Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas Suggestions - What tools do you get most use out of?!

• 28-11-2019 2:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,396 ✭✭✭✭

Being the sort who doesn't really go in for material presents I'm always a bit flummoxed this time of year when asked for gift suggestions so thought maybe there might be a few of ye here who'd be the same and we could give each other ideas of things to suggest to loved ones or office kris kindle groups etc.

So, what tools that cost less than €20 or €30 have you found the most frequently used in your kit?

To kick off with a few suggestions of my own:

A Leather Carpetners Apron - got one of these as a kris kindle gift in the office two years ago as something of a joke present (there were a few of us who'd recently bought houses then and spent a lot of time discussing DIY) and have found it extremely useful

A laser level / distance reader / stud finder. Have this one on my wishlist this year after getting great use out of one I'd borrowed earlier in the year

An Oscillating Multi-Tool - this one just sneaks in as a black friday deal but I've got great use out of my Lidl version.

So, lads and ladies of the DIY forum: what are you hoping Santa might leave hanging from your tool belt this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭stratowide

Under €30 narrows it down considerably.However...

I got two of those work trestles from aldi many years ago..Use them all the time mostly as a portable bench with an old laminate countertop on them.
    Fold up and put away when not in use.Very handy.

Have a Dewalt cordless 115mm grinder.No lugging cables all over and the 5.0ah battery lasts all day.
    Lovely piece.A bit more than €30 though..:)

Have that oscillating multi tool in Dewalt cordless and is certainly worth investing in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,396 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

stratowide wrote: »
    Under €30 narrows it down considerably.
    It certainly does! Open to more expensive suggestions but just thought it might be more of a challenge to keep the budget reasonable.

For something a little pricier that I personally use at least weekly I'd suggest the Leatherman Wingman for around €60 or for those on a tighter budget I see there's a Rev model which is around €40.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭chillyspoon

You can do a lot under 30!

- Clamps, clamps and more clamps! .. I'll happily have 4 people buy me one half-decent quality clamp each! e.g. https://www.amazon.de/Bessey-EZS30-8-Einhandzwinge-EZS-Spannweite/dp/B003A6DHHY/ref=sr_1_4?__mk_de_DE=%C3%85M%C3%85%C5%BD%C3%95%C3%91&keywords=bessey&qid=1574958396&sr=8-4
    - Decent quality metal rules, speed squares, mitre squares, measuring tapes can all be had under 30 euro.
    - You can get a half-decent block plane for 30 euro - should be able to just about squeeze a Stanley 220 or Stanley 9 /12 at that money if you shop around (or a Faithful would be easy in that budget).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

I got himself* a set of Wera hex keys for about thirty quid a few Xmas ago. I've gotten great use out of them.

*I did really get them for him, but like, all tools are communal household tools in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

I was given (for Christmas a couple of years ago) a Leatherman Multi-purpose tool which I use in my campervan, all the time.

Leatherman make lovely tools - sharp, strong, durable. Not cheap!

But this one is very similar, though smaller: and about your price range: https://tinyurl.com/vcawofq

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Day Lewin wrote: »
    I was given (for Christmas a couple of years ago) a Leatherman Multi-purpose tool which I use in my campervan, all the time.

Leatherman make lovely tools - sharp, strong, durable. Not cheap!

But this one is very similar, though smaller: and about your price range: https://tinyurl.com/vcawofq

I've had a Leatherman on my belt in one form or another for the last 30 years, would feel naked without it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭jack of all

My missus bought me an inexpensive LED head lamp (Eveready) as a stocking filler last year- very handy for occasional use. Also a Victorinox penknife is always a great tool for any woodworker/ DIYer- got me out of trouble many the time. I picked up a Stanley tool tote for under €30 also- more versatile than the open wooden box I had before; bought a €10 toolbox handsaw for it also. Any plastic/ rawhide hammer/ mallet from Thor is a versatile addition to the toolbox (they're good value too).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,085 ✭✭✭clivej

A hammer, screw driver, all for under £30.

My best toolmust go to my cordless Dewalt Drill.
    £150 bangers and worth every cent. I seem to use this on every job I do. Best screw diver I have in my toolbox.