Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ch bull no interest in cows

• 17-08-2019 11:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭

lads bought a ch bull there 3 MTS ago hes with 17 cows a d heifers total hes 18 MTS now my problem is hes showing no interest in bulling the cows have a y of ye seen this before or is he too young or what could be the problem a y advice would be of great help tks lab man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,211 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

lab man wrote: »
    lads bought a ch bull there 3 MTS ago hes with 17 cows a d heifers total hes 18 MTS now my problem is hes showing no interest in bulling the cows have a y of ye seen this before or is he too young or what could be the problem a y advice would be of great help tks lab man

Are the cows repeating? Could you scan them now and see what the story is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Know of a few people who never seen the bull at the cows yet got them all incalf, maybe he's shy & likes to work at night :D
    Scan or dip would be best to try now & see if he's actually doing the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Know of a few people who never seen the bull at the cows yet got them all incalf, maybe he's shy & likes to work at night :D
    Scan or dip would be best to try now & see if he's actually doing the job.

We had a bull here up to last year. He saved any number of cows over the years. Hardly ever saw him shake a leg. When things went sideways during the snow last year he ended up with the milkers for a couple of days. We hadn't cows calving in December for more than twenty years. 6 out of a group of 50 in two days. Never saw a thing. He should have been called Yoda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

they all coming back every 3 weeks but for the 1st 2 mths we thought he be young but now just sick of it after limo bull last 2 yrs now this

Was he tested?

semen tested ya he was why ?

Just wondering as that as least rules out infertility. Is he following & just not mounting?

there could be 1 or 2 bulling and hed be sleeping next to them v dissapointed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,332 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

there could be 1 or 2 bulling and hed be sleeping next to them v dissapointed

Had a bull here for ten years the very same, but the cows 'd always be in calf.
    There was a house being built nearby and a farmer worked at it and he'd tell me any morning he met me that the bull ''wasn't worth a damn' cows bulling all around and he wouldn't go near them'',
    I put a chin ball marker on him eventually.......... he'd only serve a cow once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭148multi

wrangler wrote: »
    Had a bull here for ten years the very same, but the cows 'd always be in calf.
    There was a house being built nearby and a farmer worked at it and he'd tell me any morning he met me that the bull ''wasn't worth a damn' cows bulling all around and he wouldn't go near them'',
    I put a chin ball marker on him eventually.......... he'd only serve a cow once

Ch bulls can be very lazy, serve and sleep, limo going crazy day before and day after, the scanner is your best friend. Now if he's watching the neighbours bullocks, that's a totally different kettle of fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭PMU

he could be gay , its been known to happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭farisfat

they all coming back every 3 weeks but for the 1st 2 mths we thought he be young but now just sick of it after limo bull last 2 yrs now this

How many cows was he let out with.

farisfat wrote: »

I think he said 18 altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,602 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

PMU wrote: »
    he could be gay , its been known to happen
    If he's not bulling cows and there repeating then he's either gay or too fat to have any interest. I'd be ringing who the bull was bought from and looking that they'll take them back. If they're reputable they should.

JeffKenna wrote: »
    If he's not bulling cows and there repeating then he's either gay or too fat to have any interest. I'd be ringing who the bull was bought from and looking that they'll take them back. If they're reputable they should.

We had a lad rang giving out that a bull we sold him hadn't served anything and didnt even sit near the heifers he was with. We said scan them and come back to us and we would work something out. They were all in calf.

whelan2 wrote: »
    We had a lad rang giving out that a bull we sold him hadn't served anything and didnt even sit near the heifers he was with. We said scan them and come back to us and we would work something out. They were all in calf.

Apparently rams will only serve once too if there isn't the smell of another ram on the ewe,

farisfat wrote: »

12 cows 5 heifers total , hes 18 months old now

I rang s few ch bull sellers today telling my problem one said to get him hormone injected, what's this ?

He's either working or he's not, if he's not he should go back to the seller.
    If he is the sort that is difficult to see serving a chin ball marker is a good management tool......

https://www.agridirect.ie/product/chin-ball-mating-harness-leather?gclid=Cj0KCQjwy97qBRDoARIsAITONTLf3K1h1eZiHsQKsExMB3iVP331qtUzSOPjDuJ535qx-rpgMFJ4MfIaAugKEALw_wcB

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Reminds me of the bull who knocked down a wall near Knappogue Castle in Quinn Co Clare.
    He was in a field full of cow's.

He wasn't happy with the cow's so pushed down the wall, and sirred a load of bullock's..

His knob was chaffed the following day, and all the bullock's were petrified in one corner of the field...

We called him Romeo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Just wondering as that as least rules out infertility. Is he following & just not mounting?

Semen testing doesn’t guarantee fertility, that is only on that day of testing and a week later a bull could be totally infertile, bull not doing the job go back to the breeder and look for a replacement and stops all the messing around. The longer you leave this it ends with two problems, first cows not incalf, second breeder asks why did not cop the bull not working earlier.

Oh i know that, but if he tested fertile on that day, at least he's got the capability of being fertile if you get me.
    We had to take back the last bull we sold as the first cows he covered all repeated. No hassle, the chap got him tested & was classed as subfertile, so no quibble, we let him out with our cows to act as teaser.
    Now it turns out he is fertile, we had him retested after a few weeks & nothing wrong at all. The buyer had him tested after he'd had cows in heat so the poor bull was running on empty :pac:
    So I can totally agree testing isn't accurate!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,581 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Have you got him checked by a vet to make sure there is nothing physically wrong with him. He may have damaged his rod earlier in the season and be afraid to work now. It now August even if you replace him any cows bulled now will not calve before late May/Early June. Scan them all if not in calf fatten them a and buy replacements next spring. No point in procrastinating it now about making decisions.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,145 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Was he injection (ivomec or likes) since you bought him
    That can have an effect to fertility

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Charolais bulls can be slow to mature. Is he bullish in appearance? Has he a bullish head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭hopeso

I'm sure a certain percentage of bulls every year are useless for one reason or another. I've had enough of them here myself for various reasons over the years. Simplest option is cull him and start again. Your biggest problem is the time of year. Calves are going to be late next year. Your best option at this stage is to get a mature bull that will go out and do the job with no messing. You needn't be too fussy about the bull you get. You can send him off again and start again next year with a new bull. I'd even consider a mature Angus at this stage, simply because of the shorter gestation , which will help you get back on track next year.....

I've actually got a ch off a cousin of mine a 6 yr old hes bulling all the cows at the moment I'm fair sick as I had a limo that was supposed to be 4 % calving but couldn't get calves out if the cows one small next big etc so lost 8 cows 8 calves which is a third of what I have plus I gave a lot dosh for him too

Did you ring the seller?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭TooOldBoots

Over feeding/force feeding young bulls like what you see at the sales, the chances of infertility are much higher.
    The whole Charolais breeding is a farce at this stage. None are reared naturally, they are usually fed of a dairy cow plus force fed for at least 80 to 120 days before the show and sales. Also hard calving are not reported as it would effect the breeders star ratings.
    I'd be ringing the breeder and looking for compensation and or a replacement. Might be no harm to check his ears to see if he's gotten a hormone implant

Over feeding/force feeding young bulls like what you see at the sales, the chances of infertility are much higher.
    The whole Charolais breeding is a farce at this stage. None are reared naturally, they are usually fed of a dairy cow plus force fed for at least 80 to 120 days before the show and sales. Also hard calving are not reported as it would effect the breeders star ratings.
    I'd be ringing the breeder and looking for compensation and or a replacement. Might be no harm to check his ears to see if he's gotten a hormone implant

Agree with you fully, society sales with free insurance is also for the breeders benefit, they should weed out the dodges before the sale, on calving difficulty, 30% of calvings reported as normal births were found to have been c section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

A percentage of bulls are homosexual,and as a previous poster pointed out just because a bull might be ‘fertile’ on the day of a Pedigree sale that might not necessarily be the case immediately afterwards.

I would be contacting the person he was purchased from if it turns out that none of the cows are in calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,581 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

A percentage of bulls are homosexual,and as a previous poster pointed out just because a bull might be ‘fertile’ on the day of a Pedigree sale that might not necessarily be the case immediately afterwards.

I would be contacting the person he was purchased from if it turns out that none of the cows are in calf.

He should have done this straight away before he borrowed his cousin's bull. He may have to DNA test any calves to prove that they are not from the lazy young bull.

Slava Ukrainii

the bull was bought private from a guy only 15 miles away I'll prob call next weekend and see what will happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I had 4 Lim bulls to sell this year. Sold 3 so far and the other is still very young so will keep him till next year. Have him with 2 cows at the moment with a next door neighbour who wanted to check if they were in calf. He bulled one and the other didn't come bulling yet. If the first cow holds I can be confident that he is working.
    It's hard to know how to test bulls before selling. I had 2 booked in to test with vet last year and guy that bought them out of the field said to cancel it. He was well experienced with breeding them in the past and said that the main thing that ruins young bulls, apart from over feeding, is running them with too many cows. He didnt have much faith in the semen testing.

the bull was bought private from a guy only 15 miles away I'll prob call next weekend and see what will happen

Don't forget that your cow's will be calving later so you will have lighter weanlings, this lost time may be impossible to claw back. It will therefore affect your weanlings weights for years to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭hopeso

148multi wrote: »
    Don't forget that your cow's will be calving later so you will have lighter weanlings, this lost time may be impossible to claw back. It will therefore affect your weanlings weights for years to come.

I’ve been there......You’ll get it back alright. And his replacement bull is already out, so at least that clock has stopped ticking....