Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to get a colleague to change his disgusting habits

• 01-07-2019 2:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭

Help me, I need advice urgently, before I go full Michael Douglas in Falling Down.

I started a new job 2 weeks ago. The guy next to me is only 20 and seems to have some kind of sinus issues. At first I thought (hoped) it was just a cold, but it’s been going on too long now. Basically he constantly does that disgusting thing that only guys seem to do (sorry but I have never ever seen or heard a woman do it) where he hocks back phlegm to clear out his nasal passage. It is so effing gross, it makes me feel completely nauseous listening to it all day.

He also just sits on his phone for hours at a time, not even pretending to be busy. And listens to music at full blast on his earphones.

How do I tell him to cut out all this behaviour? He seems totally oblivious to the fact that he comes across as completely unprofessional, and revolting.

It’s kinda like having to tell someone they have BO though, isn’t it- I mean how do you even have that conversation. But if I don’t, I will actually lose the rag completely at him one day soon.

Help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

Go to HR and explain it to them. Calling him out on it directly is a bad idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Try gently pointing it out to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Wait until you are absolutely fuming with him, then grab him by his hair, pull his head back and spit in his mouth.

Or leave some of that sinus spray stuff on his desk. Whatever option seems more sane to you.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Sounds like he has a more than casual coke habit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Anonymous email to your HR/manager would be the first thing I'd recommend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

What is it with men and their disgusting nose/ throat noises. Yes we all love to listen to you swallowing your own snots or blowing your nose all day.

Gross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Shelga wrote: »
    Help me, I need advice urgently, before I go full Michael Douglas in Falling Down.

I started a new job 2 weeks ago. The guy next to me is only 20 and seems to have some kind of sinus issues. At first I thought (hoped) it was just a cold, but it’s been going on too long now. Basically he constantly does that disgusting thing that only guys seem to do (sorry but I have never ever seen or heard a woman do it) where he hocks back phlegm to clear out his nasal passage. It is so effing gross, it makes me feel completely nauseous listening to it all day.

He also just sits on his phone for hours at a time, not even pretending to be busy. And listens to music at full blast on his earphones.

How do I tell him to cut out all this behaviour? He seems totally oblivious to the fact that he comes across as completely unprofessional, and revolting.

It’s kinda like having to tell someone they have BO though, isn’t it- I mean how do you even have that conversation. But if I don’t, I will actually lose the rag completely at him one day soon.

Help!

You are the new person here. Could you leave him out of it and ask for a different seat. Blame sunlight through window, draft/heat, whatever.

Listing 3 separate things you dislike about one person you've worked with for 2 weeks and wanting them to change would make me look closer to home for a solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭norabattie

Keep offering him a tissue . He'll eventually cop on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Just ask to move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

This one time… at band camp. There was this guy that did exactly the same thing.

So I waited till he went to sleep. Then beat him with a baseball bat to a bloody pulp.

Something like this…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

You’ve done the right thing OP by coming to after hours for some advice.

Just say it. Who cares.

I had and possibly will have the most gross person I've ever met when I go back to work. I'm the only one who calls him out and he's getting better.

I'd avoid the sinuses thing initially though. Just make him realise his behaviour impacts others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

Definitely come onto Ireland’s least serious and most untrustworthy message board and ask for advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Shelga

You are the new person here. Could you leave him out of it and ask for a different seat. Blame sunlight through window, draft/heat, whatever.

Listing 3 separate things you dislike about one person you've worked with for 2 weeks and wanting them to change would make me look closer to home for a solution.

I've never had this much irritation with anyone I've worked with in 10+ years. He just seems like he hasn't a clue how to conduct himself in an office environment.

Think I might just call him out on it, as suggested, and ask to move seats if that doesn't work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Look for another job, new fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

Exert dominance by stealing his mouse or phone from his desk and rubbing it in your armpits. Every time he clears his throat you should fish a big snot out of your nose and flick it into his face. If he has earphones in he won't be able to hear you rip big farts behind his chair either. Fight fire with biohazardous fire. He won't be long getting the message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Ask to be moved.
    He won't miss you and you won't miss him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,134 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Ask to be moved.
    He won't miss you and you won't miss him!

To their Qatar office. If they dont have an office there, tell them to build it. They do cheap labour there and should have it open in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Offer him a tissue everyday when he does it even after he keeps saying no, make him aware that hes making a noticeabe and annoying noise. Tell him his cold sounds terrible and that noise he has to make sounds sore and that he should get some sinus spray for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭jcorr

Me, I would wear headphones to drown out noise.

But I work in IT. I'm not sure how that would translate into other types of office

Look OP at least you don't have a sexy colleague who vibrates the floor with her power walking. There's no solution for that at all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 474 ✭✭Former Observer

Shelga wrote: »
    I've never had this much irritation with anyone I've worked with in 10+ years.

Your guy seems like an angel compared to mine.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057986405

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Shelga

Your guy seems like an angel compared to mine.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057986405

I actually gagged reading that description!!

I hope things have improved...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Anything to be said for another killing !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

He is odds on to be promoted.
    Only fools do the work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,623 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

I work with a guy similar to that. He's actually a decent fella, but he has chronic sinus problems and does a dirty great sniff/snort/hock every 10-15 minutes.

I've taken to wearing ear phones when he's on. Turns my stomach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

offer him antihistamines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

God there are some bunch of sneaky ****ers working in Ireland. “Email HR” or “anonymous email to HR”???

Jesus Christ, I’m no fan of HR but putting this sort of nonsense in their lap drives me to having sympathy for them.

When did we become such a shower of pampered, confrontation averse sleeveens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Burn the building down and you two will never have to work together again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,564 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

It's revolting in the extreme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,222 ✭✭✭circadian

Wasn't this same thread posted within the last 3 months?