Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Poll: Your Preferred Liveline Presenter

• 01-10-2019 01:52AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭

Hope this is OK with the mods - but if not feel free to move it or expunge it!

Given that Liveline is the biggest thread on here just thought it would be interesting to see who is the callers preferred presenter of the 4 regular presenters (yes I am including Joe Duffy in this).

Preferred Liveline Presenter 38 votes

Joe Duffy
    0%
    Philip Boucher Hayes
    50%
    Ger RoeiggyapplehunterploddersuperdogflazioHomer2smiggyYoghurt87john kinsellasurferdudztgdalyCareful_now!iHungryHector SavagekhalessiHomelandergeneralgerrybillsorbolk 19 votes
    Katie Hannon
    31%
    ghostdancerfryupBodhran[Deleted User]ratoath25stop animal crueltyCELBRIDGE HOOPNokia6230iELM327flos1964[Deleted User][Deleted User] 12 votes
    Damian O'Reilly
    18%
    roboDayo93Conqueroriniall[Deleted User]Yer Da sells AvonMontage of Feck 7 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Conor84

My own vote is for Damian O'Reilly. I think he is a good presenter, well able to let a conversation flow and not afraid to let an argument happen. He does challenge "check" people with the questions you would have listening unlike some other presenters. He also doesn't have the same patronising attitude to callers.

Number 2 would still be Joe for me. His shows always get the most responses on the thread and you have to keep listen for the unintentional comedy and the great use of the English accent. But there are so many things that annoy me when he presents it but hey that's part of the appeal.

Katie Hannon was decent and started off well but overall seemed too quiet for the show and the material she used made her sound like Joe Duffy's mini me. I like her on other programmes though.

Not a fan at all of PBH. Seems so opinionated, frightfully important and my Lord he has some manner when dealing with the callers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

pbh ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Conor84

Philip Boucher Hayes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,573 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Marian Finucane, obviously

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Derek Davis by a mile.

Damian O'Reilly
    As a serious, professional broadcaster, Katie Hannon

As an entertainer (even an unwitting one) it has to be Joe Duffy. He is a parody of himself at this stage. And when you combine those levels of incompetence and ego with a short temper, we'll the results can be hilarious.

Damien O'Reilly is probably the ideal mix of being able to provide entertainment and be professional.

I still went for Katie Hannon because she's the most professional. At the end of the day, Liveline is mostly intended to be a serious programme and I think KH is the most respectful, and someone you'd rely on not to manipulate a caller for entertainment. Fair and balanced, basically, like a public broadcaster should be.

Don't rate PBH whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Abel Ruiz

How about an option of 'other'.

Katie will get it though when big joey gets ill or retires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,053 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Philip Boucher Hayes
    has to be Joe for entertainment alone.

Katie Hannon
    Ah Phil, the poor sod. I voted for him. Philistines and muppets the lot of ye. That said, I'm treating this thread as between an AH and Ranting & Raving Thread

Damian O'Reilly
    Ah Phil, the poor sod. I voted for him. Philistines and muppets the lot of ye. That said, I'm treating this thread as between an AH and Ranting & Raving Thread
    Blast PBH with piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Expunge

Can the late "Aym the Finest" Derek Davis not be included?
    I know he's not available anymore but he was still better of any of those by a country mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭robo

Damian O'Reilly
    Expunge wrote: »
    Can the late "Aym the Finest" Derek Davis not be included?
    I know he's not available anymore but he was still better of any of those by a country mile.

There is a blast from the past, one of the nicest presenters of Liveline - he was always so cheerful...until some poor crator had a very sad story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Philip Boucher Hayes
    robo wrote: »
    There is a blast from the past, one of the nicest presenters of Liveline - he was always so cheerful...until some poor crator had a very sad story

He was good allright, I remember he'd be in the chair for some summers while Joe would be on his holliers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭plodder

Philip Boucher Hayes
    No show like a Joe show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,227 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

plodder wrote: »
    No show like a Joe show!

Most of Joe's shows seem to be no-shows at this stage.

Where's the option "Anyone but Joe"?

Damian O'Reilly
    How can 1 in 5 Radio users have sworn allegiance to PBH?!

Ye are taking the piss! He can't be more popular than D'omen, surely?

(PBH has voted 7 times in this poll)