Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hard Brexit - Buy your car now

• 22-08-2019 9:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭

With all the posturing, if we have a hard Brexit it looks like we won’t have any U.K. Imports - as we would have to pay import duty, Vat (on U.K vat) along with VRT

Are Irish franchise dealers preparing themselves to deliver 100,000 extra cars next year to meet the current volume coming from the U.K.? With no UK market to compete with I can see franchise garages becoming big gold mines than they are already where a shortage of cars could see prices of used cars rise dramatically- and that’s before the 2020 VRT rules kick in

Will we end up seeing Newsed Cars coming in boatloads from Japan again I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You’re assuming people will have the money to buy cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

I'm grand with my 07 thanks - sure she only passed the NCT last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,639 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Sterling will tank so even with the WTO taxes it may still be cheaper to buy in the UK than from robbing $tealers over here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Dia_Anseo

There is a recession on it's way.

We will all need to be very frugal with out spending. Inexpensive no frills commodities will be in demand due to their low price point and simplicity.

Cars like the Sandero Access witn no radio , wind up windows front and rear and manual adjustment mirrors will be the sought after cars as we struggle through this upcoming recession. All spending must stop

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.co.uk%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F283340561249

haha good one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Dia_Anseo wrote: »

We will all need to be very frugal with out spending. Inexpensive no frills commodities will be in demand due to their low price point and simplicity.

Cars like the Sandero Access witn no radio , wind up windows front and rear and manual adjustment mirrors will be the sought after cars as we struggle through this upcoming recession. All spending must stop

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.co.uk%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F283340561249

The Irony is Strong with your post ;)

I'd advocate the opposite philosophy. Bought my 996 at the peak of the last crisis: best deal ever.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

You realise that if we stop spending the recession will be worse and could lead to deflation which will make the recession last longer.

And no one is going back to wind up windows and no radio, apart from you maybe.

If we all drive Sandero Access cars we will severely reduce our financial outlay and repair cost. The Sandero Access should be the only car for sale in Ireland. It's simplicity means no expensive repair costs like radio and electric window/mirror repairs as the car doesn't have them. Forget EV cars your Sandero Access is the ideal car for the impending recession
    I can't wait.

s-l400.jpg

s-l400.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Casati

ELM327 wrote: »
    Sterling will tank so even with the WTO taxes it may still be cheaper to buy in the UK than from robbing $tealers over here

How low can it go - duty on cars imported from U.K is 10% plus 23% vat in the U.K inclusive sale price.

Used cars likely to be in higher demand in U.K also as they will potentially see extra duty on anything imported from EU. Indeed the weak sterling will also see further inflated prices on anything imported into the U.K from EU so that might not prove advantageous long term to us

the impending recession
    I can't wait.

You can't wait for thousands of people to loose their jobs!

If we all bought fancy cars there'd be no recession. With current interest rates you are loosing your money by not spending it so you may as well spend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Meanwhile the rest of us will enjoy cars that don't feel and look like they were made in 1982

If we all drive Sandero Access cars we will severely reduce our financial outlay and repair cost. The Sandero Access should be the only car for sale in Ireland. It's simplicity means no expensive repair costs like radio and electric window/mirror repairs as the car doesn't have them. Forget EV cars your Sandero Access is the ideal car for the impending recession
    I can't wait.

s-l400.jpg

s-l400.jpg

Do I see a rev counter and centre air vents and more than 2 fan speeds? Totally unnecessary complexity. I bet it also have intermittent wipers. Shocking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

Have u 1 for sale n struggling to get a victim?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭sc86

Casati wrote: »
    With all the posturing, if we have a hard Brexit it looks like we won’t have any U.K. Imports - as we would have to pay import duty, Vat (on U.K vat) along with VRT

Are Irish franchise dealers preparing themselves to deliver 100,000 extra cars next year to meet the current volume coming from the U.K.? With no UK market to compete with I can see franchise garages becoming big gold mines than they are already where a shortage of cars could see prices of used cars rise dramatically- and that’s before the 2020 VRT rules kick in

Will we end up seeing Newsed Cars coming in boatloads from Japan again I wonder?

Will make it hard for private customers to go over themselves , not for registered used car dealers.
    Still be loads of uk cars imported

sc86 wrote: »
    Will make it hard for private customers to go over themselves , not for registered used car dealers.
    Still be loads of uk cars imported

What advantage will dealers have versus private individuals?

They would be vat registered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Brexit combined with new wltp rules and budget will make a very interesting motoring life next year.

We can only speculate right now, but one way or another, we will get bent over without a lube or foreplay.

New car prices will jump again. And no source of alternative used cars from outside.
    It won't hit as much family normal cars, but if you will want something more interesting, then you are screwed.
    Ironically if second hand car values will go up, it will only go up for cars in dealership yards, but the car you will trade in, will be even less worth before the **** hit the fan.

They would be vat registered[/quote

I’m not sure this will matter - you can’t reclaim vat today on most used cars in the U.K even if you are vat registered unless it’s a new car sold for export or maybe some vat qualifying cars

As such when an Irish dealer buys a five year old Audi A4 in the UK, they are buying that car vat inclusive (of UK vat) If we have a hard Brexit then that car will I understand be hit with Vat on the sale price in Ireland too.

they already have to pay vat on the sale price of the car in ireland !

Some people think car dealers have huge margins on imports but fail to understand the costs involved in selling these cars.

they already have to pay vat on the sale price of the car in ireland !

Some people think car dealers have huge margins on imports but fail to understand the costs involved in selling these cars.

They don’t, they only pay vat on a margin basis - ie on their margin

They will still have to charge a private buyer VAT though. To register a vehicle you pay VRT, VAT and duty. You only have to pay VAT once in the EU. With the UK leaving the EU will mean that duty and VAT will be due on 2nd hand UK imports, just like you pay it for anything else you import from outside the EU and it exceeds the allowances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭Stoolbend

But the vat would’ve been paid in the EU.

Would it not only affect new cars registered after brexit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,581 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

My god that's grim!

The irony is that that’s a uk model! Ireland missed out on that spec. Saw one in the flesh in a car supermarket in the uk. 2016 and priced a few hundred more than a brand new one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,794 ✭✭✭jmreire

Was in 6 dealerships yesterday. Limerick area...all of them had their parking full of English Reg car's.... some one is expecting to make a big killing after Brexit.....

CAB will be the ones making a killing for most of them lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Stoolbend wrote: »
    But the vat would’ve been paid in the EU.

Would it not only affect new cars registered after brexit?

I always thought this would apply too. How can VAT be charged on say a 3yr old VW when the vat would already have been paid on that car when the UK was in the EU. Surely that’s something that could be fought and won in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Old diesel

If Irish car prices increase due to slow inflow of UK imports - that could then improve the uncompetitiveness of UK imports .....

Basically if Irish prices rise by 10 percent then that's the WTO bit cancelled out.

Note as well that the price of brand new cars NOT made in UK shouldn't change - so for some 2nd hand drivers they could find themselves looking towards a new one.

Quick example of the latter - a Toyota CHR hybrid of 2 year old vintage isn't far off the price of a brand new Corolla Hybrid .

Corolla starts looking more attractive unless you love that CHR look.

I expect that to apply to many more cars like say a Passat - the new car limits how high the used one can go.

And the general economic situation and other factors limit how high the new car will go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Old diesel

I recall also that in and around the 2000/01 era the savings of going to UK werent lining up. Currency issues

But certain cars like Cavalier 1.7 TDs still made it in the gap.

This is because the 1.7 TD Cavalier filled a gap in the market - reasonable power, good on fuel, good refinement aand reliability with pre 3.0 Trooper era Isuzu power.

If a particular car is still sought after and very few on Irish Market then you will still see UK imports slip.

Of course the Vectra B was considered a pile of poo by many back in the day - so fellas might be inclined to go for a late Vectra A or Cavalier instead . A late example of a car generally considered excellent Vs its very meh successor in its early form. Not a hard call

All imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,794 ✭✭✭jmreire

colm_mcm wrote: »
    CAB will be the ones making a killing for most of them lads.

I doubt it very much..they were all long established main dealer's....unless they have some kind of "Special Deal's" going.......which I would doubt very much, but given the nature of the car business here in Ireland.....you can't rule out anything !!!:rolleyes:

I always thought this would apply too. How can VAT be charged on say a 3yr old VW when the vat would already have been paid on that car when the UK was in the EU. Surely that’s something that could be fought and won in Europe.

The VAT was paid when the UK was in the EU, but after they leave they became a 3rd country and are subject to the same duties and taxes as any other 3rd country. The single market is what allows us to avoid the VAT on imports from the EU once the UK leave the single market then the advantages of the single market are lost from their exports.

Do you have the money to take it through the courts? You can't go straight to Europe you have to exhaust our court process first.

Del2005 wrote: »
    The VAT was paid when the UK was in the EU, but after they leave they became a 3rd country and are subject to the same duties and taxes as any other 3rd country. The single market is what allows us to avoid the VAT on imports from the EU once the UK leave the single market then the advantages of the single market are lost from their exports.

Do you have the money to take it through the courts? You can't go straight to Europe you have to exhaust our court process first.

Be difficult to prove VAT was paid originally wouldn’t it - ie I don’t think that EU could just take a third country’s word for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Be difficult to prove VAT was paid originally wouldn’t it - ie I don’t think that EU could just take a third country’s word for it?

But we know it was paid unless the UK hasn’t been tax compliant all these years. We’re not talking about some emerging new nation, we’re talking about the UK who were and still are (until 31/10) one of the biggest contributors to EU coffers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭greenfield21

There could be an oversupply of new cars in EU so we might see reduced prices. They will need to keep UK market along with a recession as everyone keeps harping on about could see further reduced prices.

But we know it was paid unless the UK hasn’t been tax compliant all these years. We’re not talking about some emerging new nation, we’re talking about the UK who were and still are (until 31/10) one of the biggest contributors to EU coffers.

The single market is how we avoid the VAT. The UK is leaving the single market so the free movement of goods from the UK will end on the 31st October. It doesn't matter that the VAT was paid in the UK before they left the single market as you will be importing from outside the single market now and that's when you pay all the tariffs. If they leave with a deal then there's no VAT, when they crash out there's VAT.

Whatever about reclaiming VAT and paying additional trade tariffs, I think ye have forgotten one major implication of Brexit.

We never got the Sandero in Access trim (without radio etc trim) so after Oct 31st the UK can basically hold Ireland hostage (again!) And demand any ransom they want for a Sandero Access. As we enter a recession we might be unwittingly sold crashed Sandero Accesses as after Oct 31st the UK might not want to share their insurance write off database.

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.co.uk%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F174004609601
    <
    actually that's a modified Sandero Access with an aftermarket radio and wheel covers, they must've been the CEO. (No wonder they crashed it lol)

So, as the Thread title reads Buy up your Sandero Access now before Brexit and the Recession hits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭kyote00

Brexit will also mean UK can dump 1000s of Allegro estates into Eire. All in the rust brown colour

https://classics.honestjohn.co.uk/cars-for-sale/search/Austin/Allegro/

We will be so poor that we will want to trade our pigs for allegros in what will be the first trade deal negotiated post Brexit

Whatever about reclaiming VAT and paying additional trade tariffs, I think ye have forgotten one major implication of Brexit.

We never got the Sandero in Access trim (without radio etc trim) so after Oct 31st the UK can basically hold Ireland hostage (again!) And demand any ransom they want for a Sandero Access. As we enter a recession we might be unwittingly sold crashed Sandero Accesses as after Oct 31st the UK might not want to share their insurance write off database.

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.co.uk%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F174004609601
    <
    actually that's a modified Sandero Access with an aftermarket radio and wheel covers, they must've been the CEO. (No wonder they crashed it lol)

So, as the Thread title reads Buy up your Sandero Access now before Brexit and the Recession hits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I can't wait.

s-l400.jpg

s-l400.jpg

Níl aon Dia_Anseo :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭travist

Buy LHD’s from Euroland.

travist wrote: »
    Buy LHD’s from Euroland.

Apart from the inconvenience of having get our of your car anytime you want to use a toll booth, car park or drive through its dangerous to drive a LHD car in a RHD county. You can manage for a few weeks holiday but full time you will regret it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Phileas Frog

Apart from the inconvenience of having get our of your car anytime you want to use a toll booth, car park or drive through its dangerous to drive a LHD car in a RHD county. You can manage for a few weeks holiday but full time you will regret it.

In that case we may all learn to drive on the right side of the road too. LHDs drive on the right, RHDs to the left during the transition period.

I've had countless LHD cars here and this is bunkum
    The only difference is when overtaking you need your passenger to look or you need to keep further back
    If you don't need to overtake there is no difference at all
    I have a tag for tolls so never got out!

ELM327 wrote: »
    I've had countless LHD cars here and this is bunkum
    The only difference is when overtaking you need your passenger to look or you need to keep further back
    If you don't need to overtake there is no difference at all
    I have a tag for tolls so never got out!

Look at the cars on our roads and see how many have passengers. Our drivers are bad enough overtaking in RHD getting thousands of LHD vehicles on our roads will be dangerous.

Many people don't regularly use tolls or car parks so don't need a tag, when they do use a toll or car park there will be delays and on motorways delays means stopprd traffic and that's dangerous.

So thousands of LHD imports will be dangerous on our roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭travist

Just to say, I do agree with you.
    They shouldn’t be allowed on the roads here. Too dangerous.