Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wasnt paid the Christmas bonus, why not?

• 05-12-2019 12:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭

Hope ye can help.

My boyfriend was on DA for a few years then went to college and was on BTEA last year, then they changed him over to jobseekers for the summer months when he was off college, there was a slight lapse in his payment due to DSP not processing it in time or whatever. Maybe two weeks without any payment.

So he's still on jobseekers as that's what they left him on despite having proof he was returning to college in Sept, that's all grand

He didn't receive any bonus this week, he has every other year. Could this be a mistake? Or due to the lapse in payment? As I read you must be on a qualifying payment for 15 months but can combine either BTEA or DA with jobseekers to make it up to qualify for bonus.

Please help! If anyone has more knowledge on what to do :)

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

what did Social Welfare say when you called them ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭171170

what did Social Welfare say when you called them ?

Social Welfare wouldn't discuss someone's private affairs with a third party. If they did, then her boyfriend could throw the book at them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

171170 wrote: »
    Social Welfare wouldn't discuss someone's private affairs with a third party. If they did, then her boyfriend could throw the book at them!

My tongue in cheek comment was why the bf didn't call Social Welfare FIRST instead of gf posting on a internet forum full of strangers. Surely SW would be the obvious people to ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭bronkobilly

171170 wrote: »

why would go on da and then come off it as its hard to get on it in the first place if he.s not on job seekers long enough to get the bonus??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭B-D-P--

why would go on da and then come off it as its hard to get on it in the first place if he.s not on job seekers long enough to get the bonus??

To better ones self?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭171170

My tongue in cheek comment was why the bf didn't call Social Welfare FIRST instead of gf posting on a internet forum full of strangers. Surely SW would be the obvious people to ask.

Yep - that's why I 'thanked' your original post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Lol, because he was on DA since a young age and wanted to go to college and was fit enough to do so.

He is only on jobseekers a few months but I read you can combine this with BTEA which he had last year.

Anyways the reason I'm asking is because he thinks ah feck it I'm not entitled, where as I read up on these things and know mistakes can sometimes be made.

He will go down for a chat tomorrow anyway, and we would not be used to contacting DSP so wouldnt even know where or what department to ring, and didn't really fancy getting caught on hold for half an hour, when the knowledge in state benefits is generally good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Well clearly, but that was no good to me at 9pm last night when I wanted to know the answer.

He will go down for a chat tomorrow.