Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Harvest driving jobs in Australia /NZ

• 03-01-2020 09:23PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14

Has anyone experience of doing seasonal driving of tractors etc for the harvest. I am the wrong side of 50 so the Visa issue is what i feel may be a problem. Can a contractor sponsor you for the season?.Any info or contact with someone who has done this would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭einn32

Mcloupj1 wrote: »
    Has anyone experience of doing seasonal driving of tractors etc for the harvest. I am the wrong side of 50 so the Visa issue is what i feel may be a problem. Can a contractor sponsor you for the season?.Any info or contact with someone who has done this would be great.

35 is the cut off for the working holiday visa now I think. If you had experience you could apply for jobs and you might get someone to sponsor you but you would have to work for them for a few years in return for the sponsorship. I couldn't see you being able to do a season if you have no right to being Oz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Lleyn elec

Mcloupj1 wrote: »

If you’re open to going to the US the likes of Demaray harvesting would be worth a look and a far better experience than NZ can offer.
    They’re recruiting at the moment. Did it 10 years ago and it’s an unreal experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Lleyn elec wrote: »
    If you’re open to going to the US the likes of Demaray harvesting would be worth a look and a far better experience than NZ can offer.
    They’re recruiting at the moment. Did it 10 years ago and it’s an unreal experience.

Can an ould lad over 50 apply?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Lleyn elec

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    Can an ould lad over 50 apply?

H2A was the visa don’t think there’s an age limit but there’s only one way to find out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

You can get a short term skilled visa for Australia the kocal AI tech gets it here and i think it can be got across all sectors you just need proof that youre skills are in demand etc and usually it becomes easy to get year after year if you keep applying. Its even easier in New Zealand as far as i know as there more lax and easy on temporary visas than here. You would have to contact the contractor directly and theyd have to advertise and prove they cant fill the position etc so now would nearly be the ideal time to start looking. Age isnt a major factor i met an old pom who came out every year who was working for Quigleys in Canterbury NZ who had no problems getting sorted, theyd be top operators and would know the ins and outs of visas as theyd be processing several each year.
    If i was youre age (ive a good bit to go still) id head to Methven in Canterbury, New Zealand mighty spot good craic and plenty of good Irish lads there between dairy and silage theres a Clare man just doing hus first season out on his own there at the minute the farmers journal did a write up on him lately.
    One other thing is you would definitly need a medical to get a visa but after that i think its pretty well straight forward.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Mcloupj1

Thanks to all for the info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

-Need a medical(has to be from a special clinic though, they upload results on a website for immigration nz to look in on) and a garda check for a essential skills visa(resident kiwi workers girlfriend used to need this anyway when they were returning for winter)
    - Jackson-holmes or quigleys would be crowds he's worked for in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭einn32

Forgot about the temporary one. Does it last 2 years and you just apply again when it runs out? Who would pay the visa fee? It's 1200 AUD?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

einn32 wrote: »
    Forgot about the temporary one. Does it last 2 years and you just apply again when it runs out? Who would pay the visa fee? It's 1200 AUD?

AI tech here got a 3 month one renewed every year. I wouldnt imagine youd get a 2 year one in Australia, but maybe for New Zealand. Its illegal for the employer to make you pay for youre visa but sone employers find a way around it.
    Read youre contract thoroughly before accepting as it will probably be needed to get a visa as thats the only thing protecting you here in Australia anyway not sure what way casual contracts work in New Zealand.
    Trade me is the Kiwi version of Donedeal would be no harm in putting an ad up on that from time to time to see if it gains any interest there.

Looking at the way things are so far this first week of the 2020 there might not be much of a harvest in the eastern states so New Zealand might be the best option for this season also a lot of Kiwis head to Western Australia to do the seeding season in March/April onwards as thats there down time in NZ but they cant make it there for harvest so you could probably build links for Australia when youre there. Esperance isnt a bad spot in WA to head if you are heading all modern gear the kind of place where the tractors arent given a test drive before purchase just a phonecall to the dealer "i want that one, when can that be dropped out?"

Better living everyone