Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neighbours house alarm

• 30-12-2019 11:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭

My neighbours’ house alarm went off two hours ago and it’s still going strong. It seems to pause for 30 seconds every 20 min or so and then it keeps going. My kids can’t sleep and neither can I. The neighbours are on holidays, I don’t have any contact number. Is there anything that can be done or is it gonna keep going until they come home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

You may as well break in and take some of their stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

is it loud enough to keep you awake all night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Lily_Aldrin7

You may as well break in and take some of their stuff.

Yeah quite pointless to have the alarm on when they’re not around, all it does is show that nobody’s home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

alarms are just noise pollution

fryup wrote: »
    is it loud enough to keep you awake all night?

Very loud! I guess after a while I probably focused too much on it and became obsessed. I guess earplugs or headphones could help but I wonder if it will eventually stop on it’s own if anybody has the same alarm type that’s not connected to a security company

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

I somehow think that a triggered house alarm wouldn't be too appealing to a burglar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Ring the guards and tell them that you think your neighbour is being burgled, that you heard the alarm going off and thought you saw a flashlight inside. Tell them that your kids are crying and terrified in case the burglars come to your house next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,582 ✭✭✭greasepalm

Thought outside alarm should only ring for 30 mins then go off and internal alarm stays ringing,did you see someone in side then maybe ring the gardai?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Is there a company name on the alarm? Probably a long shot but maybe the company would have a call out service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

tell the guards you saw an immigrant in there. Sorted.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,172 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Ring the guards and tell them that you think your neighbour is being burgled, that you heard the alarm going off and thought you saw a flashlight inside. Tell them that your kids are crying and terrified in case the burglars come to your house next.

Yep, I agree with Dougal.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

I feel like it’s unfair to bother the guards with a house alarm, they must have more important things to do ...

greasepalm wrote: »
    Thought outside alarm should only ring for 30 mins then go off and internal alarm stays ringing,did you see someone in side then maybe ring the gardai?

I thought the maximum it’s supposed to ring is 15 min so I’m surprised it’s been on for so long. I’m scared to peek in case someone is inside and I’m home alone with a baby and a toddler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Melania Frump

Ring the alarm company?

My neighbours’ house alarm went off two hours ago and it’s still going strong. It seems to pause for 30 seconds every 20 min or so and then it keeps going. My kids can’t sleep and neither can I. The neighbours are on holidays, I don’t have any contact number. Is there anything that can be done or is it gonna keep going until they come home?

Is your neighbors house being burgled?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I feel like it’s unfair to bother the guards with a house alarm, they must have more important things to do ...

Your other option is to burn their house down...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

You need to find the key holder or the gate keeper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,597 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

send marshal over to check it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

20 minutes is cut off.

We had this years ago and it was an old style bell type but really loud.... It went on from a Friday evening till the Monday.

The thing is the house was actually robbed and they went in through the roof and took the slates off to access. The home owner was a doctor but was very odd, the house was covered with hedge and trees front and back....

Only reason it stopped was the alarm company sent someone out as their name was on it... But they hadn't been monitoring it for years.....

Best bet is burn it ...

If the power were to go in the house it may kill it off sooner as battery could be snookered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

What's even the point of having a burglar alarm when your neighbours go online to complain about it rather than ring the police.

For the love of God ring and report it.

You need to find the key holder or the gate keeper

Sounds very like ghost busters....

The gate keeper...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,210 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Have they any nice stuff?

pablo128 wrote: »
    What's even the point of having a burglar alarm when your neighbours go online to complain about it rather than ring the police.

For the love of God ring and report it.

It's going off 2 hours.....

Bit late now

beertons wrote: »
    Have they any nice stuff?

Obviously not anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,582 ✭✭✭greasepalm

In the dark you might not be able to see who does the alarm and who to contact.They should have left a key and a contact number to ring if away so person could come down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 JlMMY

Your other option is to burn their house down...

That's what I was going to post, but I thought it sounded a bit psycho - so I backed out. But you know what? You're dead right, it's the only way to make it stop. BURN IT DOWN OP!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

Ring the alarm company to turn it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,209 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

the Gardai can come and investigate however if there hasn’t been a burglary there is fûck all they can do...

Everyone when going on holiday should leave a house key and the alarm code with a neighbor they trust for situations like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,209 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Irish_rat wrote: »
    Ring the alarm company to turn it off.

Yep, worth a shot anyway.

Strumms wrote: »
    the Gardai can come and investigate however if there hasn’t been a burglary there is fûck all they can do...

EXACTLY! Which is why there is only one option now. OP, you know what you have to do, I'll say no more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

It could be days or weeks before they are back from holidays, are you going to put up with it till then?

None of Ye, including the OP even know if the house was burgled?

bubblypop wrote: »
    None of Ye, including the OP even know if the house was burgled?

It was YOU wasn't it!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Hey OP. We had this with our neighbors it went off for hours.

There is nothing. Absolutely nothing you can do. Anyone telling you to phone the guards or alarm company hasnt a clue.

If it was signed up to an alarm company then the guards would have been called and alarm disabled. Meaning it's a stand alone install.

You will have to wait till back up battery dies. That can depend on age of battery.

Good luck get some ear plugs you'll eventually sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Strumms wrote: »
    Yep, worth a shot anyway.

Not in my experience, though that may not have been representative. We had another premises in my work building have its alarm on the blink intermittently for over a year. They didn't open till the late morning. Deafening noise in the common area and well audible throughout our office. Numerous calls to the alarm monitoring company, a well known one, got nothing but fobbed off.

Had the one across the road go off for weeks. Their house sat on so much land I could hardly hear it and took days to realise what the faint noise was. Went up to investigate, got spotted by tourists coming back over the hedge, called the Gardai and told the plainsclothes man who arrived shortly that he'd been very quick. It transpired he was attending on foot of a call from the tourists. He just went up and said there was nothing he could do. House was empty for years and had belonged to someone who left owing the banks a load of money so it was impossible to know who to call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

Pee in through the letter box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,172 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

listermint wrote: »

You will have to wait till back up battery dies. That can depend on age of battery.

Unless the external alarm siren is mains powered. Which, as I recently found out, is entirely possible.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

Pee in through the letter box
    This is a good shout, though I think OP is female. Still though, worth a shot...

have you tried ringing them

Who is “them”?

who ever owns the house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Fill the external alarm with shaving foam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,750 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

After 3 hours it's not complying with existing legislation. If there's no contact number and no details for the alarm company I'd just attack the alarm box from the outside.