Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Man Who Wanted To Fly - RTE 1

• 22-07-2019 9:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,242 ✭✭✭✭

Irish TV premiere on RTÉ 1 on Monday, July 22 at 9.35pm

Super documentary tonight about an Ireland that is disappearing. It's about more than flying and is funny, poignant and fascinating in equal measure.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,267 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Documentary about Cavan farmer Bobby Coote who took up flying at age 81.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,800 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Threads merged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭TL17

An excellent production.An inspiring man

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,267 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Watching the plane swaying like that in strong winds is terrifying.

Another Cavan man trying to avoid the tolls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭griffin100

Absolutely brilliant. What a story. I smiled from start to finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

Tears in my eyes. Delighted for Bobby. Feck the begrudgers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Wasn't he so happy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Thought this was going to be crap, happy to be proved wrong. Absolutely heartwarming and amusing. Although the Christmas period was a little sad. Well done RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭ekimiam

it was brilliant!

It was an independent production Plumbthedepths
    The documentary, produced by Cormac Hargaden and Trisha Canning of production company Loosehorse, tells the story of Bobby Coote, whose ambition to take to the skies sees him enlist the help of neighbour Seán to create a runway and build a hangar on Seán’s farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,517 ✭✭✭Azatadine

Thought this was going to be crap, happy to be proved wrong. Absolutely heartwarming and amusing. Although the Christmas period was a little sad. Well done RTE.

Yes, there were a few sad bits alright. The bit about the younger brother was sad too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

The man is an absolute talent with a wide array of skills. Eternal optimist and followed his dream. The pride in his brothers eyes when he did the fly by was something else. Good on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,847 ✭✭✭s8n

Is this on rte player ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,633 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Superb TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭harr

Really enjoyed this last night..well made documentary and such genuine and down to earth gentlemen.
    My only gripe is why have it on a Monday night at 9.30? It was nearly two hours long. It would be an ideal on a Sunday evening around 7 or 8 so whole family could watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,242 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I was at a screening of this and the director said that he had the brothers at his home for Christmas last year.

The whole process of getting this film made was fascinating too.
    Started with the producer flying to his home in Cavan on a microlite and Bobby arriving a few minutes later at the house have followed the plane. He invited him in for a chat and so it began.

5 years later this documentary was finished. They really had no idea where it was going to go at the start. So glad there are filmmakers out there like that.

ekimiam wrote:
    It was an independent production Plumbthedepths

Was it not commissioned by RTE?

No, they more or less funded it themselves up to post production, then a few investors came on board.

A fascinating process in itself.

No, they more or less funded it themselves up to post production, then a few investors came on board.

Thanks for clear that up. Excellent production standards. A follow up short film would be great .

There were loads of questions at the screening about what happened since. But Bobby and his neighbour Sean, (who built the runway) were in the seats in front of me, so we got it from the horses mouth...so to speak. At that point, (about a year ago), Bobby hadn't flown again but was intending to.

Thanks for that. They seemed like two genuine content characters.
    My wife said to me they seem very happy, pointing out they were bachelors was probably not the best of ideas. lol.

Thanks for that. They seemed like two genuine content characters.
    My wife said to me they seem very happy, pointing out they were bachelors was probably not the best of ideas. lol.

:):)

I can tell you this, they certainly have something going on...they got some amount of invites to Christmas dinner from ladies of a certain age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Some Yoke

"As the fox said before he got his tail cut off- It wont be long now!"
    What great lovely gentlemen, legends

I can tell you this, they certainly have something going on...they got some amount of invites to Christmas dinner from ladies of a certain age.

Cheers again Francie, makes life a little bit more fun knowing characters like Bobby exist. Have a good one. ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

I enjoyed it :)

Takes some balls to get on this thing tbh. Even with qualified experienced pilot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭careless sherpa

I thought the brother was gonna flip when the American on the CB thought Ireland was part of the UK but he was very restrained 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

I watched this last night.had it recorded on sky.
    One of the best documentaries I’ve ever watched.
    Won’t say much about it Incase of spoilers alerts.
    Brilliant though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭TL17

Yea. Thought it one of the best I have seen too. Watched it a second time on the Sky box and thoroughly enjoyed it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

TL17 wrote: »
    Yea. Thought it one of the best I have seen too. Watched it a second time on the Sky box and thoroughly enjoyed it again.

It’s a brilliant documentary. The lads are inspirational.
    The way it was filmed was genius aswell.full of wit.
    It’s brilliant