Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reward Advice

• 04-01-2020 10:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭

Folks I dropped my wallet when I was absolutely hammered and some kind soul handed it in. I got it back and I have her details so want to send a voucher and thank you. Any advice on what should I give? I’m doing a one for all as at least she can spend it in a variety of places. There was about 100 cash and credit card in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Most give nothing but €20 would be nice or box chocalate and flower's... Nothing crazy but I'm sure the €100 is nice to have back along with everything else...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

Folks I dropped my wallet when I was absolutely hammered and some kind soul handed it in. I got it back and I have her details so want to send a voucher and thank you. Any advice on what should I give? I’m doing a one for all as at least she can spend it in a variety of places. There was about 100 cash and credit card in

Give her a €20 all cash scratch card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭Wheety

Just give her €20. Let her decide what to spend it on. Fair play to her. Some would take the cash and hand wallet in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

is there any chance you left it in her bedroom?

pregnancy kit ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Dublinmuppet

is there any chance you left it in her bedroom?

pregnancy kit ?

Eh should have said purse but it’s massive so call it a wallet. I’m not identifying as trans/cis/haven’t a clue so Deffo didn’t get her pregnant. I have done my own pregnancy’s and have have stretch marks to show for it.

I was thinking about 30 on card but was afraid that was too mean.

I think 30 is great! 20 seems a bit mean to me.

Edit to add fair play to you, many would just say thanks and leave it at that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A price of a good drink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭MMXX

Eh should have said purse but it’s massive so call it a wallet. I’m not identifying as trans/cis/haven’t a clue so Deffo didn’t get her pregnant. I have done my own pregnancy’s and have have stretch marks to show for it.
    Pics?

*Sorry! I don't mean that. Give what you can afford, it is the thought that counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Give her a €20 all cash scratch card.

Waste of money. Give her a One for All voucher app at least she can buy something for herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

All depends on the person, some people money has little or no importance in their life, they live by principles, I think €20 would be a nice gesture which they can donate or spend whatever way they want.

To be honest I was wavering between 20 and 50. I am not loaded but am very grateful. I just didn’t want to be mean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

Send her a dick pic

Grand hun will source a strap on unless u like to oblige xx

Three fiddy

50cent

Bottle of wodka

Thanks Jayz

Was very wrong of us all to assume gender.....

I'm so confused today as one may be a tree or a ghost or an IT or so on....

Bottle of wodka

Bottle of woodies and vodka??? If u don’t understand u are so out of my age range😂😂

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Fair play to both of you. The finder for returning it and you for wanting to give a reward. To me half of the returned money would be decent, based on half of something is better than all of nothing.

You have to be careful of the wallet inspectors as some are fake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭eoins23456

20 seems fair

Bottle of woodies and vodka??? If u don’t understand u are so out of my age range😂😂

Are you flirting with me or is there something wrong with your keypad

eoins23456 wrote: »
    20 seems fair

20cent

Was very wrong of us all to assume gender.....

I'm so confused today as one may be a tree or a ghost or an IT or so on....

I identify as a feckin eejit or bored married woman who has to feckin works. Don’t ever marry for love Deffo coming back as a prostitute

Fair play to both of you. The finder for returning it and you for wanting to give a reward. To me half of the returned money would be decent, based on half of something is better than all of nothing.

Then half of what's in the bank account as cards given back too

I identify as a feckin eejit or bored married woman who has to feckin works. Don’t ever marry for love Deffo coming back as a prostitute

Sounds like you know your priorities and have a fool proof plan....

Onto the money.....

Are you flirting with me or is there something wrong with your keypad

Xx oh Deffo flirting. U are into stretch marks??

Then half of what's in the bank account as cards given back too

Oh grand does that mean he or she pays my credit card bill

Afraid not....

People shouldn't be given a cash reward for returning your property to you. We should all be only too willing to do it. Any half decent sort would. There's no need to give stranger money to do the right thing, even framed as a reward.

I think the only thing you should give is a hand written note saying how much it means to get your purse back intact, and that you appreciate very much their common decency in making sure it got back to you. Mention that the money was needed for groceries, so the relief its return brings is more than just saving trouble replacing cards, but that it really makes a difference to have it back.

If they're decent folk, that's going to mean more to them than any cash reward. And if they'd prefer the reward, they don't deserve it anyway.

JayZeus wrote: »
    People shouldn't be given a cash reward for returning your property to you. We should all be only too willing to do it. Any half decent sort would. There's no need to give stranger money to do the right thing, even framed as a reward.

I think the only thing you should give is a hand written note saying how much it means to get your purse back intact, and that you appreciate very much their common decency in making sure it got back to you. Mention that the money was needed for groceries, so the relief its return brings is more than just saving trouble replacing cards, but that it really makes a difference to have it back.

If they're decent folk, that's going to mean more to them than any cash reward. And if they'd prefer the reward, they don't deserve it anyway.

I agree but I am very grateful. It wasn’t the money it was all the crap in my purse that bothered. We had to drive about z30 miles to get my stuff but u would have drove treble. I just wait say thanks and show appreciation

Meanwhile in the real world..........

Oh u are me ordinarily but when it happens hun. Normally I would be sitting beside u loling at this ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

I think twenty euro is fine. Any decent person would just be happy it got back to the owner. I found a phone before, albeit quite a few years ago, and managed to get it back to the owner and they tried to give me twenty quid. I didn't accept it but it was a nice gesture.

Oh u are me ordinarily but when it happens hun. Normally I would be sitting beside u loling at this ****e

Happened to me before, the cash was irrelevant. There was some important memories in my wallet so giving the person who returned them to me half the cash content was a small price to pay. That's just me though. Everyone places different value on things.

That is the real world. I wouldn’t expect to return someone’s lost property to them and have them give some of it to me, nor would I accept it if they offered it. Postage or petrol, fine. More than that, absolutely not.

But I don’t equate doing a good deed for someone else in that manner with monetary gain. I think less of people who do.

That is the real world. I wouldn’t expect to return someone’s lost property to them and have them give some of it to me, nor would I accept it if they offered it. Postage or petrol, fine. More than that, absolutely not.

But I don’t equate doing a good deed for someone else in that manner with monetary gain. I think less of people who do.

Eh ok hun. Was wavering between amount. U ain’t loaded but appreciated the effort if someone picking up my wallet. I have no excuse I was absolutely pissed !!

Eh, yeah. Fire away so. Pet.

Eh soz Newcastle pet xxxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭vikings2012

A lady found my wallet and returned it to me directly. There was 50 euro in it and I gave it to her. She was very reluctant to take it. I didn’t care about the cash at all as all my cards were in the wallet and the wallet itself was a Christmas present so it was worth a bit too.

I would have easily paid someone 100 euro if I could get the wallet and it’s contents back.

Wallet was Kors in offer. Just wanted to acknowledge the gratitude of person finding it

To be honest I was wavering between 20 and 50. I am not loaded but am very grateful. I just didn’t want to be mean

I'd be the same as you, not loaded but not cheap. I think your original 30 is perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,819 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

I'd be the same as you, not loaded but not cheap. I think your original 30 is perfect.

I agree €30 is about right.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop