Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Goose eggs

• 15-12-2019 9:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,313 ✭✭✭

Have you ever had a goose egg? I had some last year. Got them in Cloghane (Kerry), they're the size of 3 normal eggs but didn't notice a huge difference in taste.

Apparently geese only lay for a very short time of the year

Have you ever eaten goose eggs? 24 votes

Yes
    87% 21 votes
    No
    12% 3 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Many a time. They have a fuller taste than hen's eggs and are fattier with a denser yolk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

Kill for gain or shoot to maim
    But we don't need a reason
    The Golden Goose is on the loose
    And never out of season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

ye May keep the eggs but I’d eat the gander

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I used to keep geese so yes. Boil 8 minutes from cold for a set white and runny yolk, and a meal in themselves.

Here my neighbour has geese and gives me a couple of eggs every year on St Patrick's Day

Peafowl eggs are grand too; a big yolk and little white

Duck eggs are horrible!

ye May keep the eggs but I’d eat the gander

They make grand guard "dogs" ;)

Graces7 wrote: »

I have 2 ganders here graces and one goose.
    They’re getting braver by the day.
    They do get the odd reminder about manners lately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Kill for gain or shoot to maim
    But we don't need a reason
    The Golden Goose is on the loose
    And never out of season

Some good old Iron Maiden, can't remember the title of the song though (which is a bit odd)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Don Joe

Duck eggs are horrible!

I LOVE duck eggs :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Have you ever had a goose egg? I had some last year. Got them in Cloghane (Kerry), they're the size of 3 normal eggs but didn't notice a huge difference in taste.

Apparently geese only lay for a very short time of the year

Had goose eggs a few times but like you only saw a difference in size and nothing else

Don Joe wrote: »
    I LOVE duck eggs :)

You are very very welcome! Oily things ;)

I have 2 ganders here graces and one goose.
    They’re getting braver by the day.
    They do get the odd reminder about manners lately

I finally worked out that they are low on vision. So they see something in the distance, are not sure if it is friend or foe and CHAAAAAARGE!

I raised a gosling from an egg and he would walk right into my legs if I was standing still. He was a character. not sure who or what he was.

I’d eat goose all year if I could.
    V tasty.embden is a good breed.

I’d eat goose all year if I could.
    V tasty.embden is a good breed.

Mine were Chinese crested.

Even in my meat eating days would never ever eat someone I had fed and cared for and looked in the face... Raising pet lambs? Never ate lamb again and never would., and I chat to my neighbours cattle and never eat beef

My hens lived to a quiet old age.

A true story from North Isles days; a farmer had raised an orphaned lamb and later put it with the rest of the lambs to the pier to cross to market.

It started crying out, and this big farmer went and rescued it and took it home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I am most displeased with this thread. Most displeased indeed. :mad:

But to answer the question, actually no, I haven't tried a goose egg. I love duck eggs, though. A duck egg is a meal in itself, noticeably "stronger" and gamier than chicken, like indeed duck meat.

jimgoose wrote: »
    I am most displeased with this thread. Most displeased indeed. :mad:

But to answer the question, actually no, I haven't tried a goose egg. I love duck eggs, though. A duck egg is a meal in itself, noticeably "stronger" and gamier than chicken, like indeed duck meat.

Do you keep a lock of geese Jim?

I am their King! :cool:

jimgoose wrote: »
    I am their King! :cool:

Lol.ive 2 ganders here you might have a word with so.theyre gone wicked

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Since 365 BC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Geese can be aggressive because, as large quite clumsy birds, they can't quickly dart for cover when they perceive a threat so go on the offensive. Like dogs, they can be taught manners by sharp authoritative commands. Greeting them in a non threatening way can allay their fear.

Geese are fantastic creatures and have amazing eyesight. They can see four primary colours, unlike our three. They have a remarkable wide angle view of the world yet can focus on objects three times further away than humans can. Their night vision is ten times better than ours. Their only weakness is limited binocular vision giving poorer depth perception.

In Victorian England geese were a common companion of chimney sweeps. A goose would be sent down the chimney to collect the built up coal, coming out the other end covered in soot.

The first golf balls were stuffed with goose feathers.

Some geese can eat up to five pounds of grass per day.

If you keep one goose with hens they are great for minding them but anymore than one goose and they will keep together instead of mixing with the hens.
    A guard goose
    They’re also great for running unwanted visitors and giving you a heads up if anyone is knocking around by honking and hissing like someone demented.

A gosling needs a low protein diet starting out and get them on grass when possible.
    Too much protein in a gosling makes the wing joints develop too fast and they develop a condition called angel wing. If not treated by taping immediately it has permanent effects on the bird.

...Too much protein in a gosling makes the wing joints develop too fast and they develop a condition called angel wing. If not treated by taping immediately it has permanent effects on the bird.

Feeding them carbohydrates (in short, bread) exacerbates this as well.

Christ, memories are flooding back. Back in the ‘60’s, it was my brothers confirmation day, so I, a mere 6 year old, had to do their chores. The feckers never warned me about the bloody gander. His wives were hatching and he was acting like a guard dog. He cornered me and was pecking the legs off me when my father heard my screams and came to my rescue.