Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What happened whackers?

• 04-10-2019 9:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,513 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Growing up in Cork, scumbags/scrotes/skangers/scobies were called whackers. Somewhere along the way this word was assimilated by the word knacker which had a very different meaning.
    Whackers began to be called knackers.

So what happened the word whacker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Back in primary school in the 80s we had lads wearing leather wacker jackets. I have no idea what signified it being a wacker jacket. Probably had a belt and chrome buckle and buttons. We also had wacker caps. A black watch cap or beanie. The lads who wore such attire were usually "hard men" but not what I'd call scumbags/knackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Growing up in Cork, scumbags/scrotes/skangers/scobies were called whackers. Somewhere along the way this word was assimilated by the word knacker which had a very different meaning.

Whacker, sometimes shortened to 'Whack' is a common enough nickname in Dublin for people called Patrick. Have no idea why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,199 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Back in primary school in the 80s we had lads wearing leather wacker jackets. I have no idea what signified it being a wacker jacket. Probably had a belt and chrome buckle and buttons. We also had wacker caps. A black watch cap or beanie. The lads who wore such attire were usually "hard men" but not what I'd call scumbags/knackers.

Sounds like the classic "Docker" look, as espoused by Dexy's Midnight Runners before they became obsessed with dungarees for some reason:

2735.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Put a bobble on and they’re scholars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Whacker, sometimes shortened to 'Whack' is a common enough nickname in Dublin for people called Patrick. Have no idea why.

Knick knack paddy whack!!

Give a dog a bone,
    This old man came rolling home!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

A watch cap and a reefer or pea jacket was universal wear for deck hands, originating in America. The Irish and UK equivalent was a donkey jacket with plastic shoulders and a flat cap, for dockers or Corpo working men. If you couldnt afford a genuine reefer, you could get a cheap donkey jacket and cut off the plastic and it looked very like a proper reefer. Very hard wearing but once they got wet, they got very heavy and smelled of wet dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,655 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Ah, on another thread I mixed up skanger and whacker. Whackers were cork scum.
    I'm shocked there any or left in cork ! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

Black bomber jackets in Cork remember them you were a scumbag if you wore one lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭enricoh

Still on the go, great job. Always go for one with a honda engine! Arms do be rattley after an hour of use though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Oasis1974 wrote: »
    Black bomber jackets in Cork remember them you were a scumbag if you wore one lol.

I got a purple one from army bargains.

“You’re a hooligan john!” The orange lining wasn’t too flattering either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Didn't he open a pet shop?

Whackers were the fellas who were prepared to swing the rolled-around-fist leather belt or swing the Doc Martin or working boot into your face once you were down. Quite often, the gang leader didnt do the actual kicking but stood back and watched. They were also know as "boot boys" (or, in Cork, booters) and were mostly associated with skinheads wearing Doc Martins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

Ya think Green/Black/Purple colors and the crowning glory was a hoody underneath that was the marriage there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

jimgoose wrote: »
    Sounds like the classic "Docker" look, as espoused by Dexy's Midnight Runners before they became obsessed with dungarees for some reason:

And would you have spent much time down the docks yourself, J? Maybe “after dark”?

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Once daylight faded, old-style docks were no place to be. Outsiders were not welcome and you did not go there unless you were "known". Same as certain housing estates and flat complexes. basic instinct told you to steer clear.

Knick knack paddy whack!!

Give a dog a bone,
    This old man came rolling home!!

That solves it! I've pondered on that many times. Nice one Princess! Don't know if you no the correlation between women called Margaret aquirring the nickname Peggy/Peg? You might have opened a can of worms...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,040 ✭✭✭griffin100

When I was growing up in Dublin in the 70’s and 80’s anyone called Christopher was known as Git. Could never figure out why, anyone know?

Same thing as the word to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,199 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

And would you have spent much time down the docks yourself, J? Maybe “after dark”?

No self-respecting hoor hangs around by the docks anymore, that all went out with the air-freight. As it happens I do have a trusty old watch cap, which is also standard issue among oil-boiler GSX-R pilots and fellas sitting on stone walls in Wexford who've been on the dole for 18 years yet somehow know more about JCBs than the manufacturer. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

That solves it! I've pondered on that many times. Nice one Princess! Don't know if you no the correlation between women called Margaret aquirring the nickname Peggy/Peg? You might have opened a can of worms...

Short answer is rhyme.

Long answer: 1200's, name shortened to marg, some dialects dropped the r. To form Mag, then at. End of century vowel swaps happened.. Mag went to Meg...rhymes with Peg!

I swear I didn't Google ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Vaguely remember a guy named Whacker while growing up in Limerick city.

griffin100 wrote: »
    When I was growing up in Dublin in the 70’s and 80’s anyone called Christopher was known as Git. Could never figure out why, anyone know?

I can throw something into the ring here. Both my grandfather's were Christopher's, and both were nicknamed Kit. I think over the decades Kit likely morphed into Git.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I remember a guy travelling rural Limerick selling groceries from a van to people in isolated spots.

The local yokels would refer to him as the Whacker. I don't think it was meant to be derogatory in any way, but then again, I don't remember any of them saying it to his face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Whacker's back in Inchicore, he's living with his Ma.