Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nationwide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

SecretPoisedFairybluebird-size_restricted.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭candycock

Replacing such a pleasant lady in Mary by this red headed bully,tut tut.

Mary always seemed such an exceptionally nice person, with a lovely way with people. I always liked her signing off in Irish (and I hardly understand the language)

Come back Mary

As you can tell, I am a fan

M

Why could RTE not have kept Mary on as a contractor rather than an employee like they have with others?

That's a very good point, and I am glad I made it;)

But seriously, it's a proper shame that Mary is disappearing from Nationwide. Of all the "talent" on RTE, she's one of the group that's genuine and not trying to be anything other than herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

Disappointing to see the old harpy taking over from Mary Kennedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Mary always seemed such an exceptionally nice person, with a lovely way with people. I always liked her signing off in Irish (and I hardly understand the language)

Come back Mary

As you can tell, I am a fan

Met her a few times, very nice lady.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Just give it to Ann Cassin full time. Mary is one of a kind, and not easily replaced, but Blathnaid couldn't be more wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭lola85

candycock wrote: »

What’s her hair colour got to do with it?

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,276 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Judging what she said she didn't want to leave. It probably is aout finances5. It's generally an excellent prog. Wonder how the new one will get on with Ann? She has a reputation it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭smilerf

At least its not John Creed on.
    Something about that man I find very fake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

smilerf wrote: »

A bit too sweet to be wholesome as my granny used to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

I love listening to him. I’ve never met him but family and friends have and say that he’s just as nice as he comes across on Radio & TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭TooOldBoots

All these presenters are all pass their sell by date by a long shot. Why not give a chance to one of the younger generation instead of these old stooges

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Find that perception bizarre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I'd have been delighted to see John Creedon on board!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Ann cassin was the obvious choice, i don't watch the show unless i stumble across it but always found Ann excellent and a similar style to Mary

It's a truly dreadful appointment, she's arrogant, brassy, vulgar and worst of all not a people person in the slightest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭HBC08

Nationwide was a good show to have on in the background,often had intersting segments on and I was on it myself a few years ago!
    Mary was great,Ann Cassin would have been a good continuation in that mould.John Creedon would be great but he has his own shows,a new face might have been a good idea.

I wont be watching with that absolute wagon that has got it. Sounds extreme but shes so insincere and dislikable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,563 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Big difference the likability factor between Mary Kennedy and Blathnaid. Mary was great interacting with people and getting their stories and it's people that were the stars of Nationwide. Fear is Blathnaid will make herself the main story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,544 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

All these presenters are all pass their sell by date by a long shot. Why not give a chance to one of the younger generation instead of these old stooges

Like who? Some instagram "star".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,430 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

I'd say John Creedon would have been a good fit, Michael Ryan used to be great on it...

Even though Anne and Mary are lovely girls, I still miss Michael Ryan's perfect walk to camera, and as much as I admire the lovely Mary, she still never perfected that skill. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Hector.

Gods Gift wrote: »
    Hector.

Jellybaby1 wrote: »
    Even though Anne and Mary are lovely girls, I still miss Michael Ryan's perfect walk to camera, and as much as I admire the lovely Mary, she still never perfected that skill. :)

Extraordinary thin legs. A bit wonky and ruins her walk.
    She's been interviewed numerous times recently and has said she has to retire as she has reached that age. It's almost as if they were trying to start a campaign to get RTE to keep her. And I feel Mary is in on it. But she has had her day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭Millicently

Typical RTE, not a jot of concern for what the viewers want, they just make programmes to occupy their staff. Dancing with the Staff Stars, Cooking with the staff in various glamorous European destinations etc. Yer wan replacing her is a chore to watch. Why on earth they even let her cover the St Patrick's Day parade I don't know, so I can't think what the hell they're doing giving her a prime time evening show. They might as well have just cancelled it altogether.

bobbyss wrote: »
    Extraordinary thin legs. A bit wonky and ruins her walk.
    She's been interviewed numerous times recently and has said she has to retire as she has reached that age. It's almost as if they were trying to start a campaign to get RTE to keep her. And I feel Mary is in on it. But she has had her day.

Never mind about Mary’s legs (just for the record I think she’s fine, but it’s all in the eye of the beholder) for me it’s about Mary’s easy, open style, especially with people she’s interviewing. She’s engaged, listening and seems to me to be genuinely interested.

Why let that go, just because she’s reached some arbitrary age? She didn’t suddenly stop being a person with those positive traits overnight.

Bring back Mary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Never mind about Mary’s legs (just for the record I think she’s fine, but it’s all in the eye of the beholder) for me it’s about Mary’s easy, open style, especially with people she’s interviewing. She’s engaged, listening and seems to me to be genuinely interested.

Why let that go, just because she’s reached some arbitrary age? She didn’t suddenly stop being a person with those positive traits overnight.

Bring back Mary

Sounds like she would be the perfect host for The Late Late Show unlike dull Tubridy.
    She is the female version of Gay Byrne. She would have been the perfect host to take over from him and she would still be great now.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭s8n

is yer man still on it who was always beside a wall in letterkenny ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

candycock wrote: »

I agree even though I had red hair before it turned grey and then white FFS. Why don’t they give the job to Sharon ni bheolaion? Easy on the eye and very placid, win win.

Bring back Mary

No No. She was good I agree but her time has come. Let someone fresh take over. Note to RTE interviewers (and friends): Stop asking her would she still like to make some programme/would she still like to be involved.

She's been featured on Ray D'arcy-radio and TV programme, the Late Late Show, on Nationwide's last show of the year and a look back by her at her and the programme throughout the years. For God's sake. Goodbye. Let's look for other young talent. Unfortunately I don't like that new one with the red hair. Can't spell her name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭golondrinas

I also don't like the redhaired one but have you seen the large foreign looking lady with the delivery of a 14 year old transition year student who has just been brought in to have a look round the TV centre. Utterly pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭kerryjack

I also don't like the redhaired one but have you seen the large foreign looking lady with the delivery of a 14 year old transition year student who has just been brought in to have a look round the TV centre. Utterly pathetic.
    I like her as a presenter and she needs to be given a chance she is young and we all had to start somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭smilerf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭rightmove

taxpayer again forking out for a wagon