Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do any *good* tents get left behind at festivals?

• 25-09-2019 9:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,313 ✭✭✭

Most revellers probably get a chape popup yoke but I could imagine in England there would be a few toffs who'd buy a £300 Vango and be too hungover to take it back with them.
    I met a lad one time who got a 6 man tent at a festival that was perfect but it had some humorous slogan written on the side by the previous owner, but these are no good too me as they blow over too easily.I could never justify spending a few 100 whole quids to get into a festival and several more quids on pints in plastic cups but if it were to keep me stocked up on tents for the rest o the year i'd be game.

What's the poshest tent you've seen abandoned at a festival?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,172 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Based on the stories from scout groups picking over them to see if theres anything worth taking for their own use or for charity use - yes; but very very very few of them. The effort in finding the one or two that are both decent and not damaged by being put up by a drunk monkey (or fallen on by someone very heavy, breaking poles) is probably not worth it.

I left a €30 Millets 2-man one at a festival once but even my current really awful Halfords 6-man is worth taking down and bringing home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,313 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

L1011 wrote: »
    Based on the stories from scout groups picking over them to see if theres anything worth taking for their own use or for charity use - yes; but very very very few of them. The effort in finding the one or two that are both decent and not damaged by being put up by a drunk monkey (or fallen on by someone very heavy, breaking poles) is probably not worth it.

I left a €30 Millets 2-man one at a festival once but even my current really awful Halfords 6-man is worth taking down and bringing home.

Broken poles wouldn't be the end of the world if the tent is good. If you got a few similar models you could even cannibalise a few bad ones for spares

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,172 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Broken poles wouldn't be the end of the world if the tent is good. If you got a few similar models you could even cannibalise a few bad ones for spares

That's even more effort, particularly if you're hanging yourself and are trying to do this without festival security noticing. Or so I'd imagine *walks away whistling*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I haven’t been at a festival in a good few years, but I was really shocked when I heard about the modern trend of abandoning tents. Féile, Phoenix, Glastonbury - we always brought out tents back, and from recollection the vast majority of others did too.

Well, except for one year in Féile in Thurles, where our entire tent got dragged from its pitch about 500 metres across the muddy field and left in a pile for 2 days in the rain with people walking over it and pissing on it. We left that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

We have generation disposable disposing everything after one use. Music clothes and equipment.
    This generation also spends its time blaming old people for being wasteful with the environment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

BDI wrote: »
    We have generation disposable disposing everything after one use. Music clothes and equipment.
    This generation also spends its time blaming old people for being wasteful with the environment.

Yeah considering the young people invented all the cheap disposable crap and created the current economy, didnt they?

Oh right, they didnt. Literally every large corporation is owned by someone 50+. Muppet

Mod note: Banned from posting in this thread now.

BTJ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

Yeah considering the young people invented all the cheap disposable crap and created the current economy, didnt they?

Oh right, they didnt. Literally every large corporation is owned by someone 50+. Muppet

Name calling, mature eh, bold 50 year olds selling us stuff we buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,313 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

L1011 wrote: »
    That's even more effort, particularly if you're hanging yourself and are trying to do this without festival security noticing. Or so I'd imagine *walks away whistling*

I was more thinking along the lines of scooping up as many as you can of a particular type and when you're home and in good spirts you see how many good ones you can build from your harvest, bin any parts that are too bad to use and maybe buy a few spare poles to make tents out of whats left. Repairs is a numbers game might be a nuisance to repair a particular tent but once you have a few the possibilities open up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I was more thinking along the lines of scooping up as many as you can of a particular type and when you're home and in good spirts you see how many good ones you can build from your harvest, bin any parts that are too bad to use and maybe buy a few spare poles to make tents out of whats left. Repairs is a numbers game might be a nuisance to repair a particular tent but once you have a few the possibilities open up.

Need a THUMBS UP sign for this post...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

My son in law has, with the scouts, collected tents from festivals for a few years. They sort through them, and gather any usable bits and pieces to put tents together for scout use and for charities. He says it is not worth the effort, as most tents are absolute rubbish, and very few are salvageable even with what spare parts they have collected over the years. They are torn beyond repair and poles destroyed, usually. An odd decent one turns up or they have enough from maybe three of a type to make one half decent tent but it takes quite a few people a lot of time to do it and a fair bit of storing potentially useless parts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

Get some more sleep. You seem cranky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

Like it or not many people (regardless of age, but definitely not so much the older crowd) throw away perfectly good **** purely because it's deemed yesterday's news.

Maybe take a bit better care of the iPhone and keep it a few years longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

They chose to buy it and leave it after them, the young tent dumpers are the fcuking muppets.
    Bet they're all climate action hashtags now, the gob****es.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

BDI wrote: »

Are you sure the people of this generation, who have this disposable attitude, are the same people giving out about older generations and their wasteful habbits? I highly doubt they are the same...

Mankind will find a divide in everything, sex, age, race... why do we have such a us V them mentality?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭caff

Left a large 6 man behind at ep 2011 I think it was. It had a large central porch and three double blisters. Someone had pissed in one the blister tents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

caff wrote: »
    Left a large 6 man behind at ep 2011 I think it was. It had a large central porch and three double blisters. Someone had pissed in one the blister tents.

You could have brought it back and washed it, piss isn't radioactive.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Anyone I know was always too broke to consider leaving a tent behind. When we were finally looking to get our own tent for festivals I decided I wanted to get one that was decent enough for us to use for a good while.

It's such an entitled bratty thing to do I think. If you don't want it, at least dismantle it and pack it and give it to someone who might get the use out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Neyite wrote: »
    It's such an entitled bratty thing to do I think.

A lot of festival culture is fairly entitled and bratty. I can't say I was surprised to hear this was widespread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

You'd be surprised. A mate of mine deliberately waited behind at Electric Picnic on the Monday two years ago to see what was left behind. He found a few working chairs, a 6 man tent and a marquee like tent. Last year we set up all our big tents in a circle and had the marquee in the middle. It was like a little city to ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

I think an entire thread on how the older generation were more efficient and less wasteful and more resourceful with what they had is warranted.

My own tuppence is that the younger generation (the eco warriors) are far more materialistic. Corporations know this and as a result don't build things to last, and release crap under the guise of being better every week so they'll buy it. Phones being a good example.

Does today's HD LED smart curved screen 3D live VR 100800p television really do much that a TV from 6-7 years ago couldn't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

I think an entire thread on how the older generation were more efficient and less wasteful and more resourceful with what they had is warranted.

My own tuppence is that the younger generation (the eco warriors) are far more materialistic. Corporations know this and as a result don't build things to last, and release crap under the guise of being better every week so they'll buy it. Phones being a good example.

Does today's HD LED smart curved screen 3D live VR 100800p television really do much that a TV from 6-7 years ago couldn't?

I'm seeing way more older people going around with brand new iphones then people in their twenties. Not seeing many young people walking around with those disgusting Louis Vuitton shopping bags that cost a couple of grand.

You can't divide people by age, its a complete nonsense there are brats and entitled people in all generations. Young and old.

There were not as cheap tents around twenty years ago, they were a hundred quid so you had to look after it until the next one. They now sell cheap, crap tents so people throw them away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,925 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Any tent is too posh for somebody who uses the word "quids".

Plastic bag caught on a thorn bush is about their level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Odelay

Wasn’t there a thing at the old Witness or Qxygen festivals where people were asked one year to leave their tents behind if they didn’t want them and that a charity could collect them for refugees somewhere?
    I think that was the start of it, but the charity figured out it was not such a good idea, but people kept leaving tents behind the next year thinking the easy was out was also helping someone.

Having just upgraded my main tv from 6/7 years ago to a new one the answer is yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

mod note: Always tired, don't post in this thread again.

Buford T. Justice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,684 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

There was a “rumour” going around Electric Picnic that the scouts would be going around taking down the tents left behind and sending them off to the needy in Africa and in refugee camps across the world.

Obviously, none of this was true but people believed it so felt no “guilt” leaving their tents behind. This was years ago now but I know people who still believed it the year after.

Wouldn’t be a bad idea for the festival “organisers” to have a tent dumping area when leaving. For a lot of people the thought of bringing home a well worn €10 tent from Dunnes is too much.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis