Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clear or not?

• 30-07-2019 11:15pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 88 ✭✭

hello lads,

had posted this elsewhere but no response so ye are always good for an opinion.

the house is from the 90's and the currant windows are fake georgian. That is, they are pvc and simply have the white strip plastic running between the panes of double glaze. You still see them all over the place.
    There are also 2 fake georgian windows in the attic at each gable end. All the windows in the house are the same size. Now we have built a very long attic dormer at back of house. There will be 4 windows in this, wider than high. Thing is, the fake georgian cost 300 more than the clear windows. I am told by various companies that these are outdated and hence the large price difference. It would be nice to have georgian to match the ones already there but would it look very out of place if they are clear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

My fakes are in a while, they replaced iroko teak single glazed frames. When they were replaced, I remember thinking how flimsy the uPVC was in comparison to solid wood frames. I don't regret doing it or the hassle of sanding down and varnishing.

I had to actually go out and check as to what we have along the back. Fakes are on the front only, the side gables and the rear are clear glass. Just goes to show how insignificant a decision it has become, years later.

The front gets all the sunshine, and some moisture is now beginning to appear between the double glaze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭anthony500_1

The front gets all the sunshine, and some moisture is now beginning to appear between the double glaze.

The seals are gone in the double glazed unit. I'm afraid they will only get worse with time and no way of repairing other than replacing.

To the original poster, if you can't see the new and old windows in the same view I don't see an issue with leaving out the rails. On the other hand is 300e that much in the grand scheme of things if your doing up a good section of the house spending a good view thousand in the process. That's a decision only you can make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

The seals are gone in the double glazed unit. I'm afraid they will only get worse with time and no way of repairing other than replacing.

Yes, I was given a recommendation and contact details from a person who works in the commercial section. I need to get the lead out and place the call. At the moment it is only affecting the front, which gets the sun, a small unit on one and a larger unit on another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,581 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Yes, I was given a recommendation and contact details from a person who works in the commercial section. I need to get the lead out and place the call. At the moment it is only affecting the front, which gets the sun, a small unit on one and a larger unit on another.

OP I only put them at the front if the house as well as at one side. There was two windows in sitting room so that side of the house was done as well. There was only a pation door extra. That's 300/window I presume

Slava Ukrainii