Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Site for family member

• 03-11-2019 6:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭

Hi guys , the sister is looking to build close to home and looking for site , now willing to buy it but , how to go about it between ourselves is the problem , if she gets planning that is , my question is my single farm payment will be effected over less ground ? . Taking into consideration I’ve two young children one heading for end of secondary school , getting a few bob will be handy, anyone any advise going forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Hi guys , the sister is looking to build close to home and looking for site , now willing to buy it but , how to go about it between ourselves is the problem , if she gets planning that is , my question is my single farm payment will be effected over less ground ? . Taking into consideration I’ve two young children one heading for end of secondary school , getting a few bob will be handy, anyone any advise going forward

I did it this year for my brother. It was an acre. Wont effect my sfp too much. My father gave the land to me. I got him to pay all legal fees and he paid me €4000 for the site. Which I gave him back. That was just to keep revenue happy.
    Now if I had bought the land that would have been a different story. Obviously I would have to sell it to him properly but my father gave me the land I would not dream of making a brother or sister pay for some of it. That's my personal experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭dohc turbo2

jimini0 wrote: »
    I did it this year for my brother. It was an acre. Wont effect my sfp too much. My father gave the land to me. I got him to pay all legal fees and he paid me €4000 for the site. Which I gave him back. That was just to keep revenue happy.
    Now if I had bought the land that would have been a different story. Obviously I would have to sell it to him properly but my father gave me the land I would not dream of making a brother or sister pay for some of it. That's my personal experience.
    Of course , every situation different , the farm cost me a lot of money and I’ve a lot of money spent on it , and as I said I’ve a young family, I would love to be in a position to just sign it over but unfortunately not ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,838 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Are ye close enough to sit down and chat about what's best going forward ?, I dunno if your sisters got some cash to go along side the official purchase price... Or agrees to give X amount per college month to your college going kid to " help out"
    Have a chat with your accountant too.. You don't want to get hit with a tax bill that makes it pointless...
    A huge chunk of the value is going to be the planning, which your sisters going to be the one getting... And to her she's probably moving back to her home...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Markcheese wrote: »
    Are ye close enough to sit down and chat about what's best going forward ?, I dunno if your sisters got some cash to go along side the official purchase price... Or agrees to give X amount per college month to your college going kid to " help out"
    Have a chat with your accountant too.. You don't want to get hit with a tax bill that makes it pointless...
    A huge chunk of the value is going to be the planning, which your sisters going to be the one getting... And to her she's probably moving back to her home...
    ya that’s her plan , she a single woman with a good job , hasn’t seen the house she wants so would like to build close to home . I must chat to the accountant just there busy at moment with end of year stuff . It would also be the only chance of a site on my place so I’d be ruling out anything for my lads down the line .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,173 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Your payments will take a small hit if you give a site of 1 ac them you can't draw any entitlements on that 1ac etc, planning my well be the biggest hurdle, it is around here anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aravo

ya that’s her plan , she a single woman with a good job , hasn’t seen the house she wants so would like to build close to home . I must chat to the accountant just there busy at moment with end of year stuff . It would also be the only chance of a site on my place so I’d be ruling out anything for my lads down the line .

Planning may not be straight forward. There may be a housing need policy in place with the council.

Aravo wrote: »
    Planning may not be straight forward. There may be a housing need policy in place with the council.

Yep , have a meeting with the local planner pre planning meeting to find out if she can get planning , and will have to sit down and think then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,838 ✭✭✭Markcheese

She mightn't need or want a large site, if when talking to the planners they're happy to go half to a third of an acre, then that could suit both better,
    Also is it the only chance of a site because of planning restrictions in the area, or because of road frontage and access/ sightlines?
    You Could insist on a small lane way to her site, that leaves room for access to a site for your own kids?
    And then there's things like water and fencing that can be very informal with family and that's fine if it suits everybody, but cover it in any deeds so if the house ever gets sold on these things are sorted out...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Markcheese wrote: »
    She mightn't need or want a large site, if when talking to the planners they're happy to go half to a third of an acre, then that could suit both better,
    Also is it the only chance of a site because of planning restrictions in the area, or because of road frontage and access/ sightlines?
    You Could insist on a small lane way to her site, that leaves room for access to a site for your own kids?
    And then there's things like water and fencing that can be very informal with family and that's fine if it suits everybody, but cover it in any deeds so if the house ever gets sold on these things are sorted out...
    ya frontage being the problem ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

If giving an acre site that is .4 of an entitlement which you should be well aware if your farming, this sounds a bit like the last thread on giving a family member a site. Don’t take the bait lads.

Don’t take the bate , jez don’t be so feckin anal can anyone not ask a question anymore , I never seen the tread ur talking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭I says

The way planning is going she mightn’t get it. In some areas now unless it’s the next generation getting the farm they won’t get planning. The days of giving sites to each child won’t happen anymore

I says wrote: »
    The way planning is going she mightn’t get it. In some areas now unless it’s the next generation getting the farm they won’t get planning. The days of giving sites to each child won’t happen anymore

That’s just it , mightn’t happen after all, cheers for all the reply’s , something to think on going forward with her . Thursday I’ll have a fair idea if it will go ahead or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,084 ✭✭✭enricoh

Dunno what part of the country you are in, but it'd be no harm to get ball park figures off builders first. She might get an eye opener.

Prices have increased massively in the last 10 years, loads of new regulations, increased council levies etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

enricoh wrote: »
    Dunno what part of the country you are in, but it'd be no harm to get ball park figures off builders first. She might get an eye opener.

Prices have increased massively in the last 10 years, loads of new regulations, increased council levies etc.

Not to mention even just getting lads to do it, along with most looking for cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Mooooo wrote: »
    Not to mention even just getting lads to do it, along with most looking for cash

The new regulations are probably for the better ,a mate constucted a new house recently but the comfort in it is worth the few bob extra .I visited on a cold night last week and the big kitchen /living area was so snug ,he told me look at termostat at 19 degrees and then i put my hand on rads and they no hotter then lukewarm!!!!

enricoh wrote: »

Ya , she has seen a one off house that she loves and only built recently so happy out with that regards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

If you don't have sites from your own I'd say thanks but no thanks. A lot of sites to family members get sold on and you could be stuck with anyone for a neighbour and no site left.
    A lot to be said for buying a site in the local village anyway esp for when one gets in in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

Selling a site the financial year before applying for a SUSI grant for college, it elligible might not be the best idea either. SUSI has strange rules and might just add the sum received into your income.

Donations towards college might be a good idea as they are tax deductible, especially if as a single earner your sister is paying a lot of tax. However they can't be documented into the contract for sale of the land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭kerryjack

In my oppion they should be no houses built on a farm only for the person working the farm. 1 farm 1 house. I want the house of my dreams idea should be knocked on the head, small clusters of houses in villages is the way to go, good for the local villeges and the environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

kerryjack wrote: »
    In my oppion they should be no houses built on a farm only for the person working the farm. 1 farm 1 house. I want the house of my dreams idea should be knocked on the head, small clusters of houses in villages is the way to go, good for the local villeges and the environment.

Issue with that around here is two local villages both need water and waste treatment facilities and the council won't do it. They wont give planning in yhe village because of it. Local people have then gone and bought sites in different clusters with feck all facilities. You couldn't make it up really. The local village now only has the church, school and ironically a museum. Used to be two shops and two pubs open in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Mooooo wrote: »
    Issue with that around here is two local villages both need water and waste treatment facilities and the council won't do it. They wont give planning in yhe village because of it. Local people have then gone and bought sites in different clusters with feck all facilities. You couldn't make it up really. The local village now only has the church, school and ironically a museum. Used to be two shops and two pubs open in it

Is the museum to show the way the village used to be? :confused: