Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What caused this damage?

• 01-11-2019 9:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭

Boardsies love s bit of detective work. Any ideas what could have caused this damage? Opinions welcome.

IMG-20191101-214706.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Mundo7976

Another car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭KK4SAM

A bit severe for another car if when parked .Concrete street bollard, the upper white mark is a reflection of the parking space line ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

The owner claims he came back to his parked car and saw this. And adjacent Clio is being blamed.

To me it looks like the damage was caused by something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Beeping Kitchen Appliances

Scrapey, denty damage down the whole side of your car.

I would say a physical object of some type came in contact with your car.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

If the car beside it, did it, they'd have each others paint.

KK4SAM wrote: »
    the upper white mark is a reflection of the parking space line ?

Yes, that is just a reflection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

It does fit with a car parking beside it causing the damage. It's a fairly difficult and obscure area to damage yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,071 ✭✭✭10-10-20

The door looks to have been hit with a large and somewhat flexible object as the metal skin moulded around the door-frame pretty well.
    Can we have a close-up of the scraping/white-marks please?

A close up. The vertical scrape highlighted suggests the car may have rubbed up against something?

IMG-20191101-222905.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭Mech1

That wasnt a car parking next to you.
    Someone drove that car into a concrete bollard ar something similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

It's very unlikely to be a bollard. The sill and lower edge of the door are ok. Concrete bollards are usually wider at the bottom, but even if they weren't, the sill would have to be damaged for there to be damage higher up if it was a bollard or pillar.

IMO it was another car, it's right in the height range of where another small cars bumper would be, it's in the direction and contact area that would be in keeping with a car swinging nose first into the space. You can see where it made light contact towards the front of the door and it got heavier as it swung in.

Even the ****est drivers would struggle to damage a car there, it's the panel closest to the driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Wing mirror untouched point to anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭KK4SAM

It's very unlikely to be a bollard. The sill and lower edge of the door are ok. Concrete bollards are usually wider at the bottom, but even if they weren't, the sill would have to be damaged for there to be damage higher up if it was a bollard or pillar.

IMO it was another car, it's right in the height range of where another small cars bumper would be, it's in the direction and contact area that would be in keeping with a car swinging nose first into the space. You can see where it made light contact towards the front of the door and it got heavier as it swung in.

Even the ****est drivers would struggle to damage a car there, it's the panel closest to the driver.
    The damage is more severe towards the rear but not hitting the rear arch. Possibly a previous car reversing out of that space ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

You know the person who owns the other car?

Could have been by a car which drove into the spot. Reversing out they hit it high with the front side of their car then did the rest low with a jutting out lower part of the front of the car? Either oblivious to what they were doing or panicking to get away after first contact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

looks like a white or silver car reversing out of the space while steering locked alot to the left

the door pillar area is still raised so its likely a car bumper scraped from rear to front of the damaged car then fades away as it turned out

i dont think it was another driving in that caused it but i could be wrong , its just the damage to the rear is large and youd have to gas it to do that driving in

would rule out a bollared and also rule out the damaged car doing it ( unless they were f*cking drunk or insane )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

To my eternal shame I did something similar to that to a previous car. Misjudged the turn into a parking space and wrapped the car around a column. Horrible sensation.

Car was ready for the scrap heap beforehand so was the embarrassment more than anything. If it was a new car I could imagine being angry and looking for someone to blame.

Sorry if I'm being a bit vague with the details, you just never know how these things are going to go so I don't want to say too much.

My mother was contacted to say her car had been seen doing this damage. This was news to her and her car is unmarked. So all a bit strange.
    I'll be meeting the guards to look at the evidence and show photographs that we have, and see where it goes from there.

This is her car.

Screenshot-2019-11-02-13-02-14-559-com-whatsapp.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

I wouldn't even entertain any claim that the silver car did that damage when it's pretty clear it couldn't have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭NSAman

That was not a car, if anything that was something solid, like a bollard. Another car would have severe damage and scrapping if that were the case. Plus the deep gouge is not something from a car (especially at the height it is at)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Sorry if I'm being a bit vague with the details, you just never know how these things are going to go so I don't want to say too much.

My mother was contacted to say her car had been seen doing this damage. This was news to her and her car is unmarked. So all a bit strange.
    I'll be meeting the guards to look at the evidence and show photographs that we have, and see where it goes from there.

This is her car.

Screenshot-2019-11-02-13-02-14-559-com-whatsapp.jpg

Don’t just bring photos...bring the car. Photos could be taken at any time, you need to bring the car along with you for them to examine in person.

no way that silver car did any damage , it would be scraped to feck

any cctv you can ask them to look at and tell you if it occurred , or mention to the damaged owner that cctv exists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭99nsr125

Boardsies love s bit of detective work. Any ideas what could have caused this damage? Opinions welcome.

IMG-20191101-214706.jpg

Van
    Right height and everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

So some randomer is saying herself damaged said randomers car simply because he/she returned to a damaged car and your wife's was in the vicinity (evidently with no damaged on your wife's car)?

I'll be telling the randomer to go take a flying jump. Sure we could all go around claiming that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Bikerman2019

OMG thats funny.

They are claiming your mums silver car did ALL that damage? Take the car to whoever is making the claim and maybe present your car to your / their insurer and invite them to inspect it.

Then tell then to get a grip and get lost. If they persist, you will invoice them for your time rebuffing their outrageous claim.

DaDumTish wrote: »
    any cctv you can ask them to look at and tell you if it occurred , or mention to the damaged owner that cctv exists

Interestingly apparently the Gardai have some CCTV, of what I don't know and neither party is allowed to see it without a solicitor. I'll be talking to them on Monday to see where we go from here. The whole thing is quite bizarre. Bringing her car to them is a good idea, but she is down in the country and Dublin Garda are investigating.

IF somebody has CCTV of you, you are entitled to it under the data protection act.

Make the request now and watch them squirm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

IMG-20191101-214706.jpg

Looks a bit like an arse imprint .... you should be looking for someone with a Kardashianesque size hooop perhaps wearing a pair of cement covered overalls :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

Get her to bring it to her local station for an inspection asap. They can send report to Dublin.

Any news?

Any news?

Photos of both cars are with the Garda, no news back, need to chase them up.