Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Changing training Solicitors during your training contract

Options
  • 24-07-2019 1:53pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭

Hi,

I am a post PPC-1 trainee and I have a query about changing the firm you are training with during your traineeship.

Basically my main motivation for doing this is financial. I am on minimum wage at the minute and had thought that after my return from PPC-1 that my wages would increase. This is based on my interviews with other firms and two other training contracts I was offered who all said that my wages would go up incrementally as I progressed through my training. I had thought this was stated in writing until I saw my indentures but figured then it must be an unwritten rule of sorts.

Trainees at the large firms I was in Blackhall with were getting double what I am at PPC-1 stage and while working at those firms doesn’t interest me I would be hoping to get around €500 p/w as a trainee which I think would be possible at a mid-large sized firm.

Also when I was in Blackhall our Education rep canvassed the Law Society for a higher recommended wage. It is now the living wage but crucially they haven’t called it the minimum recommended wage so it’s not really worth the paper it’s written on. Even so I thought my firm would take this into consideration but despite making them aware of it they haven’t.

My firm don’t pay my fees so I’ve no idea how I’m going to afford the €4K for PPC-2. Also I’m commuting from Galway to my firm in the Midlands at a cost of €100 p/w which is a significant cost when I’m earning so little.