Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Returning home after 7 years

Options
  • 08-12-2019 10:48am
    Registered Users Posts: 20

I have been working abroad for 6 years and I plan to return home in 2021. Before I left, I was employed in Ireland and paid tax for 5 years.

I hope to gain employment as soon as possible, but I expect a couple of months of unemployment while I settle, apply for jobs etc.

During this first couple of months, will I be eligible for some unemployment/jobseekers benefit? Does being abroad for so long count against me?

Any general advice or information would be much appreciated.

Some other information that may be relevant: I will be taking my daughter and non-EU wife with me. She will not be able to work initially so both will be dependent on me.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 28,931 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

As far as I'm aware, you will be entitled to welfare, but as always, I could be wrong also. Best of luck with the return home

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

tommyIV wrote: »
    I have been working abroad for 6 years and I plan to return home in 2021. Before I left, I was employed in Ireland and paid tax for 5 years.

I hope to gain employment as soon as possible, but I expect a couple of months of unemployment while I settle, apply for jobs etc.

During this first couple of months, will I be eligible for some unemployment/jobseekers benefit? Does being abroad for so long count against me?

Any general advice or information would be much appreciated.