Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

trainer views for Boxing day racing.

• 24-12-2019 2:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭

Views from trainers...Boxing day racing.

Donald McCain

Kempton

Mr McGo
    Track: Kempton – 1:20
    Jockey: Lorcan Murtagh[/B]
    He could run ok but this represents a big step up in grade. The owners were keen to have a runner here so hopefully, he goes well.

Sedgefield

Quids In
    Track: Sedgefield – 11:50
    Jockey: Brian Hughes

He’s been a bit disappointing but we’ve put the blinker on him and he’s running in the lowest grade of his career thus far which shoe hopefully give him a chance.

O’Hanrahan Bridge
    Track: Sedgefield – 12:25

He ran well on his first run for a long time the last day and if he doesn’t suffer from the bounce factor then he should hopefully run well.

Fingal d’Arthel
    Track: Sedgefield – 1:30

He’s a grand horse that’s won a bumper in France even though it doesn’t show it. He goes nicely at home but is a little immature. This is an obvious starting point for him and we are ready to kick on with him.

Henry’s Joy
    Track: Sedgefield – 2:05

The track and trip will suit him well and although it’s a competitive looking race on paper it’s the right sort of race for him and he should go close.

Ormesher
    Track: Sedgefield – 2:40
    Jockey: Phillip Armson

He’s been a bit in and out so I have given him a little time to freshen him up. He ran on ground that was a bit too quick for him a couple of times and he might not quite be letting himself down as he should be but he’s got the ability to run well.

Quik Shift
    Track: Sedgefield – 3:15
    Jockey: Jack Dinneen

She got well back early on at Wetherby and came home quite nicely through beaten horses. I’m not sure how much ability she’s got and this race should be quite informative.

Market Rasen

The Herbs Garden
    Track: Market Rasen – 12:05
    Jockey: Abbie McCain

It’s a selling handicap where he is in for £6,000. He’s been a good servant to us through the years and in a race of this grade he must go close.

Quart De Garde
    Track: Market Rasen – 12:35
    Jockey: Will Kennedy

He’s pretty busy type at home and forward going but had a pretty useful level of form in France so hopefully, he can use this race a stepping stone for the rest of the season.

Sonic
    Track: Market Rasen – 1:40

He wants slightly better ground and is on a horrible mark at the moment which leaves him in no man’s land. We just want to get him started but if it dried out he could run ok.

Snougar
    Track: Market Rasen – 3:25

He’s fairly lightly-raced over hurdles and has already won a race. He ran ok the last day following a break and although he should run better, I think there will be other days with him.

Best Chance: Quids In

so his best chance out of his 11 runners is a horse who has been beaten 100L in his last three races, a horse who has never run at the track before, he did win off 116 in 2017 on heavy going when with a previous trainer. INTERESTING.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭del roy

The Skelton yard have runners at Fontwell, Kempton, Market Rasen and Wetherby

23 December 2019

It is set to be a very busy Boxing Day for us, which is what we expected with so much racing on.
    Fontwell

We start at Fontwell where William Marshall rides our three runners. The first is Ratoute Yutty (12.15) who was running well last time until she fell.

She is back over hurdles here and hopefully she has a decent chance. She is nicely handicapped but she’s just not been showing her form.

Lonimoss Bareliere (12.45) runs in the juvenile hurdle but I can’t see him figuring. I think he is a horse for down the line. He didn’t run well enough at Market Rasen on his debut to think he can win a weight-for-age race.

Falcon Sun (2.25) runs in the handicap hurdle, in which I think he has a bit of a chance.

William knows him and he will be in slightly calmer waters than he was at Cheltenham and Haydock last time. I would hope he can put in a good run at least.
    Kempton

Harry goes to Kempton to partner South Seas (12.50) who ran really well on his debut for us to finish second.

Obviously this is a very hot race, but he is a high class Flat horse with a good cruising speed who jumps nicely. We want to find out where we are with him.

Solomon Grey (1.20) runs in the novices’ handicap, which is a lot calmer company than last time when he was taking on Cyrname and Altior who he finished a good bit behind.

The track suits him, he was second in the Lanzarote Hurdle last season, and hopefully he has half a squeak.

Redzor (1.55) runs in the Kauto Star Novices’ Chase. This is very competitive but he is consistent, stays three miles well and I think the track will suit him.

We have put a pair of cheek-pieces on him to help him out. He has got something to find on the figures but he was always going to come here and this is a race that can sometimes throw up a 135-rated winner. He is ready to do his best.

Ch’tibello (2.30) contests the Christmas Hurdle and I think he is a player. He had to concede a penalty last time at Cheltenham, which he doesn’t this time.

As long as that race hasn’t left a mark, which it doesn’t appear to have, I think he is a big player.

A couple in there want really good ground, there are a couple of four-year-olds, and second seasons are often difficult for them, so I think we are entitled to be optimistic.

Gortroe Joe (3.40) runs in the last and I think he has an each-way chance. The track at Haydock didn’t suit him last time but he ran well at Wetherby the time before.
    Ladbrokes King George VI Chase

If you want my opinion on the King George VI Chase I think Cyrname (3.05) will win. It is the perfect track for him over three miles. If he is going to get three miles it is going to be at Kempton.

Looking back through his form his rating has been proven, whereas before Ascot you were unsure whether the mark was accurate. By beating Altior he proved it. I would be siding with Cyrname if I had to choose one.
    Market Rasen

Back to our own team and at Market Rasen Prussia With Love (12.35) is our first runner there.

She didn’t run all that well the other day and I was a bit disappointed. This track should suit her but she has something to find with the principals.

Bandsman (1.05) has been bang out of form but does run well round this track. It’s a small field which should suit him but he is out of form, which is disappointing because if he wasn’t this looks the perfect race for him.

New Quay (1.40) runs in the novices’ handicap chase and I would give him a chance. He looked like he was going to go very close the other day and maybe just needed it. I think he is a player.

Very First Time (2.15) runs in the Lincolnshire National. I think he has an obvious chance having won his last two for us and I have always had this race in mind for him.

Head Lad (2.50) runs in the two and a half mile handicap. He won there last time. He has to be played late over this trip but I am confident he will run well.

King D’argent (3.25) runs in the last but is bang out of form, which is disappointing because he had some good juvenile form last year but hasn’t really trained on.
    Wetherby

Bridget goes to Wetherby for us where we have two runners. Silk Or Satin (11.55) runs in the first. I don’t know what happened on her first start for us in a bumper, but put a line through it.

She has worked nicely at home and jumps well. Hopefully she has an each-way squeak because she does look all right at home.

Bennys King (2.10) runs in the Rowland Meyrick. We had a few options for him and have chosen this one. I like the way the race looks for him.

I had Ardlethan and Captain Chaos in there as well. Ardlethan will go for a novice chase at Warwick on January 11 and Captain Chaos will run in the Welsh National.

Our last meeting is Wincanton where West To The Bridge (3.10) runs in a race which has cut up a little.

Sean Bowen, who had a winner for us years ago, rides him. The track will suit him. It will be pretty soft which is nothing for him to fear. He has a chance.

We have White Walker (3.45) in the bumper. He has definitely improved since his first start but he will need to have done. I like him long term as a National Hunt type.

Happy Christmas

Dan

Katie Walsh:

Cyrname will prevail in the King George
    23 Dec

Katie Walsh

The first of many Grade 1 races over the festive period is the Kauto Star Novices’ Chase (13:55) at Kempton Park, and I’m a fan of Slate House 11/4 for Colin Tizzard and Robbie Power.

He hacked up at Cheltenham in October and was moving up to win the BetVictor Gold Cup in November when knuckling and coming down at the second.

He then won at Huntingdon a couple of weeks ago in a decent race to give him a confidence booster for this test.

Any novice that moves that fluently coming down the hill at Cheltenham in such a big handicap has got some talent and he’s going to be tough to beat.

The King George (15:05) is one of the biggest spectacles of the National Hunt season and I’m so excited for this race.

While I do think it’s very tight between Cyrname 11/8 and Lostintranslation, the fact that Cyrname has ‘home advantage’ makes me think he’ll just prevail here.

Harry Cobden will let him go from the front and, on such a tight and flat track, will utilise his long stride and his fantastic jumping.

With two previous winners in the field and Willie Mullins' Footpad coming over it’s going to be a race to savour.

There’s a Grade 1 Novices’ Chase at Limerick and we see the eagerly awaited clash between Samcro and Faugheen.

Faugheen is the Champion Hurdle winner but I’m a big fan of Samcro 8/13 who, despite falling last time, has looked back to his best this season.

Who knows what would have happened had he not tripped up last time, but I don’t think it was a given that Fakir D’oudairies was home and hosed. It’s going to be a smashing race, whatever the outcome.

I do think Castlebrook 14/1 will run a massive race and he’s hugely overpriced on the back of that great run at Gowran Park behind Getabird and Paloma Blue.

He’s a big beast of a horse and will love the cut in the ground.

The other Grade 1 Novices’ Chase in Ireland on St. Stephen’s Day is the exciting clash between Fakir D’oudairies and Laurina at Leopardstown.

They’re both class acts and we’re spoilt to be seeing such stars go up against each other, but I’m going to side with Laurina 6/5 as I absolutely love her.

She’s not slow at all, she jumps like a stag and as she has two years more experience over Joesph’s horse.

You can guarantee it’s going to be a cracker.

Blog
    Tom Scudamore: “Thistlecrack’s going to have to be at his best”

Kempton 13:20 – Hold The Note

It’s obviously a very busy day, and as a result I’ve picked up rides for some trainers I wouldn’t be a regular rider for, and Boxing Day starts with my first-ever ride for Mick Channon.

Hold The Note was a winner over hurdles, and should improve for his chasing debut last month, and Mick and owner Tim Radford won this race last year with Glen Forsa, so hopefully he can get in the mix here.

Kempton 13.55 – The Mighty Don

I’ve got a 100% record on The Mighty Don, having won a novice hurdle at Fakenham by ten lengths on him!

He is the outsider in this Grade One, which is fair enough on what he’s shown over fences so far, but he was more than useful over hurdles, with his standout run a fourth behind Paisley Park in the Long Walk, and hopefully he can give his sporting owners a good day out here.

Kempton 15:05 – Thistlecrack

Thistlecrack gave me one of the best days of my career when winning the King George three years ago, and it’s great he’s back here to have another crack this year. Plenty has been said about what a strong race this is, something that’s clear when you see that Aso, runner-up in the Ryanair Chase, is a 50/1 outsider here.

Although there are only six horses in the line-up, I respect each runner, but I was delighted with how Thistlecrack ran last time, I’ve been down to school him and he felt great. He’s going to have to be at his best to win this obviously, but there’s no reason why he can’t be.

Although Cyrname likes to front run, it’s not a given he will here, as Aso is another who likes to get on with it. Everyone thinks Kempton is a speed track – which it is – but you also need to stay every yard.

When I started riding, Mick Fitzgerald used to say how he loved Kempton as a place to ride Nicky Henderson’s Cheltenham horses, as you need speed, but you also need to stay. At the time I didn’t understand what he meant, but the more I rode the track, the more I saw what he meant.

Yes, you do get two-milers winning the King George, but not often, and true greats like Desert Orchid and Kauto Star may have been better around here than Cheltenham, but they still had the stamina to win the Gold Cup.

There’s no hiding place in the King George, as Graham Bradley put it, the first circuit they go quick, the second circuit they go quicker, and turning into the home straight, you have to stay every yard to the line, and that’s when we’ll find out if Cyrname stays three miles or not.

If I wasn’t riding my fellow, I’d want to be on Lostintranslation. For all the reasons, I’ve mentioned, we know he stays three miles as he proved it at Haydock, and he has the pace to mix it with Defi Du Seuil last season, who’s won the Tingle Creek over two miles. Whatever happens, it’s a great race to be involved in, and I can’t wait!

Kempton 15:40 – Honest Vic

My final ride is Honest Vic for Henry Daly. I’ve not ridden him before, but he’s in good form, winning at Market Rasen two runs ago, and was a good fourth at Haydock last time, and Henry’s horses are running well, so he’s another nice spare to have picked up on this big day.

Tom

Here's Nicky Henderson on his Boxing Day runners
    KEMPTON

12:50 Novices’ Hurdle
    Vegas Blue (Nico de Boinville)

She was very impressive in a bumper at Huntingdon last time and the plan has always been to come here as her owners love having runners at Kempton. She’s ready for it so we might as well start her off here rather than anywhere else and her schooling has been very good. This does look a very tough race so she will need to continue improving, but she’s a very promising filly with a bright future.

Fred (Barry Geraghty)
    I don’t think he really enjoyed going two and a half on soft ground at Ascot last time so the drop back in trip, on better ground, will really suit him, as will the sharper track. I’ve been extremely pleased with his work and hopefully he can put up a bold show.
    9/2 winner

2:30 G1 Christmas Hurdle
    Fusil Raffles (Nico de Boinville)

He desperately needed his first run of the season in the Unibet Elite Hurdle so in the circumstances I thought he put up a good performance to get the job done. He’s not a horse who shows you a great amount at home which is why he was so undercooked at Wincanton but what he’s shown at home more than suggests he’s a very capable person and he is already proven on the track. Put it this way, we’ll have a much clearer picture about who ranks where when it comes to the Seven Barrows Unibet Champion Hurdle contenders.

Epatante (Barry Geraghty)
    This is a big step up but the Handicapper gave her a right smack for winning at Newbury so we’re sort of forced into coming here, although I wouldn’t have liked to have seen what happened had she ran at Ascot on Saturday having to give all that weight to Hughie Morrison’s filly, so I think we’re just as well off coming here anyway. We’ve always thought a great deal of her and she’ll go on any ground.

Verdana Blue (Jerry McGrath)
    Last year it was un-seasonally dry which meant she was able to take full advantage and beat Buveur D’air in this but now it’s the other way round and we’ve had an unusually rain soaked winter so conditions certainly won’t be ideal for her but Hannah Day, who rides her every day and knows her inside out, is really pleased with her work and she seems in great form. Yes, the ground is a concern but she is very tough and if she handles it, I wouldn’t be at all surprised to see her put up a very bold show. We’ve got all sorts of ideas about what we might do on the flat and there are quite a few lucrative prizes abroad on fast ground so her new owners have plenty to look forward to with her.

3:40 Handicap Hurdle
    Laskadine (Barry Geraghty)

She won first time out at Warwick but then massively disappointed at Haydock after that and nothing came to light so we put her away and she’s really turned a corner over the past three weeks or so. As you’d expect this is a very competitive race but she’s in good shape and will hopefully run a decent race. I’m not confident, however, by any means.

WINCANTON

12:55 Mares’ Novice Hurdle
    Daphne Du Clos (James Bowen)

She looked like she needed the run at Sandown last time as she travelled well but had a good blow two out so I’d expect much more improvement now. We’re putting on a tongue tie which might help her on the soft ground and she’s a mare we’ve always held in quite high regard.

Nico de Boinville: “We obviously think he could develop into a Unibet Champion Hurdle horse”

Kempton
    12.50pm
    Vegas Blue

She was very green when winning at Bangor and I was very taken with her at Huntingdon last time, when she won her Listed bumper in very good style. This is clearly a stiff task on her hurdling debut but we are very much looking forward to seeing what she can do over hurdles. She is a sister to a fair hurdler in Rathhill and looks a very good prospect in her own right.

2.30pm
    Fusil Raffles

Every dry day is a positive for last year’s winner Verdana Blue, and you wouldn’t underestimate her in the slightest. On what we know, she is probably the one to beat. But Fusil Raffles was so good here last February, so impressive when beating Fakir D’Oudairies at Punchestown, and so promising when scoring at Wincanton on his return when needing the run that he is clearly a serious proposition here. He is a 4yo with very few miles on the clock, and one that we obviously think could develop into a Unibet Champion Hurdle horse. This will tell us a lot more though, as this looks a Christmas Hurdle with some depth to it.

3.40pm
    Oscarsman

I haven’t ridden him before but he put some modest efforts behind him when winning at Plumpton last time and a mark of 117 doesn’t look overly-punitive on his handicap debut. He has prospects here.

Davy Russell

It was great to get back in the saddle at Ascot last Saturday even if things didn’t quite go as well as I’d have liked. Paloma Blue just didn’t quite get home in that ground while Agrapart travelled really well for a long way in the Grade One hurdle before falling in a hole late on. Anyway, I’m back home in Ireland and looking forward to a lovely Christmas at home with the family. It will definitely be a busy night for Santa Claus in our house! As for the big day itself, the only upside of having flu for over a week is that I’m lighter than I have been for some time. That means I can enjoy a bigger Christmas lunch than usual ahead of a good days racing at Leopardstown on St Stephen’s Day…

ST STEPHEN’S DAY (Thursday)
    LEOPARDSTOWN

CEDARWOOD ROAD (12.10pm)
    My first ride of the afternoon comes in the opener aboard Cedarwood Road who made a pleasing start over hurdles at Fairyhouse last month. I’d expect him to be a lot more fluent now with that race under his belt, but he will need to step up again to land a race like this. Arthurian Flame was a good second on his debut at Cork, while the likes of Fusain and Jungle Junction are also respected.
    7/1 winner

THE VERY MAN (12.40pm)
    Another really competitive looking maiden hurdle where I ride The Very Man for Gordon (Elliott) and Gigginstown. He’s been a bit disappointing but has had a bit of a break since his last run, so I’m hoping he can return to the form he showed in bumpers. This does look a hot race though with the likes of Mt Leinster and Entoucas.

1.10pm – Knight Frank Juvenile Hurdle
    No ride for me in the Juvenile Hurdle where it will be interesting to see how Aramax gets on. I know that Gordon holds him in high regard, and it is interesting that Mark Walsh has chosen him over A Wave Of The Sea.

EXCEEDED BRIEF (1.45pm)
    I’m back on board Exceeded Brief who made a fool out of me at Thurles the last day. He travelled best of all into the race and had it in the bag before throwing it away close home. I won’t make that mistake again and if he is to win here you won’t see us until very late. This does look a tough race though, but we will give it a good go.

2.20pm Leopardstown – Racing Post Novice Chase

Only the five runners, but both Fakir D’oudairies and Laurina have been declared to run in a mouth-watering clash. It’s a good matchup between the experience of the former and the raw potential of the latter. It is really hard to split them, but if pushed I guess I’d just side with the mare Laurina who looks such an exciting prospect.

ELLIE MAC (2.55pm)
    My last ride of the day is Ellie Mac for Henry de Bromhead in the handicap chase. She has won around Leopardstown before and I’m hopeful of a good spin as she returns to fences after a couple of runs over hurdles. She is one of three for Henry and his other two have chances too. Trainwreck has plenty of ability and his turn isn’t that far away.

Good Luck
    DAVY

There's a particular big race on Boxing day for Betfair Ambassador Paul Nicholls, where two of his horses go head-to-head for the King George VI Chase.

Kempton

Rain needs to stay away

12:50 - Ecco & Red Force One

Ecco won nicely at Wincanton and Ascot but didn't perform at all last time when floundering in the mud in a Grade 2 at Cheltenham. An 8 lb penalty doesn't make life easy for Ecco who should appreciate the flat track at Kempton on what promises to be drier ground. I'd have to think about pulling him out if they do happen to get plenty of rain.

Red Force One is another who wouldn't want it too soft but he has run well in two handicaps at Ascot, first when just beaten by a Gumball and then when fifth when giving weight to the runaway winner Oh So Sleepy. That looks much better form after Saturday.

13:20 - Envoye Special

He has been disappointing since chasing home Kalashnikov over fences a year ago at Plumpton. While the flat nature of the track at Kempton should help his cause it looks as though he has a fair bit to prove in this competitive handicap.

Cobden tries with Tommytucker

13:55 - Danny Whizzbang & Master Tommytucker

We have two smart novices in this though I might have to review things on the day depending on ground conditions. I've left in Danny Whizzbang who has won over three miles and is one of mine that handles testing ground. So it wouldn't help his cause if it stays dry until Thursday.

Danny keeps winning and surprised me at Newbury because I felt sure he would benefit greatly from the run. I do like him and if he runs well in this he will be heading for the Reynoldstown Chase at Ascot.

I've put Harry Cobden on Master Tommytucker who has never been this far and missed nearly all last season with an injury but you had to be impressed by the way he won at this track a month ago.

While Master Tommytucker lacks experience he is a decent prospect who jumps soundly but, unlike Danny, he wouldn't want it too soft.

Tongue tie on Trump

getaway-trump-1280.jpg

14:30 - Getaway Trump

We are switching him back to hurdles here because he hasn't jumped well enough on really soft ground on his two starts over fences.

With the Champion Hurdle looking wide open I felt it was worth giving him a shot at this Grade 1 to see how he gets on.

He never stopped improving over hurdles last season and I'm now putting on a tongue tie which might help him. I'd like to think he will run very well in an open looking race.

Two for the big one

15:05 - Clan Des Obeaux & Cyrname

Both of mine in this have had great preparations and it is exciting to be going for an eleventh King George with two lovely horses.

Clan is defending his crown after winning in style In 2018. He came on bundles from his run in the Betfair a year ago and has again done tremendously for his seasonal debut at Down Royal.

History tells us that previous winners of the King George have a habit of repeating the trick and I think he has a right chance of doing the double.

This race has been the target for Cyrname since he earned a BHA rating of 178 by thumping a high class field at Ascot in February. He did a fantastic gallop at Wincanton two weeks before beating Altior at Ascot just over a month ago and is in tip top form at home.

It was a tight decision for Harry to choose this one over Clan. After watching over the weekend the videos of their races I believe that if Cyrname re-produces the form that he showed when pulling miles clear of those good horses at Ascot in the spring then he has to be the one to beat.

And Clan will not be far behind him, if indeed, he is behind him.

Clan des Obeaux King George 1280.jpg

Cheek pieces to sharpen up the dancer

15:40 - Rhythm Is A Dancer

I've been waiting to run him on decent ground for ten weeks since he lost his confidence at Fakenham on his first start over fences.

He's ready, might appreciate the return to hurdles at this track and I'm trying cheek pieces to help sharpen him up. He wouldn't want the ground to get too soft.

Wincanton

12:20 - Nineohtwooneoh

A big, backward horse who has been disappointing so far and struggled with his breathing last season. Hopefully he can start to show a bit more now he is running in handicaps and I'm trying a tongue tie in the hope that it brings about a bit of improvement.

One to go well

12:55 - Lisa de Vassy

Won twice on the flat in France before joining us but I wasn't overly happy with her last season and drew stumps after one disappointing run at Fakenham.

So it was pleasing to see her run much better at Exeter last month where she stayed on into fourth place. Lisa de Vassy is a nice mare who has improved since then and it wouldn't surprise me to see her go well in this.

Storming the soft

13:25 -Storm Arising

He has been crying out for a trip as he showed by staying on strongly last time and he handles soft ground. With Bryan Carver claiming a handy 7lbs he has an attractive, low racing weight and looks to have sound each way claims.

14:00 - Worthy Farm

Has been a bit below par in two outings this season, racing lazily, so I gave him a day's hunting last week ridden by Bryony Frost which really woke him up. She said he had a fantastic time and jumped everything in sight.

He could be just coming to himself, his winning form is on right handed tracks, and blinkers first time could help sharpen him up with Bryony in the saddle. I'm sure we haven't seen the best of him yet.

If You Say Run can show up here

14:35 - If You Say Run

She has to have a big chance having run so well when finishing second to Reserve Tank in the Graded Rising Stars Chase at this track last time. She had previously won well on her debut over fences at Worcester, has always been a solid jumper and fully deserves to be favourite.

15:10 - Saintemilion

He always needs his first outing and I was happy enough with his run at Kempton a month ago. While we know he stays further this shorter trip on ground that is bound to be very testing will be ideal. I expect him to run tidily.

Bit of a handful

15:45 - Confirmation Bias & Barbados Bucks

Confirmation Bias is a lovely horse who won impressively on his racecourse debut here seven weeks ago and the third that day has already advertised the form with a ready success at Ludlow.

He is a bit of a handful and is ridden every day by Bryan Carver so it's handy that his claim counters the penalty. While he should be ok on the ground the fact that he is by Presenting does raise a slight doubt in my mind.

Barbados Bucks is a nice, long term prospect who ran all right last time in a warm bumper at Cheltenham on heavy ground before tiring late on.

He was still there on the turn and it wouldn't surprise me if he ran a fair race.

Best chance - If You Say Run in the 14:35 Wincanton. She is a decent mare with strong claims in this.

It's a busy Boxing Day for Gordon Elliott who has runners at Down Royal, Leopardstown and Limerick. The Betfair Ambassador discusses them all and picks a best chance for each card...

My Leopardstown runners

The Very Man is a solid each way chance

12:40 - The Very Man and Glens Finale

The Very Man might have won first time out over hurdles only for falling at the last at Punchestown in October. He was possibly still remembering that fall at Fairyhouse next time as he never seemed to be going and he was flattered to get as close to the winner as he did. We have given him plenty of time since then so I'd hope for a better showing and I know that he can jump much better than he did last time so with a better round of hurdling I think he could run well. He's got a solid each way chance.

Glens Finale won a bumper first time out at Sligo last spring but then disappointed at Listowel next time. He is far better than he showed at Listowel but he has been given plenty of time since then and he seems to be in good shape. I'm happy with how he is working and he has schooled well so hopefully he will give a good account of himself. A lack of previous hurdling experience means that he probably has his work cut out but I wouldn't be at all surprised to see him run well.

Race should provide plenty of pointers

13:10 - Aramax

He seems a nice type of horse. He came to us from France where he ran a couple of times over hurdles and he won on his last start in July. It will be interesting to see where he fits in and this race should provide us with a good guide as to where we are going for the rest of the season. I'm happy with this horse and he seems to be working well so it will be interesting to see where he fits in but this does look a hot enough race so I'd say he is best watched today.

Both have a chance if they produce their best

13:45 - Song Of Namibia and Hell On Earth

Song Of Namibia got a little break after losing his way in the autumn and I was happy with his comeback at Navan last month when he ran better than his final position would suggest. He is in good shape and has his ideal conditions here so if he puts his best foot forward I wouldn't be surprised to see him run well, although this looks a typically competitive Leopardstown handicap.

Hell On Earth is an interesting runner. I was disappointed with his first few runs but I think he has shown a bit more over hurdles and the way he has run in his hurdle races would suggest that he is a two miler. I think he can win races over this trip and a mark of 100 gives him a chance so off a light weight he could make his presence felt.

Likeable type should show up well

15:30 - Hamundarson

He is a nice type. I've liked him from the moment we started working him and he shows an above average level of ability. Maybe this run is coming a week or two too soon for him but he goes well and I'd expect him to get involved at the finish. This is usually a hot enough race so you could never be too confident coming here but I'll be surprised if he doesn't show up well.

Best chance at Leopardstown - The Very Man (12:40)

My Limerick runners

Two that are best watched with an eye to the future

12:25 - Global Quality and Moghram

Global Quality is a horse we bought off the flat and he struggled on his first run for us at Punchhestown last month when he pulled up when already well beaten. He will have to do far better here and I think he should run better this time but even so he is best watched for the moment.

Moghram did show ability in a couple of his flat runs prior to coming to us in the autumn. He was a middle distance horse on the flat so he should stay well which is what you need for a juvenile hurdler. He has schooled well and looks ready for a run so it will be interesting to see how he gets on here but whatever he does here he will improve on. I'm not sure if he wants really testing ground.

Smart type could go close

12:55 - Easywork

He is a smart type as he showed when winning his bumper in good style and I was pleased with his maiden hurdle win at Gowran last month when he looked to do everything reasonably easily. I'd hope that he is a novice with prospects of holding his own at graded level and this should be an informative race with regard to where he goes for the rest of the season. The two-and-a-half mile trip of this race is an unknown but he shapes like he will get further at home and if lasting home over this distance I'd like to think he will go close.
    7/4 winner
    Should make progress by giving a good account of himself

13:30 - Axiomatic

He has shown ability in his four bumper runs and he could probably win one if we found the right race for him but I think the best thing is to kick on with him over hurdles. He jumps well and stays well so going hurdling looks the logical thing to do. He is probably going to have to improve to be closely involved at the finish, and he lacks previous jumping experience, but he could give a good account of himself and I think he is a horse that should progress.

Happier, healthier Samcro looks back to his best

Best Chance - Samcro (14:40)">14:40 - Samcro and Tintangle

Samcro had lots of options over Christmas but this looked the right race for him - the trip suits him well and he will have no trouble with the ground. It was a pity what happened at Fairyhouse last time as he was going very well when he came down but so too was Joseph's horse and it's a pure guessing game as to what would have happened had he stood up.

All I know is that I'm much happier with Samcro this season and he seems a much happier and healthier horse since we changed a few things around with him. At home he shows me that he is back to where he was as a novice hurdler and I couldn't be happier with him going into this race. He is working well and seems very well in himself so hopefully he will take plenty of beating. It's been a while since he won a Grade 1 but I haven't lost any faith in him and it would be great to him back winning another big race.

Tintangle is a useful mare in her own right and has won twice over fences. She didn't seem to enjoy herself at Cork last time so we have decided to move her up in distance and she should be more comfortable at this trip. However, this does look a very good race and the best we can hope for is that she can nick some black type.

Needs to bring her home work to the track

15:50 - Annieguire

She will take her chance in a mares bumper and I'd hope to see her run better than she did at Naas last month although I do think she showed more than her final position would suggest that day. At home she is going fine in her work and she seems to be in good shape so hopefully she will bring that to the track.

Best Chance at Limerick - Samcro (14:40)

My Down Royal runners

Coolagh Park should be in contention

12:00 - Jaunty Warrior and Coolagh Park

Jaunty Warrior is really one for handicaps. He has struggled to make an impression in maiden hurdles so far although he wasn't disgraced on his second last run at Navan last month. He is in good form and looks ready for another run so this looks a good race for him and hopefully we might see a bit more from him this time.

I think Coolagh Park could run well. His debut second in a bumper was a solid effort and then he came back from six months off to run respectably in a Navan maiden hurdle earlier this month. He eventually finished eighth that day but I thought he ran much better than that and I think he will improve from that run and that should put him into contention here.

Refreshed and ready to rediscover his early promise

12:30 - Farsideofthemoon

He ran a lovely race in an auction bumper on his first start but for some reason he didn't run any sort of race in a Thurles bumper next time. I can't really put my finger on what happened at Thurles but we gave him plenty of time afterwards and freshened him up and he seems very well in himself so I'm happy to let him run again. He jumps well and his recent work has been solid so I'd hope that he will be in a position to give a good account of himself.

Fighting chance

13:00 - Fight For Love

He bounced back from a poor run at Thurles to win a Fairyhouse handicap earlier this month. He showed a good attitude to win at Fairyhouse and while he was all out at the line he has been given a fair chance by the handicapper as he is now just five pounds higher. On two of his last three runs he would look to have a decent chance so I'm hoping to see him show up well.

Solid mare shouldn't be far away

13:35 - Isle Of Destiny

I think this mare could run well. She's run to a solid level on her three completed starts over fences and she was running a creditable race at Fairyhouse last time only to be badly hampered and part company with her rider after the second last. She's got plenty of chasing experience which will help and she's a solid enough type so all things being equal she shouldn't be far away.

Needs to improve to compete in this hot race

14:45 - Ucello Conti

He made up into a smart hunter chaser last season and I hope that he will be at least as good this season. He's in good shape and he's come on for his comeback run in a point-to-point at the start of this month where he finished a creditable second after getting a little tired late on. This does look a hot enough race so he will need to improve a fair bit from his comeback run but I still think he will be able to show up well.

Expect a good run from this nice horse

15:20 - Farouk D'alene

He seems a nice horse and is a typical chasing type that Gigginstown do so well with. He won his point-to-point like a nice horse last spring after which he came to us and I'm happy with what he has been able to show us so far. He shows me that he should be able to run well in bumpers but his future is as jumper. I'd expect a good run from him.

Best Chance at Limerick - Coolagh Park (12:00)

15.00 NAP - Heresmynumber "The sudden return to form of the Stronge stable has been a relief for all concerned and Ali can be in the winners again today. Heresmynumber showed when far outrunning his odds in third in a hurdle race here on comeback that he shares in the revival. Back over fences, off his lowest-ever mark and with Ben Jones claiming 5lb, he looks a proper nap selection."

15.00 Heresmynumber "Heresmynumber had a pipe-opener over hurdles around here recently to set him up for a return to fences and ran very well. That will have brought him on and as he loves the ground he should go well."

13.35 NB - Just Don't Ask "We were all set to make Sammy Bill our nap again today but his absence clears the way for Just Don't Ask. Charlie Longsdon's seven-year-old was a close third to Espoir De Guye at Exeter and that form got a massive boost at Ascot on Saturday when that horse won half a minute in a valuable race. Looks chucked in!"

13.35 Just Don't Ask "Just Don't Ask's form at Exeter when he was third to Espoir De Guye got a major boost when that horse sauntered home clear in a valuable race at Ascot on Saturday. The fact the Sherwood horse doesn't run will obviously make this considerably easier."

12.30 Overworkdunderpaid "Overworkdunderpaid is a frustrating horse but he was ridden all wrong last time - he needs to be up with the pace. This is another drop in grade and as long as nothing untoward happens he ought to run all right."

12.45 Black Abbey "Black Abbey was bought recently out of France to go juvenile hurdling. He has winning form with cut in the ground over 1m4f on the flat. He is a tough little horse that likes to make the running and has taken well to hurdling at home."

12.55 Urban Artist "Urban Artist has done well to win two bumpers but first time over hurdles I think she might show greenness. She jumps them rather big at this stage but she's in very good form and we're hopeful."

13.00 State Vision "State Vision is also in at Market Rasen but this is the chosen race and that's very unlikely to change. He's handicapped now and he should improve running against much less talented horses than in novices. He has a little each-way chance."

13.00 Raddle And Hum "Raddle And Hum improved a great deal on earlier form last time at Kelso and seems to be on a competitive mark. We expect her to go well as track, trip and ground will all suit. Big each-way chance." 2nd 25/1

13.20 Simply The Betts " Simply The Betts has come out of his back-to-back wins in excellent form. He is taking a step up in class and trip here, but hopefully he can improve again off his current mark. We are looking forward to running him.

13.55 Jarveys Plate "Jarveys Plate is in great form and in retrospect we realise the Haydock race last time wasn’t ideal for him. This is much more suitable and a good run is firmly on the cards. Solid each-way chances and at much better odds than if he hadn't gone to Haydock in between."

14.15 Zerachiel "A year ago Zerachiel finished second in this marathon after unseating on seasonal debut. He again unseated - this time at the second fence - on his recent Haydock return, so we might be justified in anticipated another decent run around here. He certainly gets the trip."

15.20 Ilaya "Ilaya was an impressive winner at Newcastle when the ease of her victory surprised us, We feel she has improved for the win and the 11lb rise hopefully won't prevent her following up."

15.40 Star Of Lanka "Star of Lanka ran a blinder on comeback at Sandown but didn't really improve on that as much as expected when a well-beaten third at Newbury. He tries blinkers today and we hope that brings him back to the Sandown level."

Good luck to all.