Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting pulled over for passing out a line of cars

• 24-10-2019 7:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭

Is there anything illegal about passing out I say 3 car plus garda car and tractor on broken white line with notthing coming towards me .garda was saying I could be done for dangerous driving (But he won't just count yourself lucky he said) have it on dash cam just incast I need it to defend myself .What do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

It depends on the circumstances, speed, conditions etc. but seeing as it’s nit going anywhere then what does it really matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

5 vehicles at the once on a single carriageway is probably a bit cheeky in fairness, even if it went ok. Agree with the above though, it's all about circumstance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭kirving

Great that you have a dashcam video of it, only way to protect yourself if indeed it was a safe manoeuvre.

Back it up ASAP to your PC and cloud storage.

You could also send a private link to people here if you wanted an impartial opinion (not legal advice) on whether to fight it or to plead your case to the gard for a lower charge.

In either case, a solicitor would be a good idea if facing a Dangerous Driving charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭mikeecho

All depends on how much clear view you had of the road ahead.
    Was there any junctions
    Any entry/exits from properties
    Weather conditions

... All depends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,927 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

When I was younger (much younger), I overtook 14 vehicles in one go in my Citroen ax gt. It was on the glenshane pass heading home from Derry. I never went over 60mph and completed the move safely with my indicator on constantly. I looked in the mirror a couple of times after and not a single car overtook the lead car who was travelling about 35mph.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭NewRed2

As someone else mentioned, save that dashcam footage to your laptop immediately.

But aside from that I'd just move on. If he said you're lucky and nothing more to follow then I'd suggest you take him at his word and move on but defninitely cover yourself by saving the footage and also write down every word you both said just to play safe.

Hopefully you'll never need either but cover yourself.

I've passed speed cameras at borderline and spent weeks of my life fretting but nothing happened and its just wasted time worrying/anxiety.

So save the footage and write down the verbal exchange and after that forget about it.

In fairness he sounds like he just wanted to warn you. If it was a continuous line he'd have taken a dofferent tone and you'd know you were done but thats not the case here.

FWIW I'm not the most gifted driver and not lecturing but I'd never overtake more than two at a time and even then I'd be worried. If one of the cars you're overtaking suddenly decides to overtake the one in front without indicating you're left out there in no mans land. See it happen a good bit.

Good luck anyway, i'd say yer grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭mycro2013

He could have done you for driving with out due care or attention. As number of serious and fatal accidents have occurred as a result of motorists passing out large lines of cars. As the lead car or another car may be slowing down to turn right, into a another entrance or junction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Perfectly safe to overtake 20+ cars along as you can clearly see the road in front and do not cause any other driver to alter their course.

veetwin wrote: »
    Perfectly safe to overtake 20+ cars along as you can clearly see the road in front and do not cause any other driver to alter their course.

Are these parked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Great that you have a dashcam video of it, only way to protect yourself if indeed it was a safe manoeuvre.

Back it up ASAP to your PC and cloud storage.

You could also send a private link to people here if you wanted an impartial opinion (not legal advice) on whether to fight it or to plead your case to the gard for a lower charge.

In either case, a solicitor would be a good idea if facing a Dangerous Driving charge.

From reading the OP's post he more or less stated that the Guard is not going to proceed with this....just that the OP should 'count himself lucky'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

do NOT put a link up here unless you want to end up in a wicker man ...

mycro2013 wrote: »
    He could have done you for driving with out due care or attention. As number of serious accidents and fatal accidents have occurred as a result of motorists passing out large lines of cars. As the lead car or another car may be slowing down to turn right, into a number entrance or junction.

At which point he would most likely have said "I'm penalising you for driving without due care etc".
    But he didn't.

Why put the wind up the OP when there's no need to?

When people start threads like this it's (usually) because they want to know where they stand.

Do you actually think the Guard told him he was lucky NOT to be done for dangerous driving and then wrote him up for careless driving anyway without telling him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭kirving

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    From reading the OP's post he more or less stated that the Guard is not going to proceed with this....just that the OP should 'count himself lucky'

I've seen a Gard say that to two different people in the past. One was a cyclist that ended in a court appearance, and the other was about expired tax that ended in a fine.

They don't want the confrontation at the roadside.

Not trying to scare the OP, just be prepared is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Sharp MZ700

NewRed2 wrote: »
    Do you actually think the Guard told him he was lucky NOT to be done for dangerous driving and then wrote him up for careless driving anyway without telling him?

Very easily. They don't want confrontation on the side of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

At which point he would most likely have said "I'm penalising you for driving without due care etc".
    But he didn't.

When people start threads like this it's (usually) because they want to know where they stand.

It's called a warning and it should be heeded. How much time are you actually saving by that? You work your way up the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Needles73

mfceiling wrote: »
    When I was younger (much younger), I overtook 14 vehicles in one go in my Citroen ax gt. It was on the glenshane pass heading home from Derry. I never went over 60mph and completed the move safely with my indicator on constantly. I looked in the mirror a couple of times after and not a single car overtook the lead car who was travelling about 35mph.

Was the lead car a black estate with a wooden box in the back ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

I've seen a Gard say that to two different people in the past. One was a cyclist that ended in a court appearance, and the other was about expired tax that ended in a fine.

They don't want the confrontation at the roadside.

Not trying to scare the OP, just be prepared is all.

(a) Was this the same guard you saw twice ?

(b) BS. They love it. That's why he pulled the OP over in the first place....to give him a bollocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Are these parked.

No, I meant moving cars, on a road with a broken white line. As a previous poster alluded to it is perfectly normal to come accross a long line of traffic dawdling at 50kph in a 100kph limit area

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

It happens on my road all the time when looking to filter right 200 metres ahead. I dont do it, becuase I dont want to be caught short driving on the wrong side of the road with a bus coming towards me. An overtake is only meant to be 1 vehicle at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

Whocare wrote: »
    Is there anything illegal about passing out I say 3 car plus garda car and tractor on broken white line with notthing coming towards me .garda was saying I could be done for dangerous driving (But he won't just count yourself lucky he said) have it on dash cam just incast I need it to defend myself .What do you think?

How far along from the overtaken vehicles were you when he pulled you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

5 vehicles at the once on a single carriageway is probably a bit cheeky in fairness, even if it went ok. Agree with the above though, it's all about circumstance.

I passed at least 20 before on a 3 mile straight....

There was nothing coming the other way at all....

Funny thing is I had followers like a train... The speed limit was 60mph, the cars were doing 38 to 45 mph.... They wouldn't pass so I did....

Obviously I read the road and only kept going as there were safe gaps to get into...

In fairness he sounds like he just wanted to warn you.

is_that_so wrote: »
    It's called a warning and it should be heeded.

Said as much already. Not sure why you quoted me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

I’ve done that a few times myself on the same road! Maybe not 14 in one go but there are a few stretches along it where you can clear a lot of slow moving traffic.

But he didn't.

I don't want to put the wind up the original poster, just wanted to inform them of what has happened in similar situations. He got a warning, take heed of it and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,428 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Was the lead car an estate with a high roof? Black? Big wooden box in the back?

These single lane roads should be in the history books over 20 years ago but the usual ah sure a road is a road mentality....

Only now in the last few years are we getting much needed safer roads.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Was the lead car a really long black car with loads of windows and what looked like a box in the back????

You passed out a funeral :pac::pac::pac:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

endacl wrote: »

Exactly what I was thinking :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Sharp MZ700

endacl wrote: »

Its ok if he blesses himself passing out said hearse.

It was up by Derry, blessing yourself could be far more dangerous than driving up there :pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭9935452

I don't want to put the wind up the original poster, just wanted to inform them of what has happened in similar situations. He got a warning, take heed of it and move on.

To be fair. I've heard a good few similar stories. Stopped by guards for whatever. Told by said guard they were letting them off with a warning only to get a fine or summons in the post.
    That said I've seen it work the other way around. Being told you are being done only for nothing to happen

A full on plick stopped me back in the day in dundrum... I was on my brand spanking new 50cc NRG moped...

Smashing yoke to go...

I filtered up to the top to turn right.

Next minute horn full on.... Hey you you **** pull over as soon as you turn or I'll knock you off.

I'm just turned 17 ****tnh myself...

He goes over the whole bike, insurance, licence etc....

Oh. Boy I could do you right now etc... He wasn't far off retirement and obviously training in the 2 other young fellas.

Oh I forgot to add he handbrake turned into the junction in front of me...

What an absolute a hole and luckily all that I can across were not like that only for Cunningham out of pierse at Garda station...

He done me for dangerous driving and in fact I wasn't even moving....

I have all documents and evidence in fact....

It's like the us some are great but yet we do have corruption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Passed out??????

I've passed out many times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

I've passed out many times

Me too, after a feed of pints...

Oh.... Sorry .... I thought you meant veahicles

veetwin wrote: »
    As a previous poster alluded to it is perfectly normal to come accross a long line of traffic dawdling at 50kph in a 100kph limit area

It might happen regularly alright, but its far from normal.