Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hit a seagull

• 08-07-2019 10:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭

This guy flew in front of my car earlier. He couldn't fly, just flapped around afterwards. I've moved him into the grounds of an apartment complex.
    Any advice on what I should do now?
    He had the wing pulled in but extended it after a while there.

xQxzOxY.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Doop

Either ring a vet and ask for advice or ring the DSPCA

https://www.dspca.ie/what-we-do/rescue-cruelty/emergency-services/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Waiting for the DSPCA to answer the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Effects wrote: »
    Waiting for the DSPCA to answer the phone.

Google a local vet and ask them if yhey will look at it if you bring it in. Then go to spar and get a big cardboard box and a tin of sardines - you might be able to throw a jumper or tshirt over its head as it munches the sardines to put the box over it. Seagulls are light :( vet should take it as it is wildlife and they can treat it with local wildlife rescuers . Dont wait for the dspca. Try and do the right thing for it - its terribly cruel to leave it in pain :( be the super human : )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

The seagull clearly blames you for this state of affairs. Fair play op for sticking around hope it ends well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Where are you based?Let us know and someone might be nearby to help.

I had to leave it in the grounds as I had to get into work.
    I'll keep trying DCPCA and I'll call the vet who is around the corner from the seagull.
    Will also check in on the way back and bring some sardines!

Rang the local vet and they said they can look after it. I'll pick it up in a couple of hours and bring it around to them.

Where are you based?Let us know and someone might be nearby to help.

It was at the bottom of the Howth road. I left him in the grounds of the Marino Crescent Apartment complex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

How fast were you going and were you driving with due care and attention?

Bob Harris wrote: »

About 30km/h, and yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,428 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Hoboo

I think the seagull is the one you should be asking

Hoboo wrote: »
    I think the seagull is the one you should be asking

He just swooped down directly into the front of my car. I was braking hard as we collided. He definitely wasn't showing proper attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,174 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

Seagulls these days haven't a care in the world, not looking left or right when crossing. They don't even pay road tax.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,182 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

to be fair, his beak is hi-vis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭miketv

The Kildare wildlife foundation will help out.
    https://animalfoundation.ie/wildlife/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Oh get off your high horse would you. The gull isn't even wearing a helmet ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Oh get off your high horse would you. The gull isn't even wearing a helmet ffs.

:pac: There's always one arsehole throwing around blame in a thread like this and I just wanted it to be me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

Surely the gardai will ask that what a strange thing to say?

miketv wrote: »
    The Kildare wildlife foundation will help out.
    https://animalfoundation.ie/wildlife/

That's who the vet said that they work with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭two wheels good

Looks like the same gull that threw himself in front of my car in Howth last week. Insurance fraudster?

So I went back and he was still there. When I approached he shifted along the grass about 5 metres. His right leg was damaged as he couldn't really put any weight on it. I opened the sardines and threw a few beside him but he showed no interest.
    As I approached him again he moved off again, flapping his wings, and doing better than earlier. He went around a bush.
    So I turned around to pick up the box to follow him but then when I went around the bush he wasn't there.
    I presumed he realised that while his leg was damaged, and his wing less so, that he was able to fly and took off.
    I did a good search to see if he might have been hiding anywhere but no sign of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

Effects wrote: »
    So I went back and he was still there. When I approached he shifted along the grass about 5 metres. His right leg was damaged as he couldn't really put any weight on it. I opened the sardines and threw a few beside him but he showed no interest.
    As I approached him again he moved off again, flapping his wings, and doing better than earlier. He went around a bush.
    So I turned around to pick up the box to follow him but then when I went around the bush he wasn't there.
    I presumed he realised that while his leg was damaged, and his wing less so, that he was able to fly and took off.
    I did a good search to see if he might have been hiding anywhere but no sign of him.

John West only the best :pac:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,074 Mod ✭✭✭✭OpenYourEyes

Mod Note - Thread Closed.

General Advice:
    If you ever hit a bird or animal with your car, or come across one thats otherwise injured, the best thing to do is contact a local vet or wildlife rehabilitator immediately. A list of contacts can be found here: http://www.irishwildlifematters.ie/animals/contacts.html Note that groups such as Kildare Animal Foundation go above and beyond the call of duty and are very underfunded, so do consider making even a modest donation to help them carry out their work.

So - call someone with the experience to look after it, and they'll often give you directions. Usually you want to get the bird/animal out of harms way. If it's injured, maybe into a big box with a towel over it etc. until someone can take it off your hands. At this time of year there can be fledging birds as small as a Wren or big as a Gull that have 'left' the nest but aren't injured - in general you want to get them up into a tree, or onto a flat roof etc. where the parents can find them but a fox or cat won't!