Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone into car vlogging and editing?

• 15-10-2019 8:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭

Hey all,
    Just wondering anyone into car vlogging and edits youtube vids, also what car channels do you watch thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Not a creator of content but enjoy the following:

For top work in front and behind the camera: Whitedetails, Savage Geese

For entertainment: Hoovies Garage, Car Wizard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    ^
    Harry's garage is my personal favourite motoring blog. Car Throttle is fine in small doses. I cant stand that Doug clown

Doug has a fetish for cup holders.

He’s a total muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

Ya, you gotta be in the mood for Doug, but I love how he goes through all the weird interior quirks and hes gotten some amazing cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭SupraSonic26

I mostly watch b is for build, throttle, dde, ect theres a few. Anyone into car vlogging or editing on here?

Coldwarmotors for some quality sh1tw0rk and to see a real handy individual at work if you're interested in old iron worked on tight budget.

Garage54 for some gems but mainly annoying.

Used to watch roadkill but they went to a closed platform (However the motortrend app has lots to watch for about 50 quid a year). There early Roadkill episodes are still on youtube and quality.

Bjorn Nyland for anything EV.

Hubnut if you like wipers and nitty gritty on average cars especially British. He really does his homework on cars he drives so definitely if you feel particularly geeky.

LegitStreetCars and how could I forget Hoovies Garage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Big fan of Mighty Car Mods, love seeing their builds and their trips to Japan.

Benny's Custom Works is worth checking out if you like MCM stuff, he's in a lot of their videos and is currently doing Drag Week with the Cresta.

Deutsch Auto Parts if you like Golfs/VAG stuff, some DIY and a bit of arsing around doing builds like MCM.

Doug Demuro/More Doug - I find quirks and features interesting, although I feel he's focusing less on the driving part of it these days which is a shame. I wouldn't say he's a muppet though, it's just not for everyone.

Ammo NYC for the thorough and in depth detailing lessons and features.

Stauffer's Garage if you're interested in seeing cars being detailed. Car Cleaning Guru is less active these days but does the same.

Superspeeders Rob is sort of a vlogger, interested to hear is rental scam stories and seeing his crashed car updates.

Autogefühl for thorough in depth reviews of new cars. If you're not into Doug's quirks but still want details of cupholders and infotainment then this is worth checking out. They have a spin off channel for shorter versions of their reviews.

Jay Leno's Garage, more focused on the history of the car and manufacturer and any restorations, along with a good driving segment.

Nobby on Cars, Irish reviews of new cars. Nice to see Irish spec cars and if you're stuck for time they aren't too long.

Craig Lieberman if you're interested in the Fast and Furious, he was one of the main guys involved in getting cars for the series and has a lot of behind the scenes videos on each car.

Saabkyle has some interesting Pontiac builds going on I think, he also does reviews of various cars in the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Plus 1 on Harry Metcalfe.

Another interesting one if you're into E-Types is Richard Michael Owen Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

JayZeus wrote: »
    Doug has a fetish for cup holders.

He’s a total muppet.

I used to like his videos where he gave updates on his own fleet of cars, and the troubles and issues he was having with them. Like his Viper & Aston Martin. Since he stopped this I find his "quirks and features" videos a bit repetitive.

Hoovies Garage has filled this gap for me.

I would also give a recommendation to 'Seen through glass'. For a one man show he puts out some great content - once you get used to the posh accent. He is doing a round the word trip since the start of this year. The content has been top notch.

Car Throttle is also great. They are doing a lot of challenges lately. Buy a luxury car for a grand ect. Really enjoying it. Plus they have some series that ran, 'Living with a rotary' was good. They bought a clapped out RX8 and did an engine rebuild on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭krissovo

+1 for Hoovies Garage - A lovable idiot who attracts complete lemons of cars and his side kick car wizard are a good entertaining combination.

Big Car - Found this a couple of weeks ago, really informative histories of cars that is quite addictive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

My current favourites are

Big Car - great in depth videos on iconic cars
    Deboss Garage - engine swaps, body swaps, very talented
    Arthur Tussick - ropey but brilliant crash repairs
    Bad Obsession Motorsport - the legendary project Binky
    Vin Wiki - some very interesting motoring tales
    Thames TV often have great vintage tv programming too.

Used to watch a bit of Tacarish and Auto auction rebuilds etc but they’re all gone a bit silly since they got a few quid. I’d watch the odd Hoovies Garage alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,182 ✭✭✭✭listermint

If your into car restoration and videos being put together fantastically then you have to watch Soup Classic motoring on YouTube.

Irish guy currently restoring a lotus. Previously restored a range rover. Thought himself welding.

The range rover video editing is particularly good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

krissovo wrote: »
    Big Car - Found this a couple of weeks ago, really informative histories of cars that is quite addictive.

From what I've seen he's basically just reading out Wikipedia articles (including known errors) and other information readily available online. And his attempts at humour are embarrassing - I saw one where he used a hand puppet, it was all pretty lame...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

listermint wrote: »
    If your into car restoration and videos being put together fantastically then you have to watch Soup Classic motoring on YouTube.

Irish guy currently restoring a lotus. Previously restored a range rover. Thought himself welding.

The range rover video editing is particularly good.
    +1000 on Soup. Fantastic content. I'm shocked he doesn't have many more subs.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

I've gotten into two over the last few months, Vice Grip Garage and Fuzzy Dice Projects.

They are both American with slightly irritating voices but when you look past that they are excellent channels.

Fuzzy Dice does really informative builds on some older cars on really small budgets, it's more focused around mechanical stuff and getting cars going than the tedious vanity that a lot of youtubers are caught up in. It seems to be very about what's cheap and what works.

Vice Grip is into pulling cars out of ditches that have been lying there for decades and getting them back up and running on the spot. Pump the tyres, fit a new battery fresh fuel and oil, will it start after 30 years lying up.

Both are done with a fairly dry sense of humour which I really enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

Harry's garage is great. A real mixed bag of cars and good insite. Project binky is good fun too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭nanook5

https://www.youtube.com/user/juiceboxforyoudotcom

Irish Vlogs from lads down in Waterford.