Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AMA : My insecurity is that I am ugly

• 02-01-2020 11:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭

I have stuff.
    Wife, kids, job, house etc

But I am average/ugly looking.
    Most women recoil.

It’s a bit sad that my outer looks like this since I have a much much more accomplished inside.

Beautiful people, I hate you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭MMXX

I don't know how to say this... but, to hate anybody - especially because of their appearance, suggests that you are ugly on the inside too. I'm really sorry.

It's not easy being beautiful either..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭Sober Crappy Chemis

MMXX wrote: »
    I don't know how to say this... but, to hate anybody - especially because of their appearance, suggests that you are ugly on the inside too. I'm really sorry.

Okay, I don’t hate beautiful people but I resent them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

It's not easy being beautiful either..

I know the feeling. The Guards want to put me under arrest for being so gorgeous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

How long have you thought this?
    You have a wife, job.
    Is it affecting your relationship, your ability to work as well as your self esteem?
    What exactly is it about yourself you think is ugly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I have stuff.
    Wife,

Most women recoil.

Once your wife doesn't recoil, you are grand.

Okay, I don’t hate beautiful people but I resent them.
    I know you don't - I'm just trying to be funny, at your expense. I'm sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

I have stuff.

I have stuff too!!
    Jinx touch wood, you can't speak till someone says your name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,243 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Faith+1 wrote: »
    I know the feeling. The Guards want to put me under arrest for being so gorgeous.

Hi Pat mustard.

Snotty wrote: »
    I have stuff too!!
    Jinx touch wood, you can't speak till someone says your name.
    Sober Crappy Chemis

You have a wife, job.
    Is it affecting your relationship, your ability to work as well as your self esteem?
    What exactly is it about yourself you think is ugly?
    In all aspects of my life, I am successful.
    Except I have a pretty wide nose and a generally unattractive face!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I look like Brad Pitt :cool:

If he got badly beaten around the head with a shovel :(

In all aspects of my life, I am successful.
    Except I have a pretty wide nose and a generally unattractive face!

Noses are for breathing air friend, not looking good. And your face isn't meant to be attractive to you, that's not how it works!

You're grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

I look like the shovel Say your Number got beaten with.

Dont really care, looks are a bonus if you meet someone you get on with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I have stuff.

Most women recoil.

It’s a bit sad that my outer looks like this since I have a much much more accomplished inside.

You have a wife and kids and your home. Why do you need looks? Who are you trying to impress and why? What do you care what people think of your looks? If someone doesn’t want to know you because of how you look then they weren’t worth knowing in the first place. Grow up.

anewme wrote: »
    Once your wife doesn't recoil, you are grand.

Thanks. I’ve had interest over the years but mostly from similar people

Women who look like the kinder egg from the 80's?

You have a wife and kids and your home. Why do you need looks? Who are you trying to impress and why? What do you care what people think of your looks? If someone doesn’t want to know you because of how you look then they weren’t worth knowing in the first place. Grow up.
    Because deep down we all want to be good looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Have you ever drank antifreeze?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,430 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

OP here.

This is actually my attempt at a serious thread.

My low self esteem in the past has led me to get involved with a few women as soon as they have shown me any interest ....

OP here.

This is actually my attempt at a serious thread.

My low self esteem in the past has led me to get involved with a few women as soon as they have shown me any interest ....

Well that's not an issue any more, now that you are married, so happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

I have stuff.

Most women recoil.

So you have what most people would love to have, and what most people spend their lives struggling to get.

Well done! You should be happy.

Met a lad I went to school with one Christmas. Hadn't talked to him in years.
    He knocked up some girl at 19, married her, and had 2 more kids. Still living in the same town, same job etc.

I've travelled, great friends, great job, plenty of fun with women, but single and unattached. He seemed far more content with his life than I am.

Go figure.

Well that's not an issue any more, now that you are married, so happy days.

Ugliness and low self esteem ... I followed any yoke that showed an interest in me. To my shame :o

Padre_Pio wrote: »
    So you have what most people would love to have, and what most people spend their lives struggling to get.

Well done! You should be happy.

Met a lad I went to school with one Christmas. Hadn't talked to him in years.
    He knocked up some girl at 19, married her, and had 2 more kids. Still living in the same town, same job etc.

I've travelled, great friends, great job, plenty of fun with women, but single and unattached. He seemed far more content with his life than I am.

Go figure.

I should be happy. But I need constant validation from the opposite sex. That’s how deep this runs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I should be happy. But I need constant validation from the opposite sex. That’s how deep this runs.
    I think you're fecking gorgeous.

But I'm a guy :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

Faith+1 wrote: »

Same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Notdeco

AMA:Beauty is in the eye of the rereg.
    You know cos he/she posted here. It's getting tiring now

I was going to ask if OP looks like a bit of a troll?

Really I’m not.
    I know my way around boards alright but my intentions are honorable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭PoisonIvyBelle

If there's something specific you don't like about what you look, you might be able to change it without getting to drastic, i.e. you can lose weight
    or gain weight if needed,, go to a dentist, dye your hair (or shave it), grow a beard (or shave yours).

But stop this sh1te about going off with random women because of your insecurity, because if your next play is "this is why I cheat on my wife" you won't get much sympathy here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

Asked 4/5 questions.
    OP answered 1.
    Unfollow.

Is it affecting your relationship
    1) Since I was about 12/13.
    2) yes, my self esteem has caused a lot of issues

If there's something specific you don't like about what you look, you might be able to change it without getting to drastic, i.e. you can lose weight
    or gain weight if needed,, go to a dentist, dye your hair (or shave it), grow a beard (or shave yours).

But stop this sh1te about going off with random women because of your insecurity, because if your next play is "this is why I cheat on my wife" you won't get much sympathy here.

I was rejected by a girl I thought was gorgeous when I was 13...
    Since then, I’ve had long term relationships etc....

but other guys can go off for the ride etc and hook up. I can’t . In every group of these people I’m the ugly one who never hooks up etc...

Sure why would you be hooking up with a beautiful wife at home?

I don’t hook up. I never do.
    Self validation means that I did jump at a situation once ..
    Always need to prove I’m not ugly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭PoisonIvyBelle

cool. So what about the suggestions I made to help you feel better about how you look? Are they of no use to you?

If you'd rather just vent without being presented possible solutions then I won't post any more of them.

I have a shaking disorder which started when I was 13. It's progressively got worse as I get older. I don't hate people who don't shake, and i can still have good relationships with women, although I get asked "are you cold" or "are you nervous" a lot. Also can't carry a bowl or mug of tea without using both hands, and even then, that's a definite struggle.

OP. Trust me. It's all rubbish. Everyone has something. Inside or outside. Being ugly is only specific to certain people. Someone out there appreciates your particular type of beauty. Just as some people love my shakes. All in all, just be a decent person. The rest is just packaging...