Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clampers

• 06-10-2019 10:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭

My car was clamped tonight with 3 other cars. All of them were cut from each car obvoiulsy by someone with a grudge against the clamping company.
    I just jumped in the car and drove off. The clamp was lying on the ground beside the front tyre. The chain was snapped.
    I didn't damage the clamp in anyway so can I get into trouble for that Does anybody know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,762 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

My car was clamped tonight with 3 other cars. All of them were cut from each car obvoiulsy by someone with a grudge against the clamping company.
    I just jumped in the car and drove off. The clamp was lying on the ground beside the front tyre. The chain was snapped.
    I didn't damage the clamp in anyway so can I get into trouble for that Does anybody know?

Was it a private clamping company or a county council clamp?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭con___manx1

It was private I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,123 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Doesn't matter now as clamping is legal and legislated for. So you run the same risks cutting a private as a county council clamp.

OP they'll send you a bill for the parking and clamp damage. How you go about proving it wasn't you that cut it is going to be fun, it's a civil case so there's no assumption of innocents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭kirving

Del2005 wrote: »
    OP they'll send you a bill for the parking and clamp damage. How you go about proving it wasn't you that cut it is going to be fun, it's a civil case so there's no assumption of innocents.

Equally though, three clamps were cut. On pure balance of probability, OP didn't do it and so it would be unfair to look for even 1/3 of the cost from him. Not sure if a court would look at it that way.

Would be in the OP's interest to get hold of any CCTV in the area if the owner was happy to share it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭redcup342

OP they'll send you a bill for the parking and clamp damage.  How you go about proving it wasn't you that cut it is going to be fun, it's a civil case so there's no assumption of innocents.

Equally though, three clamps were cut. On pure balance of probability, OP didn't do it and so it would be unfair to look for even 1/3 of the cost from him. Not sure if a court would look at it that way.

Would be in the OP's interest to get hold of any CCTV in the area if the owner was happy to share it.
    GDPR, can't do that unfortunately. 
    If they were sending me letters I'd just chuck the letters in the bin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

You clearly have no experience with this.

OP, ignore this clueless scaremongering and enjoy the feeling of knowing you got the better of the clampers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,304 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Burn!! Clampers Burn!

Can't wait for these hoors to go bankrupt. Hopefully though they will squirm for a while first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

Doesn't matter now as clamping is legal and legislated for. So you run the same risks cutting a private as a county council clamp.

Even in private property ?

How long ago did they change the legislation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Burn!! Clampers Burn!

Can't wait for these hoors to go bankrupt. Hopefully though they will squirm for a while first

Be much easier if people just obeyed the rules when using other people property.

Car park owners should be able to have mechanisms and the law behind them to enforce the rules on their property.

Look at the poor parking thread, a long list of ***** taking the piss in car parks and the like. Absolutely no defense for the crap they pull. Plenty should have their cars cubed, nevemind clamped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,490 ✭✭✭✭josip

Wouldn't the clampers still have to prove the OP was guilty of cutting the clamps rather than the OP having to prove he was innocent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭Juwwi

How will the clampers get his address to send the bill ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭Allinall

Juwwi wrote: »
    How will the clampers get his address to send the bill ?

Same way that toll companies, Go Safe people, parking wardens etc. do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

josip wrote: »
    Wouldn't the clampers still have to prove the OP was guilty of cutting the clamps rather than the OP having to prove he was innocent?

They will. However the burden of proof will only be on the balance of probabilities rather than beyond reasonable doubt.

Three clamps cut makes it a lot more interesting than if it was just the OP's clamp cut. It means the clampers have a choice between attempting to prove the OP, or one of the others, cut all three clamps for the craic; or that each of the three independently did it; or that they acted in concert. All scenarios seem a bit too far fetched to prove without more evidence. I'd guess that the clampers will come on tough to all three and see who cracks.

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    I'd guess that the clampers will come on tough to all three and see who cracks.

Ah here - is this a piss-take? The three newly-liberated drivers won't hear a thing from the clampers. Some clueless people here are really out to scare the OP - have you nothing better to do? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,007 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Onus on them to prove the op did it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,429 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Drive on, OP, drive on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

Congrats op. Make sure you do the euro millions tomorrow !!!
    Pay no heed to folk saying stuff like the clamping company will go heavy to see who will crack first !! Hahaha. Must have Clint Eastwood movies on a loop ffs.

Pm me with a few quid when you win tomorrow. Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Im the op. I found out today in the local barbers that some sinn fein vigilantes are cutting them off every night down where my car was clamped.
    My dad seen a load of chain links on the ground last week aswell he told me in the same car park. I'm not gonna pay. I didn't cut it off. I'm pretty sure there is cctv so I'll just say have a look at it if there are any issues.

Even in private property ?

How long ago did they change the legislation

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2015/act/13/enacted/en/html

ted1 wrote: »
    Onus on them to prove the op did it

Not in a civil case. Civil cases are done on the balance of probabilities and the probability of someone who's being clamped cutting off the clamp are fairly high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,398 ✭✭✭markpb

Allinall wrote: »
    Same way that toll companies, Go Safe people, parking wardens etc. do.

eFlow operate the M50 under contract with TII. GoSafe operate under contract with AFS. Parking wardens either work directly for the councils or under contract with the councils. Anyone else who wants to get an address for a vehicle owner would need to go to court to get it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 343 ✭✭Wtf ?

I hate them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

I wish these Sinn Fein lads were in Arklow a few weeks ago when I got clamped in the ALDI car park at 10:30 at night.

They’re nothing but scum.

You’d think a town that’s dying on its feet in the way Arklow is would encourage people into the town. Instead they clamp you for parking in an empty car park outside a closed shop.

I’ll never go to Bridgewater again.

You’ve had a lucky break OP. Go spend that €120 on something nice for yourself !!

I wish these Sinn Fein lads were in Arklow a few weeks ago when I got clamped in the ALDI car park at 10:30 at night.

You’d think a town that’s dying on its feet in the way Arklow is would encourage people into the town. Instead they clamp you for parking in an empty car park outside a closed shop.

I’ll never go to Bridgewater again.

You’ve had a lucky break OP. Go spend that €120 on something nice for yourself !!

What were you doing parking on private property when you had no business being there?

As has been said numerous times, it's not very hard to avoid getting clamped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

They’ll do fcuk all.

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    Ah here - is this a piss-take? The three newly-liberated drivers won't hear a thing from the clampers. Some clueless people here are really out to scare the OP - have you nothing better to do? :confused:

hawkelady wrote: »
    Pay no heed to folk saying stuff like the clamping company will go heavy to see who will crack first !! Hahaha. Must have Clint Eastwood movies on a loop ffs.

You don't think it's possible that the clampers may have threatening solicitors letters sent or report criminal damage to An Garda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,490 ✭✭✭✭josip

What were you doing parking on private property when you had no business being there?

As has been said numerous times, it's not very hard to avoid getting clamped.

I'd have a bit of sympathy for someone who gets clamped when the shop is closed than when the shop is open.

The intention of clamping during opening hours is to keep spaces free for customers. Perfectly understandable.
    Clamping outside of opening hours is purely revenue generation and why nobody likes them.

I'd have a bit of sympathy for someone who gets clamped when the shop is closed than when the shop is open.

The intention of clamping during opening hours is to keep spaces free for customers. Perfectly understandable.
    Clamping outside of opening hours is purely revenue generation and why nobody likes them.

It's private property.

You wouldn't park in someone's driveway just because you knew they were out.

It's private property.

You wouldn't park in someone's driveway just because you knew they were out.

A large empty car park outside a closed shop is a little different to parking in someone's drive way.

If you can't comprehend the difference, i'm not going to try and help you understand.

A large empty car park outside a closed shop is a little different to parking in someone's drive way.

If you can't comprehend the difference, i'm not going to try and help you understand.

I'll repeat, in case you missed it the first time.

it's private property.

I'll repeat, in case you missed it the first time.

it's private property.

I heard you the first 2 times.

That's the third time.

I never said it wasn't private property.

Are you done now ?

iT's pRiVaTE pRoPErTy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Xterminator

!!

there's lots of on street parking in that lane past the car park, without having to park in bridgewater car part, and on other side of field there is plenty of parking places beside leisure centre/swimming pool.

Its a choice you made there, wasn't due to lack of spaces.

there's lots of on street parking in that lane past the car park, without having to park in bridgewater car part, and on other side of field there is plenty of parking places beside leisure centre/swimming pool.

Doesn't matter to me as i'll never be back.. There are plenty of other options closer to me where I know I won't get clamped.

Arklow was out of my way and so i'll just avoid the place all together in future.

I never said it wasn't my choice and and I never said it was due to lack of spaces.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Emmersonn

Be much easier if people just obeyed the rules when using other people property.

Car park owners should be able to have mechanisms and the law behind them to enforce the rules on their property.

Look at the poor parking thread, a long list of ***** taking the piss in car parks and the like. Absolutely no defense for the crap they pull. Plenty should have their cars cubed, nevemind clamped.
    You are ok. Horses never get clamped :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Lambegraham

Anyone know if the clamping fairy’s still around? Got clamped and have no money to pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Emmersonn wrote: »
    You are ok. Horses never get clamped :D

Dont have to be on a high horse to not get clamped, just dont be a dick.

If you dont want to follow other peoples rules when on their property, the answer is simple, park somewhere else. It's not difficult. Though simple minded people that see a kerb and think thats a good place to park seem to struggle.

Who cares if it's revenue generation and the only people who don't like clampers are people who park inconsiderately. If they want to clamp on their property they are now allowed. If you don't want to get clamped on their property don't park there.

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    You don't think it's possible that the clampers may have threatening solicitors letters sent or report criminal damage to An Garda?

It doesn't happen - I'm speaking from experience. How many clamps have you cut off this year?

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    It doesn't happen - I'm speaking from experience. How many clamps have you cut off this year?

Lol, fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,671 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Wouldn't the leisure centre / swimming pool also be private property, albeit that that the public have access to - just like the Bridgewater car park.