Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving test pass and driving

• 28-07-2019 9:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭

Can you start driving unaccompanied as soon as you pass your driving test or do you have to wait until you obtain your full licence ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Wait for licence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

biko wrote: »
    Wait for licence

Yep.

To expand, you can only drive unaccompanied when you have been issued a full driving license. The certificate of competency is just a means of applying for the full license and is not a license in itself. Hence having to wait. But it is a quick process, so hopefully you wont be waiting too long!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭antix80

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    Can you start driving unaccompanied as soon as you pass your driving test or do you have to wait until you obtain your full licence ?

At least wait until you apply for your full licence. Then stick up N plates and you'll have the receipt from NDLS as evidence the licence is on the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

antix80 wrote: »
    At least wait until you apply for your full licence. Then stick up N plates and you'll have the receipt from NDLS as evidence the licence is on the way.

This is what i was thinking of doing, if he passes, go in the same day and take a ticket and queue, so the receipt should cover him if unlucky enough to be stopped by guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

This is what i was thinking of doing, if he passes, go in the same day and take a ticket and queue, so the receipt should cover him if unlucky enough to be stopped by guards.

I don't believe this is technically correct. The receipt does not work as a license, as the full license has not been issued. You are only fully licensed when the full arrives in the post really.

The reality is that the chance of a gard actually pursuing this is very low, but worth keeping in mind all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I'm sure 98% will wave it. There's always the chance of a Garda having a bad day though.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

dsmythy wrote: »
    I'm sure 98% will wave it. There's always the chance of a Garda having a bad day though.

It's not a license. Which is all that it comes down to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭kilianmanning

I don't believe this is technically correct. The receipt does not work as a license, as the full license has not been issued. You are only fully licensed when the full arrives in the post really.

The reality is that the chance of a gard actually pursuing this is very low, but worth keeping in mind all the same.

When I was applying for my licence recently the date the category was added was the date that I applied for my licence in the ndls centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭Cork Trucker

When I was applying for my licence recently the date the category was added was the date that I applied for my licence in the ndls centre.

That's always the way, strictly speaking you can't drive unaccompanied until the licence is physically in your hand, my own insurers wouldn't update their system from (then) Provisional to Full without it being produced to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭MascotDec85

That may be the case but it’s retrospective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

So back in the day the pink slip may work but you were advised that it wasn't a licence but most would use their bit of leeway or cop on... Pub intended...

You only need to meet the one that follows the law to the letter then boom....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

dsmythy wrote: »
    Unfortunately everyone here prefers to be anal and focus on the 2% :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

I don't think that is specifically the case. People are just being careful in the advice they give.

When handed my certificate of competency, I was told "this is to apply for your licence, you still can't drive alone until you get your full licence in the post."
    If I answer the OP and tell them it's almost always grand, go ahead and drive away, then they meet a guard who gives them penalty points or a fine, then that's not very good advice. People are just pointing that out, so the OP can make an informed decision and is aware of the risks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭MascotDec85

Unfortunately everyone here prefers to be anal and focus on the 2% :rolleyes:

People sticking to the rules, imagine! It’ll never catch on.