Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will you teach your children to be racist?

• 02-08-2019 10:55am
    Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭

Even just a little bit? Come on now, be honest about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

This thread has huge potential! Fair play OP....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Eh, her little best friend is Indian, I think I missed the boat. . . nuts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

No. So long as your friends in school are rich who cares what color they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

No. So long as your friends in school are rich who cares what color they are.

Not sure which is more heinous - racism or bad speiling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

No, what a stupid question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭Spon Farmer

I have thought my kids some aliens are bad, like the Borg, and some are good, like Wookies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

You are being racist against spelling!

I have thought my kids some aliens are bad, like the Borg, and some are good, like Wookies.
    Did you mean "taught"?

who cares what color they are.
    **** off back to America, we already have a word for that word. In fact our word is the original word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭73bc61lyohr0mu

Ah but the Borg as Savage at making furniture..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Its none of your business how I raise young Adolf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭MissShihTzu

Subscribing. And making the popcorn at the same time. This should be good...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Balanadan wrote: »

Nah, I am going to teach them to hate everyone equally regardless of the colour of their skin!!

biko wrote: »

They didn't give any examples of the kind of responses she got.

This has to be the daftest thing anyone has done this century.

A white man and a white woman now cannot have kids?:rolleyes:

My spelling has gone to **** lately. TO ****.

I will write rein when I wanna say reign. I will to when I wanna say too.

I will say ' ah sure **** it if they sound alike they must type alike.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

brown sugar, how come you taste so good!

First they came for the socialists...

Did you mean "taught"?

Wish I could say for sure that my spell checker did that but I think I actually changed from "taught" myself.

iWKad22.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭NeinNeinNein

Only inadvertently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Dude89

Op needs some attention ahhhh

Balanadan wrote: »

How would a person do that?

You clearly mean to do intentionally but how do you teach "just a little bit" of racism"?

We need to talk about spelling in general though. The conversation needs to had. Some things need to be said. For the good of the human race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,390 ✭✭✭Cordell

Of course not, they will have to learn that themselves, the hard way, just like the rest of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Bat**** insane.

Did you know brown people are better spellers than white people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

What type of horse ****e is this?

Nobody teaches anyone to be racist.

I believe the correct question is "Will anyone act in a racist manner in front of their children?" or "Will I resort to lazy/casual ethnic stereotyping in front of my children?

Did you know brown people are better spellers than white people?
    That might explain my difficulty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

theteal wrote: »
    Eh, her little best friend is Indian, I think I missed the boat. . . nuts!

You could still teach them to hate one of the other races. All is not lost.

What type of horse ****e is this?

Nobody teaches anyone to be racist.

I believe the correct question is "Will anyone act in a racist manner in front of their children?" or "Will I resort to lazy/casual ethnic stereotyping in front of my children?

I'm fairly sure that many people have taught their kids be racist.

KKK members for example and the general ignorant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I'm sick and tired lately of ppl trying to convince us that we are all racist.

One particular British radio presenter talks about racism at every available opportunity on this show. Just this week he did a segment on 'unconscious bias' which to my mind is not the same as racism but in his view it's racism-lite and leads to racism, and sanctimoniously directs us all to watch our unconscious biases. And of course he just had in mind western white ppl's unconscious bias, not the ub of everyone which of course everyone has to some degree which wouldn't in all cases have to do with race at all. It could be related to physical appearance, gender, social class, any number of characteristics.

It really is a dangerous thing to do to accuse ppl of being racist when they are not. Look at the problems caused in the UK within social and family groups where they have fallen out with each other as a result of how they voted in the brexit ref. For me a major reason for that is a result of accusing ppl who voted out that they are racist.

AllForIt wrote: »

One particular British radio presenter talks about racism at every available opportunity on this show. Just this week he did a segment on 'unconscious bias' which to my mind is not the same as racism but in his view it's racism-lite and leads to racism, and sanctimoniously directs us all to watch our unconscious biases. And of course he just had in mind western white ppl's unconscious bias, not the ub of everyone which of course everyone has to some degree which wouldn't in all cases have to do with race at all. It could be related to physical appearance, gender, social class, any number of characteristics.

Wha?

Why are you listening to foreign radio broadcasts?

What is wrong with RTÉ Radio and SpinFM? Not "good enough" for you?

Racist ******!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭NeinNeinNein

Is it old style racism yiz are teaching or the more modern catch all type?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Turquoise Hexagon Sun

Yep, just when you thought you weren't racist, you are. So many mental gymnastics, moving of goal posts. It's almost like these people want there to be racists or some sort of boogeyman so they can continue to score victim points.

And I think it's perfectly natural we're all biased. We may feel a kinship for people nearest us, that resemble us or have a shared history with us. It's why some of us might grieve more about people dying in an accident in France or Europe than say a group of tribes people in Papa New Guinea.

These same people think that if a man doesn't find transsexual man-to-woman attractive as biological women, you are being discriminatory/sexist. Amazing.

To answer the OP's question:

I'll raise my children to judge people on character: education, values, critical thinking skils over their sex/gender or colour of their skin, which to me is most arbitrary of features to judge someone on. A lot of of these vocal minority extreme "far-leftists/progressive" types seem to value group identities over these things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

How did you get interested in that kind of thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

It’s actually the correct spelling of the US version, given the current context you could say that version is technically correct here given the origination of the word “colored”

Yep, just when you thought you weren't racist, you are. So many mental gymnastics, moving of goal posts. It's almost like these people want to there to be racists.

And I think it's perfectly natural we're all biased. We may feel a kinship for people nearest us, that resemble us or have a shared history with us. It's why some of us might grieve more about people dying in an accident in France or Europe than say a group of tribes people in Papa New Guinea.

These same people think that if a man doesn't find transsexual man-to-woman attractive as biological women, you are being discriminatory/sexist. Amazing.

To answer the OP's question:

I'll raise my children to judge people on character: education, values, critical thinking skils over their sex/gender or colour of their skin, which to me is most arbitrary of features to judge someone on.

I was accused of homophobia in an old job because I disliked a gay fella. However, I disliked him because he was a nasty person and he horrible to everyone. Being gay had nothing to do with it. The fact that a regular after work drinking companions another gay lad from the job didn't seem to matter.

And this was before the world went PC mad (I think). Years ago anyway.

EDIT: These accusation came other co-workers, not the fella himself. And all I did to earn was not tolerate the nasty behaviour - didn't go out of way or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

It's a No from me.

• Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Balanadan

This thread has huge potential! Fair play OP....

Cheers m8, it's going well so far :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Heck no.
    You raise your kids right. You teach them whats right and wrong. Then, sadly, the older they get you tell them the real dealings of the world.

just for the record, am talking about the hard truths of life! Like you can't be telling a 5yo that most blokes would ride a cat going up a skylight and you should be very careful who you trust etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Turquoise Hexagon Sun

I was accused of homophobia in an old job because I disliked a gay fella. However, I disliked him because he was a nasty person and he horrible to everyone. Being gay had nothing to do with it. The fact that a regular after work drinking companions another gay lad from the job didn't seem to matter.

And this was before the world went PC mad (I think). Years ago anyway.

EDIT: These accusation came other co-workers, not the fella himself. And all I did to earn was not tolerate the nasty behaviour - didn't go out of way or anything.

Reminds me of Louis CK's bit about the word "f.aggot."

"I'd never call a gay guy a ******...unless he's being a ******.. but not because he's gay..." :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I hear you're a racist now, Father.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭nw5iytvs0lf1uz

all children need to be told the hard truths about certain parts of our society, and how to ignore their very existence.
    for example, i never knowingly spoken with a work shy doler.