Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enforced happiness at Christmas

• 24-12-2019 9:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭

Yes give me the prize for most cliched thread of the year, but how much of Christmas is enforced happiness for you? I can understand it's great for those with kids or who barely ever see each other, having people come home from abroad etc but on the whole I find it a bit bemusing that I feel forced into joy by the same people who spend most of the year as miserable as sin :P Massive generalisation here I guess but I'm sure you know the types I'm on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,018 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I only feel this at work events... the kind where you are plonked beside some distant colleagues and expected to have FUN now... right NOW!!!

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭NSAman

Jaysus I see we have been hit by the Crampus stick.

if you don’t like it dont celebrate it... it is easy. Personally, the older I get the more I love christmas ....

Not only do I get to spend it with the family I have left (yes death in the family is all around and I miss these family members immensely), it is also a chance to catch up with those who I don’t get a chance to see from one end of the year to the next. The majority of the family are spread all over the world with many of us flying home to make it special for mums/dads etc. We as a family (and I include the extended family in this) all get together with nights out, house trips, meals, etc... for me it is about bringing that warmth to every member of the family and not about the commercialism of the whole thing.

The kids get a chance to meet their cousins and second cousins, aunts, uncles, grand aunts/uncles and bond with family that is rare for the rest of the year as people are working.

Christmas is a day of pure joy for me.

The day of the year I abhor for being forced to enjoy is New Years night... I HATE being out at parties, especially large scale events that people barely know each other at.... now that for me is the ultimate forced enjoyment scenario. Let me be at home/parents home/siblings home/family home with people I love, enjoying each other’s company.

Was at an New Years Party in NYC in an upscale house one year which was VERY wealthy affair... I have never felt more alone and miserable...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

If only it worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,284 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Krampus comes tonight to beat the ****e out of any little creatures that deserve to be punished.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Tremendous fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭BoroMan32

I enjoy it until the extended family start showing up in the evening. Then I just want it to be over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭Augme

Christmas Eve and Christmas day are just immediate family so I enjoy those days. Tbh, Its more I enjoy the opportunity to sit on the couch and do nothing for two days without having to do something else. I love the down time element of Christmas.

St. Stephens day is with the extended family and I could happily give that up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Think of the families who have lost loved ones at this time of year. It must be very sad for the Ceasescu family even after 30 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Edgware wrote: »
    Think of the families who have lost loved ones at this time of year. It must be very sad for the Ceasescu family even after 30 years

Ye what? Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Krampus comes tonight to beat the ****e out of any little creatures that deserve to be punished.

It's great that some countries still have traditions to counter the commercialised American saccharine crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

Ye what? Who?

Romanian dictator, killed on Christmas day 1989

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Hey it’s de krampus killeh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

We're all God's children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,378 ✭✭✭893bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Ye what? Who?

Guy who missed a penalty for Romania in ITalia 90. Packie Bonner saved it.

Still hurts them.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.