Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Judge Martin Nolan petition

• 29-10-2019 7:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭

http://chng.it/mRDqxXS8

Hitting the 6k mark soon. I doubt very much that he will be removed or resign. It might send a message to the powers that be that the laws around viewing child abuse material are woefully inadequate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Yeh he seems to be lenient on pedos and rapists while really harsh on lads or women who evade tax or commit social welfare fraud. Now im not condoning fraud of our revenue or social welfare but id feel safer if the pedos and rapists were locked up and not the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,412 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

...a fully suspended sentence after he was charged with having 1300 'unique' poronographic image files and 11 'unique' video files of children being sexually abused/assaulted/ but 'Judge' Martin Nolan said...
    whats 'with' the random quote 'marks' ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Hal3000

Last time a petition to remove him had barely 2000 signatures and it featured in the journal. This one has nearly 8000 and not a peep from the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Ihadadream

Hitting the 6k mark soon. I doubt very much that he will be removed or resign. It might send a message to the powers that be that the laws around viewing child abuse material are woefully inadequate.[/quote]

I have a pedo around the corner on a suspended sentence and it was not nolan who did the dirt. It is all judges. Crimes to do with sex were never taken seriously because there was no financial incentive and never will. Welcome to the most corrupt country in Europe and it's never going to change unless there is a scandal around election time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It seems to be shared on Facebook by the types that are anti everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,276 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Do the people who start these petitions have any inkling of the process or procedures required for the impeachment and/or removal of a judge in Ireland?

A read of article 35.4 of the Constitution and a statement or proof of the misconduct that keyboard warriors are incensed with that would lead to both houses voting to remove him?

Sentencing reform is needed, no doubt.
    Having a petition singling out 1 judge isn't how that comes about and TBH giving the bar required to remove a judge, its a waste of time.

Build a case of evidence, rather than emotion.
    Take that to your TDs and start the ball rolling properly.
    Not with an online mob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

And here we go again.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/suspended-sentence-for-man-28-who-viewed-and-distributed-child-pornography-964520.html

The nonce was only distributing to 'like-minded individuals', so that's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

tdf7187 wrote: »
    And here we go again.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/suspended-sentence-for-man-28-who-viewed-and-distributed-child-pornography-964520.html

The nonce was only distributing to 'like-minded individuals', so that's grand.

In fairness you've got him citing a higher court and the Gardaí saying the case was exceptional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭wellwhynot

And here we go again. This man flashed two children and masturbated in a shop and had 1665 images of child sex abuse on his phone. Nolan gives as suspended sentence. 1665 children had to be abused for Niall Edwards and his ilk's pleasure.

I believe he thinks there is nothing at all wrong with child pornography. He said that the exposure offences were difficult to assess and noted they were once seen as a much less serious offence then than they are seen now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Three More Big Sleeps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,920 ✭✭✭buried

Another example of the lucrative business of keeping dangerous animals out on the streets so they will back again soon to line the pockets of their solicitors. Was this animal availing of free legal aid? I'd say he was. And he will again. That's what all this is about. The justice system isn't a system in this country its a never ending feeding bucket for solicitor firms. When the general election rolls around ask what these f**king useless politicians intend to do about. If they say they can't do anything, then ask them to kindly f**k off your doorstep.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

He just gave a full suspension on a pedo that was exposing himself to children, as well as having thousands of images of child pornography on their phone.

https://www.thejournal.ie/man-with-child-porn-given-suspended-sentence-4943658-Dec2019/

This Nolan lives in a ****ing fantasy world!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Urquell

Yeh he seems to be lenient on pedos and rapists while really harsh on lads or women who evade tax or commit social welfare fraud.

I've always felt that the likes of Nolan see a clear distinction between these two crimes. The first is what we do to each other as little people. The second is when we raise our hand to the almighty State. And the powers that be absolutely will not tolerate the second...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Utter farce.
    Just reading this makes you wonder how bad he really is.

https://gript.ie/impeach-martin-nolan/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭bigroad

You would have to wonder why he is so easy on sex crimes.
    Could this be a case of all boy's together because that's what its starting to look like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,348 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Online petition?

Sure he is as good as gone so.

From my recollection of the UK’s treatment of such offences, they received a jail sentence and the inmates took care of matters after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭Heckler

Nolan is a disgrace with the judgements he has historically passed on child sex offenders. Old boys network.

What I did like from one of the articles was "Loss prevention officer" ffs. A fecking old school store "detective". Like Lollipop Ladies are now "Sanctioned Traffic Wardens" or some such bull****. Jesus Christ. Gimme 20 years ago when I was was in my 20's and none of this utter bull**** was a thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Nolan is a joke, he also let off those scumbags who beat up people opposing Islam on the Luas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

As much as many of Nolan's sentences have made me shake my head, I cannot support any initiative that seeks to make the application of the law a popularity contest.

There are many places in the world where law enforcement and judges are political appointees, and they're the most corrupt places on earth where the law doesn't apply to you if you know the right people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Man (70s) receives suspended sentence for sexual abuse of boy in the 1960s https://jrnl.ie/4966913

Another suspended sentence yet again from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

seamus wrote: »
    As much as many of Nolan's sentences have made me shake my head, I cannot support any initiative that seeks to make the application of the law a popularity contest.

There are many places in the world where law enforcement and judges are political appointees, and they're the most corrupt places on earth where the law doesn't apply to you if you know the right people.

You're talking absolute spray. This is by no means a 'Popularity contest'. Nobody is suggesting that we start appointing judges on a the basis of popularity. That petition is about raising awareness of a judge that has a demonstrable track record of being a soft touch on some of the most heinous crimes that come across his desk (sex abuse), especially compared to his sentencing of other types of crime.

Pretty sure judges are nominated by the Government here btw.