Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

According to Leo

• 02-10-2019 7:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭

Ireland is a very safe country.

That’s why the last 3 nights in our estate. 5 cars broken into, 3 attempted house robberies. Gang clearly targeting our area on mopeds, families living in fear at night that some toerag is going to break in, people sleeping with hammers in their bedrooms. Gardaí no where to be seen...

But you know what? We live in a very safe country...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Hal3000 wrote: »

That’s why the last 3 nights in our estate. 5 cars broken into, 3 attempted house robberies. Gang clearly targeting our area on mopeds, families living in fear at night that some toerag is going to break in, people sleeping with hammers in their bedrooms. Gardaí no where to be seen...

You should consider moving away from central Naples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Hal3000

https://jrnl.ie/4833943

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

We do, but you live in a very bad estate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

He wasn't talking about your street.

There hasn't been a crime around here in years. So we're balance out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 426 ✭✭MrAbyss

Ireland is an incredibly safe country. I am often amazed how so many people here think it isn't.

The Sunday World is not a reliable source for data. Yet so many people here think it is.

We do, but you live in a very bad estate.

It’s a very respectable estate actually. Anyone who thinks Ireland is safe is having a laugh. Ask anyone in Dublin North on the recent burglary sprees or elderly living rural Ireland if they feel safe ?

MrAbyss wrote: »
    Ireland is an incredibly safe country. I am often amazed how so many people here think it isn't.

The Sunday World is not a reliable source for data. Yet so many people here think it is.

Sorry this is from actually residents in our estate who are experience crime not from a sensationalist rag dedicated to gangland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭NSAman

It’s a very respectable estate actually. Anyone who thinks Ireland is safe is having a laugh. Ask anyone in Dublin North on the recent burglary sprees ?

See man, DER is da problem loike. Yer livin’ On da Nort Soide in a scummy estate.

It’s a very respectable estate actually. Anyone who thinks Ireland is safe is having a laugh. Ask anyone in Dublin North on the recent burglary sprees or elderly living rural Ireland if they feel safe ?

Elderly rural Ireland here.....we feel very safe thank you. This country is very safe. I've been to many countries in all continents and you'll not find many safer than right here. So, don't use us rural elder people in your argument, the majority of us feel quite safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

I'd be surprised if the area I'm from isn't considered amongst the lowest crime rate in the country, so yes we live in a safe country where the majority of people go about their lives unmolested and free from crime, some people just live in bad areas with scumbag neighbours, its up to you to do something about it OP, either move or you could set up a neighbourhood committee to liaise with local gardai

Elderly rural Ireland here.....we feel very safe thank you. This country is very safe. I've been to many countries in all continents and you'll not find many safer than right here. So, don't use us rural elder people in your argument, the majority of us feel quite safe.

Ha ! Good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Somedaythefire

Anecdotal evidence is useless. North inner city Dublin here. The country is very safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Don't know anyone in Diblin north, but people I know in rural Ireland do feel safe, including elderly relatives and neighbours. I don't buy the notion we often see on boards that people in the countryside is constantly living in fear.

Seriously though, if you're having a crime spree in your estate and the Gardai arent helping much, have you considered going to your local public representatives?

Ha ! Good one.

Not sure what you mean. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Apart from parts of Dublin, which is a complete cesspit in my view, Ireland is one of the safest countries in the world. Anyone who would say otherwise I think might just be incredibly unworldly and sheltered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Actually he's right. While local crime can be an issue in some places, overall the country is very safe. Our crime rate is relatively low for the population, low murder rate and virtually no real chance of terrorism.

Don't know anyone in Diblin north, but people I know in rural Ireland do feel safe, including elderly relatives and neighbours. I don't buy the notion we often see on boards that people in the countryside is constantly living in fear.

Seriously though, if you're having a crime spree in your estate and the Gardai arent helping much, have you considered going to your local public representatives?

Yes. It’s a joke. They’ve been coming in and out in mopeds. One lot came at 10pm checking car doors and taking anything that wasn’t nailed down. This hasn’t happened ever here before but the last few months have been awful for people here. I haven’t seen the Gardaí ever come its been reported by loads of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Dublin is a feral ****hole, so doesn't paint a fair picture of the country as a whole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Yes. It’s a joke. They’ve been coming in and out in mopeds. One lot came at 10pm checking car doors and taking anything that wasn’t nailed down. This hasn’t happened ever here before but the last few months have been awful for people here. I haven’t seen the Gardaí ever come its been reported by loads of people.
    You should send a few rockers in to sort them Mods out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Ireland has definitely a lower crime percentage than other countries. However what I find with Ireland is the complete randomness of crimes that other countries don't have. I live in one of the poorest neighbourhoods in western europe and there is a lot of crime, however you'd have to be involved in that world of drugs and acting the maggot for something to happen to you. In Ireland I know loads of cases of lads walking home from the pub or standing outside one and getting stabbed or beaten to within an inch of their life for no reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

Not sure what you mean. :confused:

I think he means that his anecdotal evidence trumps your experience.

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    Apart from parts of Dublin, which is a complete cesspit in my view, Ireland is one of the safest countries in the world. Anyone who would say otherwise I think might just be incredibly unworldly and sheltered.

Spoken like a unworldly and sheltered bogger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Ireland is a safe country in the grand scheme of things. Do we over egg of safe it is?? Definitely yes. Would not believe any stats that come out of the public service.

Dublin is a feral ****hole, so doesn't paint a fair picture of the country as a whole.

No ****holes like Tipperary Town do.

That's the real Ireland. Human misery, mediocrity and GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,576 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Fitzgibbon Street garda station is operational, just the public counter isn't open.

Mountjoy garda station is 900 metres away and Store Street garda station is 1.3 km away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

You know it's all relative, yeah? Statistically Ireland is one of the safest countries in the world. But that doesn't mean the country is crime free. Compared to anywhere outside of Western Europe (and even a lot of countries within), we're doing pretty great. Compared to Iceland where there's f*ck all people and they're all related anyway, we could do better.