Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Happy Halloween!

• 31-10-2019 8:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,261 ✭✭✭✭

Whats it like in your area?

Lots of kids around this evening. Avengers and Paw Patrol seem to be the outfit of choice this year.

Currently sounds like WW3 outside.

Anyhow,

Happy Halloween everyone. Time to watch a horror film or put on The Nightmare before Christmas.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Yeah it’s great for the kids

Once the estates get older and they grow up it’s gone

Enjoy every minute of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

Had one caller earlier on and that was it, it's absolutely pissing rain but truth be told Halloween has been bad for years here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,000 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Doesn’t seem to be as big as other years? What do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,829 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Does anyone know if the 'The Citizen' is out tonight?

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=62783360
    Not long now, the sun will set and nightfall will be upon us...

While many of you prepare your costumes and trick or treats, I prepare for battle and combat. This is the busiest day of the year for the Fire Brigade, Emergency Services and the cops. They will have their hands full dealing with various incidents throughout the country. If you are reading this scumbags, consider it a warning. This is the night I have been preparing for. This is the night that the skills I recently acquired in the North Pole and the deserts of Africa, will be tested. This is the night that justice will be served. This is the night that the city can sleep in peace. Scumbags, I will be patrolling the streets of the city, keeping a watchful eye over the people. Justice will be served.

:mad:

We have not heard from him since he arrived on the scene?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Does anyone know if the 'The Citizen' is out tonight?

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=62783360

We have not heard from him since he arrived on the scene?

He must be in his late 40’s now

Still angry but is he still match fit to take on the street scum tonight?

And does the cape even fit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Long since grown out of Halloween but lots of fireworks around this year which are great craic to watch. Stupid that they're illegal when they're so prolific anyway. Like weed, they should just be legalised and taxed.

I don't like all the car alarms they set off, but such is life. Need thicker windows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Thank god its PISSING rain here all evening.

Same here. Quietest deadest halloeeen ever.

And I’m not complaining !!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Going to watch The Thing later!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Only had a small number of children around this year for trick or treat. I think word spread last year that I was giving out fruit as well as sweets so this year maybe they’re avoiding the place :pac:

Quiet Halloween though, few fireworks and bangers, but that’s about it, doesn’t seem to be a whole lot on television either, but maybe that’s because I have so many channels now, the horror movies are a bit like slim pickings. Halloween movies on RTÉ when I was a child were a real event!

Definitely seemed to be much more made of it in recent years than this year where it’s been fairly uneventful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,109 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

All quiet on my Estate. But then again it is in the middle of the country surrounded by a wall and 2 gate lodges.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭screamer

Aww.. took my smallest out tonight for the first time. ‘‘Twas hammering rain but we went anyways. People were very generous and we only had one little witch at our door tonight. I love Halloween and I love to give the kids some nice stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,877 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Thanks to whoever put on the co-ordinated mini fireworks display in Clontarf tonight - brightened up my Halloween :)

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Not many Trick or Treaters tonight. The rain kept them away. Time to put on a John Carpenter film for the grandkids and have a few bevvies.

And finish the goodie bags I made up earlier. Loads left over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Happy halloween :) Exorcist III. Think I’ll get a beer from the fridge ~

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,346 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

No trick or treaters calling to my door, although in case there were any I had some sweets left out - which I’ll just scoff myself now. :pac:

Very long and busy day today and despite the rain, here are a lot of fireworks going off in my locality. Going to put on The Fog (the 1979 John Carpenter original, not the rubbish 2005 remake) on the DVD player in a few mins.

Oiche Samhain!!

c8a1475dad8eb8f23e6d6474d00df7ce.jpg

It's like Beirut outside with all the explosions going off, and has been for some hours now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,534 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

We live in deep dark countryside so it's just any random night here.

To thine own self be true

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

My 2-year-old was so cute earlier today. He kept "frightening" me with masks and scary things so I ran away and he came after me to tell me that they weren't real, explaining it's just fun.

Later we went out for a walk as he wanted to show me what a neighbour did with their house. When I said it would be scary he said that I could hold his hand and we could walk past them together. So we did, with his little hand in mine, looking up at me while he wore a cute wooly hat with strings coming down on each side, and smiling. When we got to the other side of the scary house, he looked at me, said he loved me and not to worry because everybody is just joking. Jesus.

And to think some day some beguiling cailín is going to break that beautiful little heart!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

Was fireworks going off everywhere around Dublin south this evening, was great craic watching it all. Just watched the Purge there. Gonna watch another flick now before bed. Eating like a pig. Gotta love Halloween.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,130 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Great to see all the small kiddies dressed up going door to door, but that's where the goodwill stops.

Halloween is just another excuse for scumbags to engage in anti-social behaviour and wreck the place.

Just read the DFB twitter and those brave people are putting their lives in danger responding to emergencies caused by scumbags. There are reports of cars being burnt out in Darndale and our "Lidly" friends are in action too - 2 cars alight and a downed lamp post blocking the entrance to an estate in Fortunestown tonight. F

You read horrible reports of small animals being thrown on bonfires etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

My 2-year-old was so cute earlier today. He kept "frightening" me with masks and scary things so I ran away and he came after me to tell me that they weren't real, explaining it's just fun.

Later we went out for a walk as he wanted to show me what a neighbour did with their house. When I said it would be scary he said that I could hold his hand and we could walk past them together. So we did, with his little hand in mine, looking up at me while he wore a cute wooly hat with strings coming down on each side, and smiling. When we got to the other side of the scary house, he looked at me, said he loved me and not to worry because everybody is just joking. Jesus.

And to think some day some beguiling cailín is going to break that beautiful little heart!
    Probably some beguiling buachaill if he turns out as soppy as his Da

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,456 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

anewme wrote: »
    Great to see all the small kiddies dressed up going door to door, but that's where the goodwill stops.

Halloween is just another excuse for scumbags to engage in anti-social behaviour and wreck the place.

Just read the DFB twitter and those brave people are putting their lives in danger responding to emergencies caused by scumbags. There are reports of cars being burnt out in Darndale and our "Lidly" friends are in action too - 2 cars alight and a downed lamp post blocking the entrance to an estate in Fortunestown tonight. F

You read horrible reports of small animals being thrown on bonfires etc.

The map by DFB gives a good idea of what's going on all over the city.

https://www.google.com/maps/d/u/1/viewer?ll=53.34553990452765%2C-6.229024576535494&z=11&mid=151nKTS_WVvx0Y3a6VRv3tT_CGRDWI_Ep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭lola85

Whats it like in your area?

Lots of kids around this evening. Avengers and Paw Patrol seem to be the outfit of choice this year.

Currently sounds like WW3 outside.

Anyhow,

Happy Halloween everyone. Time to watch a horror film or put on The Nightmare before Christmas.

Since when were avengers and paw patrol Halloween costumes??

What happened to white sheets with holes and black bags over your body?

World is gone mad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,261 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

lola85 wrote: »
    Since when were avengers and paw patrol Halloween costumes??

What happened to white sheets with holes and black bags over your body?

World is gone mad...

Well, suppose you dont want the white sheets getting misinterpreted.

giphy.webp

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

I handed treats to 46 little monsters today, I think I fed the whole village and more. Some seriously creative costumes too.
    It was a great evening really.

Happy Halloween!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

102 creepy callers.... Some not so creepy and some very borderline kids so much so they could well have passed as adults.... Oh well...

All were polite and nearly all said thanks so it was good from that side of things, even one group done a bit of a song.

Great night but was surprised how early it started.

Happy Halloween to you all.... Sorry a tad bit late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,921 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Sneaky cold callers at it again:mad:

No I don't want to switch Gas providers you fecking bast**ds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

We live in deep dark countryside so it's just any random night here.
    Wait until the late night callers start singing Singin' in the Rain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,607 ✭✭✭✭josip

We had a fcuking dinosaur call tonight.
    I sh1t you not, an 8ft head to fcuking toe, dinosaur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Dank Janniels

Every year for the past few yrs there has been a kiddies disco in the community centre, every1 says its better than driving around the roads door to door, the kids can meet up with more ppl and theres the usual games +things to do, and then theres a competition for best costumes etc.

I still buy afew sweets+ things incase any1 does call like my little cuzens from outa town or whatever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

halloween is why i love work.

avoiding all the crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

All Hallows Eve.. and into All Saints Day..

slept through it :D .. too busy trying to get warm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,464 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Luckily, I'm working tonight, so not at home, but living back home in the country doesn't lead to callers, no one wants to drive their kids from house to house!

When I lived elsewhere, and if I was not working Halloween night, I'd have all the lights off and put a black bow on the door. Most older parents would understand that this could mean a death in the household and not send their kids up to it. Still got the odd few knocks, but I was deep into a game with a headset on, so couldn't hear a thing!

In my defence, I don't have kids so why should I feed everyone elses when there would be nothing coming into my house?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Gas, you know the way there can be a movie everyone has seemed to watch but you haven't?
    Well I finally watched hocus pocus tonight. Have to say I enjoyed it.

Had no idea that was Sarah Jessica Parker in it. Even as a kid, even not seeing the movie I knew who bette midler was. I even knew the other witch was the actress from sister act. I always thought the third witch was just some random unknown actress to me.

Actually why do people say Sarah Jessica Parker looks like a horse or is ugly? That woman is bloody Hella fine in Hocus Pocus.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 428 ✭✭blueshade

We had well over 40 callers this year. We almost ran out and at one point I thought we'd have to put a note on the door saying ''sorry, we ran out of sweets''. Don't know where they all came from, I thought the rain would mean we got very few. We do really great bags for the kids, but the last few only had about 6 sweets in each one to try to ration them out, I felt really bad about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Hate it, esp the modern Yankified version, legalised door to door begging, not to mention gangs of teens hanging around. Dogs and cats demented with fireworks.

The emergency services didn't have a "happy" one in certain parts by some accounts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Yeah it’s great for the kids

Once the estates get older and they grow up it’s gone

Enjoy every minute of it

I'm down by the church of Ireland and it was certainly much louder than last year!!! Although it did quieten down when the rain got really heavy!