Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bicycle pedal is squeaking

• 25-10-2019 11:14am
    Registered Users Posts: 13,086 ✭✭✭✭

I am looking for a bicycle repair shop in Galway city.

The pedal is squeaking, and I don't want / know to go at it myself.

Thanks.

There is a place on Prospect Hill, I think?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭beans

Geuze wrote: »

It's called 'on yer bike', and mentions full service on the shop front. Looks a good bet.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,100 ✭✭✭dinneenp

Thanks.

There is a guy opposite the cathedral, take path to where Big Tent is for Arts Festival & to the left.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,983 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Thanks.

Yep the lads in on yer bike are fairly sound. There's one in Town parks centre on Tuam Rd too, might be called Joe's. Halfords service bikes upstairs too.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Thanks.

A shot of WD40 from Mr. Price!

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭xckjoo

dinneenp wrote: »
    There is a guy opposite the cathedral, take path to where Big Tent is for Arts Festival & to the left.
    West Side Cycles? Did the owner not die a few years ago? Unless you're talking about an Mheitheal Rothar. They're great. Would show OP what to do instead of just fixing it for them.

If it's just a squeaky pedal you can't go too far wrong though! Just fire some oil in where the squeak is coming from. Not WD40 though cause it's not actually a lubricant....

xckjoo wrote: »
    West Side Cycles? Did the owner not die a few years ago? Unless you're talking about an Mheitheal Rothar. They're great. Would show OP what to do instead of just fixing it for them.

If it's just a squeaky pedal you can't go too far wrong though! Just fire some oil in where the squeak is coming from. Not WD40 though cause it's not actually a lubricant....

Yes it is a lubricant, you just need to get the correct one

See Here: Also available from Mr. Price.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Yes it is a lubricant, you just need to get the correct one

See Here: Also available from Mr. Price.

This is what most people think of when they say WD40. I see it does say that it lubricates in the description, but in reality it's best used for displacing water. A standard lubricating oil is a better choice than the regular WD40. Dunno about their other types as I tend to avoid the brand by default. Not sure how a gel would help penetrate though.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,086 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

I was advised to use grease rather than oil??

xckjoo wrote: »
    This is what most people think of when they say WD40. I see it does say that it lubricates in the description, but in reality it's best used for displacing water. A standard lubricating oil is a better choice than the regular WD40. Dunno about their other types as I tend to avoid the brand by default. Not sure how a gel would help penetrate though.

Just because you appear to dislike the product by default and your were certainly ill-informed as to the range the product offers doesn't change the fact that WD40 is a lubricant.

But, fair play to you for knowing what "most people think" the product is :D

Just because you appear to dislike the product by default and your were certainly ill-informed as to the range the product offers doesn't change the fact that WD40 is a lubricant.

But, fair play to you for knowing what "most people think" the product is
    Christ. People really can't let things go these days can they (I say aware of the irony I'm now about to go on about something I should just ignore ).
    The product doesn't offer a range, the company does. WD40 is the name of the oil and the parent company. Just because they now offer other products under the WD40 name doesn't change the fact that it's been used as a product name since 1950's (the company name changed to match the product name) and is the trademark name of their specific formula. So yes I feel confident in saying that this is what most people think of when they say WD40. Since you said "A shot of WD40", it would sound to most people that you were referring to the original WD40 product and not one of the other more specialist products. And since you're all about being pedantic, why not recommend the bike specific WD40 when you said you had to get the right one?

WD40 the oil is not recommended for bikes as it doesn't last and is light in lubricating properties. It's fine for a squeaky pedal and I'm guilty of using it for other things in a pinch, but since the OP will probably then use it for everything once they buy it, they might as well get something more appropriate.
    If they already have some at home they might as well just use it, but if they're buying something then buy the appropriate product. That's all I wanted to point out.
    I was advised to use grease rather than oil??
    Are you talking about the pedal itself squeaking when you cycle or is it something else? If it's the former then you're overthinking it (and I'm over explaining it ). You just need a bit of lubricant in there to stop the metal-against-metal friction. I would think a grease would be harder to get into where it needs to be. If you've any oil at home (even WD40), just spray or drop a bit into the squeaky joint on the pedal and rotate a bit to spread it. Should clear it up straight away. The only reason I was advising against WD40 is because there's better products to buy if you're spending money.
    I'd imagine the reason someone told you to go with grease is that it'll adhere better and probably won't need reapplying. Messier to work with though so I'd personally just go with the oil and see if that lasts.

If you're still not sure and want to find out what to do, I'd say go to the Meitheal Rothair crowd and they'll step you through it. They'll give you advise on what to use and why too. Or any bike shop will probably do it while you wait.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Moved out from "Looking for" which is a short Q and A thread

• Registered Users Posts: 13,086 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Thanks for all advice.

If I cycle, and don't pedal, there isn't any sound/noise.

It only occurs as I pedal.

I have isolated it to the left / non-drive side.

Now, the pedals fold. As I fold and unfold the pedals, no sound.

To me, it sounds like where the pedal fits into the crank (is crank the correct word?).

And it's louder than a minor squeak.

Maybe squeak is the wrong word.

I know of Rothar, the co-op in Earls Island.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,190 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Have had mixed results with Halfords. When told my bike would be ready about the 'middle of next week' i brought it too yer man opposite Dunnes Westside. Collected it same day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Notch000

hi
    its most like the crank or the bottom bracket, the crank is the bit of metal that connects the pedal to the bike, and the bracket is the main bottom bearing between the padals. I had same issue and brought it into west of Ireland cycling down domninck street and they fixed up cheap as chips

• Registered Users Posts: 4,551 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

+1 for the bottom bracket, especially if it's a press fit bracket. Pedals don't generally tend to squeak.