over 2 shops, even in one shop, you will be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Kablamo!

Once the liability is under 2000 they shouldn't bat an eyelid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭irish_major

Wouldn't be a regular in a bookie so they wouldn't have known my face but one time tried to put a 50 euro win bet on a horse that was 6/1 (overnight prices) with boylesports. Your man behind the counter rang head office, they said they wouldn't give me a fixed price but that they would give me SP. Whilst this was going on there was an absolute mug putting 20 euros on virtual horses.
    I laughed at the situation and just walked out, but was shocked at them offering me SP for a liability of 300 quid

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

It sometimes depends on the area and the day and how the shop does. I respect that it is all linked in via computer etc.

On a busy day like at Christmas, Cheltenham or any of the festivals a few hundred quid is not going to upset the price too much.

If you were to go in this morning and try to have a couple of hundred on the 3.00pm at Southwell, particularly if the price was nice, they would be ringing it in. It is all about market liquidity.

Also, if you keep winning large amounts they will bar you. All the best punters end up on the exchanges. Which are a godsend.

I generally measure the value of my bets on the value of the race. If I am backing a runner in the Derby or Guineas I will get rightly stuck in if I fancy the horse. You can be guaranteed the horse is trying, no problem for me to have good few hundred on a big race. You won't have any issues either as there is plenty of liquidity generally in the race. But for a claimer at Wolverhampton ( which I would rarely bet on) I might throw a euro or two. The less prizemoney the more corrupt the race is, keep it simple. As punters you never know what is really at stake, particularly on the shight races.

Never back snooker, boxing, darts or any " matches " that are happening between two people. These sports are run by gangsters and are completely fixed. Don't bother. Even tennis players have been know to fix matches.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Even tennis players have been know to fix matches.
    I thought it was "A few tennis players have been known to not fix matches" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 hugh janus

I used to trade on tennis on Betfair until that obnoxious twat Nick Gyrgios decided to walk off court one day and cost me a packet.Lesson sorely learnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,357 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Another trick is,

You think Antoinette behind the counter is studying the punters for signs of a hustler when they come in? The ones in my local don't even look up from the smartphone when they are taking a bet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

2k or more they are funny about now because of money laundering etc but don't be worried about a 50 quid bet fs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,357 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Never back snooker, boxing, darts or any " matches " that are happening between two people. These sports are run by gangsters and are completely fixed. Don't bother. Even tennis players have been know to fix matches.

Whaaat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

It sometimes depends on the area and the day and how the shop does. I respect that it is all linked in via computer etc.

On a busy day like at Christmas, Cheltenham or any of the festivals a few hundred quid is not going to upset the price too much.

If you were to go in this morning and try to have a couple of hundred on the 3.00pm at Southwell, particularly if the price was nice, they would be ringing it in. It is all about market liquidity.

Also, if you keep winning large amounts they will bar you. All the best punters end up on the exchanges. Which are a godsend.

I generally measure the value of my bets on the value of the race. If I am backing a runner in the Derby or Guineas I will get rightly stuck in if I fancy the horse. You can be guaranteed the horse is trying, no problem for me to have good few hundred on a big race. You won't have any issues either as there is plenty of liquidity generally in the race. But for a claimer at Wolverhampton ( which I would rarely bet on) I might throw a euro or two. The less prizemoney the more corrupt the race is, keep it simple. As punters you never know what is really at stake, particularly on the shight races.

I actually agree on this, I am convinced that Darts is fixed. Sponsored by bookies in almost every tournament, look at the volatility in every single game.

Thanks guys... so the general consensus seems to be that 10 or 20 euro each way in a few shops on say a 33/1 shot mid week at a low key meeting wouldn't/ shouldn't destroy the odds....

That new regulation that came in recently or is about to come in is an effin sickener.

e2,000 afaik, and I think that includes stake for the purposes of showing id.

What a joke - money laundering :mad: - some bloke/bird gets up a tenner acca or a e2 tricast and if it exceeds 2 bags s/he will be required to show id.

Had a look at that leaflet in the shops (think it's coming into effect 8feb).

This sh1t can't be good, having to hand over personal details to prove you're kosher because you put 10 measly euros on. Can see a lot of chairs been flung/staff members being abused if they take an arbitrary approach to this newest of invasions and further down the authoritarian/big brother route.

Granted, someone collecting that amount in a shop probably won't be a daily or even weekly occurrence, but then again blokes who know what they're at probably collect that amount often enough (They mightn't be the chair-throwing sort in fairness).

What else will be required for proof of funds.... bank statements, letter from employer.. :mad:

I could rant more about this but I won't (not now anyway :cool:)

On a funny note though; some sportsman - I think he was a foreigner playing in the PL - was stopped in his car a few yrs back and had in the region of 5/10 grand on him and the copper asked him: "Why do you have so much money on you?"
    His reply... "Because I'm rich.." :D

I don’t see any issue with having to show proof of ID and address for anti money laundering for large wins. I know a local bookies where drug dealers will often back the likes of Man City to win where they’re 1-0 up at 1/20 and stick four or five hundred on it to wind up with “clean money”, do this on several matches. If stopped by the guards with large amounts of cash them they say it’s gambling winnings, ask Stacey in Paddy Power, she paid me out 3k on Saturday”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

That new regulation that came in recently or is about to come in is an effin sickener.

e2,000 afaik, and I think that includes stake for the purposes of showing id.

What a joke - money laundering :mad: - some bloke/bird gets up a tenner acca or a e2 tricast and if it exceeds 2 bags s/he will be required to show id.

Had a look at that leaflet in the shops (think it's coming into effect 8feb).

This sh1t can't be good, having to hand over personal details to prove you're kosher because you put 10 measly euros on. Can see a lot of chairs been flung/staff members being abused if they take an arbitrary approach to this newest of invasions and further down the authoritarian/big brother route.

Granted, someone collecting that amount in a shop probably won't be a daily or even weekly occurrence, but then again blokes who know what they're at probably collect that amount often enough (They mightn't be the chair-throwing sort in fairness).

What else will be required for proof of funds.... bank statements, letter from employer.. :mad:

I could rant more about this but I won't (not now anyway :cool:)

On a funny note though; some sportsman - I think he was a foreigner playing in the PL - was stopped in his car a few yrs back and had in the region of 5/10 grand on him and the copper asked him: "Why do you have so much money on you?"
    His reply... "Because I'm rich.." :D

Maruo balotelli iirc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Worth remembering many of the shops (moreso the larger chain stores, and usually over in the uk) are all rolling out FRS (Facial Recog Sytems) with instant (live) cloud-shared data.
    So if you are Mr.Luckypants Winwin, and mates with the Trainers, it's not enough to visit other stores (of the same group), you'll have to visit other brands of stores, or send your granny/aunt in, on rotation.

A hat and sunglasses won't suffice to fool these new cameras, but some other methods may.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,926 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

I don’t see any issue with having to show proof of ID and address for anti money laundering for large wins. I know a local bookies where drug dealers will often back the likes of Man City to win where they’re 1-0 up at 1/20 and stick four or five hundred on it to wind up with “clean money”, do this on several matches. If stopped by the guards with large amounts of cash them they say it’s gambling winnings, ask Stacey in Paddy Power, she paid me out 3k on Saturday”
    Eh, that's not how money laundering works. If you bet 500 to win 25, the cops will ask you where you got the 500 in the first place. The criminal will not be able to explain that, therefore the money is not clean.

Laundering only works when you can dutch all the outcomes, you keep the receipts for the winning outcomes, discard the losers, and take the ~10% bookie over round as the laundering tax. That gives out a paper trail that makes it look like you are just a successful punter.

I've seen plenty of dealers punting in shops. They might come in, slap a few hundred on a dog (always pushing in front of people to get on seconds before the off) and then either walk out the door with money or not. I don't see much of an attempt at laundering money - looks more like problem gambling to me.

Eh, that's not how money laundering works. If you bet 500 to win 25, the cops will ask you where you got the 500 in the first place. The criminal will not be able to explain that, therefore the money is not clean.

Laundering only works when you can dutch all the outcomes, you keep the receipts for the winning outcomes, discard the losers, and take the ~10% bookie over round as the laundering tax. That gives out a paper trail that makes it look like you are just a successful punter.

I've seen plenty of dealers punting in shops. They might come in, slap a few hundred on a dog (always pushing in front of people to get on seconds before the off) and then either walk out the door with money or not. I don't see much of an attempt at laundering money - looks more like problem gambling to me.

It can be a step in the money laundering process known as placement. Where one begins to integrate dirty money with clean money. For example, you put cash into your account in shop, place a series of likely winning bets and tiny odds then withdraw the money directly to your bank account, it shows on your statement as Paddy Power etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭keng66

A bloke I used to work with years ago also worked with a bookie in the country. He told me at greyhound meetings, the local dealers would come up at the last race with a big bunch of fivers( the price of an "E" apparently) and just stick it on the fav. If it won they would ask to be paid with a cheque. If it lost would just walk away without a bother.

Anyone know how long you have to collect a winning docket in shop?
    Won a few Bob today. Think I might put the docket away till Day 1 of festival
    Presume a month wouldn't be too long to wait to collect shop placed bet on machine?

Anyone know how long you have to collect a winning docket in shop?
    Won a few Bob today. Think I might put the docket away till Day 1 of festival
    Presume a month wouldn't be too long to wait to collect shop placed bet on machine?

I would go and cash it in and head out for something nice with your missus. It is Valentines on Friday, strike while the iron is hot Rog.

A month is a long time away.

I would go and cash it in and head out for something nice with your missus. It is Valentines on Friday, strike while the iron is hot Rog.

Cheers Dr Phil!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭chooseusername

The FOBTs in the UK shops were a great way to clean cash,
    100 on red
    100 on black
    3 on zero

Happy to pay the 3 % or less.
    Shop staff couldn't care less ,machine take was up,
    Just the bother of counting all that cash at closing time.
    after an hour pop up to counter ,"not enough cash?" , no prob,
    just put it on my card.
    Until they reduced the stake to max 2 squid

I take it that you mean your own missus?

I would genuinely sleep with anything crackcrack30. I mean anything. Everyone's partner is potentially at risk, believe. I have been a sex addict since I became a teenager, it has been a long hard ride if I am being honest with you.

I would get up on the crack of dawn.

Don't forget that please.

Everyone should be halving their stakes this week to enable some "happy times" with their lover (s). It is a better investment, you know it is true.