Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you know that?

• 03-02-2020 8:51pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 26

Isn't it annoying when this happens? You're having a conversation with a few friends, you make a good point, and one of them tries to take it away from you by saying "how did you know that?". All of a sudden you feel as though people are now more interested in you than what ye were talking about, or the point you made.

On the one hand you feel like saying "aren't I allowed to know a few things from my time here on earth". In fact mostly I'm surprised at how little people know. Or I could say "I forget"? There are many things that we know that we can't remember where we first learned them, but in a situation as described, that wouldn't be believable.

But on the other hand, if I appear to know a good deal about something that I haven't been known to have an interest in, then it might seem as a bit of a surprise. But there are guys who are know-it-alls, who would never get questioned about how they know things.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

But there are guys who are know-it-alls, who would never get questioned about how they know things.

How do you know that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Where did you dig up that nonesense from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,945 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Cocaine is a hell of a drug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I have been asked a few times but never thought any more of it than a genuine surprise that anybody knew it. Don't overthink things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I was asked that question once when I gave someone the answer to a crossword clue. The ape in question liked to think of me as stupid and condescend to me.

I do think it's rude unless it's very specialised knowledge, because who are they to presume the limits to your knowledge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭Allinall

Link please.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 26 Hate Actually

I was asked that question once when I gave someone the answer to a crossword clue. The ape in question liked to think of me as stupid and condescend to me.

I do think it's rude unless it's very specialised knowledge, because who are they to presume the limits to your knowledge?
    That can be my retort. "It's not specialised knowledge".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 26 Hate Actually

Allinall wrote: »
    Link please.
    ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

That can be my retort. "It's not specialised knowledge".

Try an airy "oh, you'd be amazed by the things I know" in a tone that implies you know all about them.

Cheeky feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Lads I haven't been here for a while, but if there's any Cake will yiz let me know,, Urgently!!

21/25