Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday 29/6

• 29-06-2019 8:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭

Newcastle 3:00

Going for Seamore here. He is on a good mark, will improve for his last run and is better than these if he recovers any form. He is surly readied for this.

1 Point EW 20/1 5 Places Betfair VC/Paddy

Newcastle 3:35

Going with obvious Desert Skyline. He is good enough to land a blow here, even from a wide draw. Plenty of his runs in the last year are certainly better than his mark of 107, and 50/1 look huge.

50/1 5 places hills/vc/betway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,018 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

4:10 - Top Notch Tonto looks absolutely dropped in off its mark for me. 5/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

A load of money for his stable mate but quite like Medicine Jack in the opener at the curragh. He won the railway stakes here as a two year old and won a Listed race at Navan last season. not so good since but he didn't run badly the last day when hampered and has been dropped four pounds. Nice high draw today 14s is well worth chancing

Boom the Groom is a course and distance winner off much higher second last at York. This isn't as competitive as it might look at first glance and he might outrun his odds 16/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭SonOfGoat

1.40 Windsor, Kingsholm around 15/8 backed to win

2.00 Chester, Puerto Banus around 1.8 backed to win

2.05 Newmarket, Summer Romance around 11/10 backed to win

2.10 York, Al Aakif, around 3.05'ish layed this

2.15 Windsor, Sextant, around 11/8 backed to win

2.25 Newcastle, Invincible Army around 5/4 backed to win

Looks good for a few favs early in the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Mostly Harmless

Short lived retirement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

I was going to back Sextant, not gonna now :pac:

Gone for a Canadian with some horses floating around the top of the market.

Lady Kermit (6/4) 4.00 Windsor
    Diocles of Rome (7/2) 5.15 Newcastle
    Sermon (3/1) 3.45 Chester
    Noble Behest (5/2) 4.55.Chester
    Limato (5/2) 3.15 Newmarket though also like cardsharp so coin flip for that one.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

That Summer Romance looks a bit special

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Just a quick warning to anyone watching ITV racing today that Mick Fitzgerald is at Newmarket. I have notified my sponsor and removed all dangerous sharp objects from the house.

Thanks be to holy jaysus RTE is on. Hopefully Sally Ann is on the Curragh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Short lived retirement

Have you forgotten Irishgoat retired here before, “giving up for 2 months” only to be found 24 hours later on another site betting like an out of control maniac. :)

Long live the coin flipping king The Goat ðŸ :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

What happens a yankee if 1 non runner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

akelly02 wrote: »

It's just voided, so turns into a trixie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭HarshOstrich

akelly02 wrote: »

Doubles become singles
    Trebles become doubles and 4 horse accumulator becomes a treble

Cosmelli each way in this

Houlton to place in first 3 6/5
    Fancy him to go close but he struggles to win.

Is there 2 pat dobbs jockeys because the one in dubai is savage, the one riding at windsor today doesnt look bothered, oh this is us and war glory where both ridden against the rail and never had day light to run into, looking at the back end of the front runner both times.

Fair play to Ger Lyons. He deserves it , sound man.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Some craic that was

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭jkbkhhho7t

Beggys done it again, what a man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,269 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Sad. Watching it I knew they'd never close the gap, whole field just gave him the race. All the horses here have quality, you can't give quality a furlong lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

This Classic generation is atrocious - the colts and the fillies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

What a load of ****e. O Brien and moore can just **** off . Stewards need to put an end to this ****e. Apprentices would get slaughtered for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,269 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Aidan trying to justify the horse winning, reeks of corruption. Bookies win, and Aidan gets his brown envelope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭jkbkhhho7t

Aidan trying to justify the horse winning, reeks of corruption. Bookies win, and Aidan gets his brown envelope.

Hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

Would love to see a sectional timing analysis of that.

It was a fast time ( 1.00 second above standard ) so there's merit in the winner, he should really have collapsed off that pace although if he'd been beaten a length or two at a big price his run wouldn't have raised any eyebrows. The rest must simply have had too much to do to put in the closing fractions to catch him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Ease off the glue there bud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭lemush

When the fun stops and all that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

To be fair to Toby half the forum was moaning about Magnier's "antics" before the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭famagusta

Right up there as one of the most stupid posts on boards ever. The last thing 'the lads' wanted was him winning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Bullwall

tryfix wrote: »
    Would love to see a sectional timing analysis of that.

It was a fast time ( 1.00 second above standard ) so there's merit in the winner, he should really have collapsed off that pace although if he'd been beaten a length or two at a big price his run wouldn't have raised any eyebrows. The rest must simply have had too much to do to put in the closing fractions to catch him.
    Irish Racing .com report the time as 2.31.50 which is 4.72 secs faster on today's going . I don't know to translate that time v standard . I'd love to see the sectionals too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,786 ✭✭✭Motivator

I think people should look beyond all the conspiracies and pocket talk and recognise Beggy’s ride for what it was - top notch. He kicked away from Norway at the exact right time and eased up the winner. Great ride, I don’t care what anyone else says. Some going for essentially a work rider to win the biggest race in Ireland and England. Good luck to him.

On a side note, I’m glad I didn’t make the journey today. Everything looked disjointed at the track on the tv. No atmosphere at all and a few mad results on the card too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭The Jman

I wonder what people would have said if Moore went with the front 2 and died off at the end. Would people say fair play for going for it or would he be judged for poor pace judgement??

The Jman wrote: »
    I wonder what people would have said if Moore went with the front 2 and died off at the end. Would people say fair play for going for it or would he be judged for poor pace judgement??

No he would have won the Derby and this conversation would not be happening. The pre race official rating of AVD was 13lbs above Sovereign. He should have stuffed him by as many lengths.

Ryan Moore whilst being overrated himself doesn't have enough track experience at the Curragh. I would love to see his strike rate there in races over a mile. He simply got his fractions wrong. Not for the first time either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭flos1964

Why would you wonder about such nonsense....how about the pacemaker setting a nice sensible controlled pace and Moore sitting in behind and i would be pretty sure going on and winning...for christ sake they had five of the eight runners and still cocked it up...racing geniuses my hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

You dont give a horse 10-20 lengths and watch the 7 5 4 and 2 pole go by sitting still.

Beggy stole the race from the front whilst the other geniuses where looking at each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,018 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

The whole thing was an utter shambles, there is literally no defence as to what happened at the Curragh today.

The lads owned 5 horses out of the 8 that ran. 2 started at a very fast pace, 1 ran ok, the other 2 ran very slow. Straight away, if you are one of the other three, in your head you are thinking, I don't want to go flat out too early. They would have seen two pace makers go off quickly, while watching the favoured Coolmoore horses holding back, thinking the right tactics were to follow the lead of the first and second Coolmore horses.

It's very easy for barstoolers to watch this and say that the competition should have ran their own race, but when you're dealing with fine margins and high quality animals, it basically only takes a few seconds delay for a jockey to misjudge a race before it's all game over. It's pretty clear that is what happened here.

You only need to look at the reaction from the crowd at the finishing post there. There wasn't a single roar or cheer. I wonder how many people in attendance watched what happened today and though "this horse racing is a complete stitch up, not a chance I will be back". I can't say I blame them at all. There is no way on form Sovereign should have been so far ahead of this lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭flos1964

Strange one...i mean he was hardly all out at the finish...ran Norway into the ground...surely there was serious improvement from previous runs...i would still back Anthony if they meet next time...thats racing i guess .

Sovereign being given too much rope on front end and Sovereign being best horse on the day are not mutually exclusive positions. Thought he won fair and square really. Reason why Coolmore run so many in race is to cover all eventualities and they've done that with this one winning off the front. The most obvious ones on form don't always win races, not sure why people are labelling this a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Bullwall

Sovereign being given too much rope on front end and Sovereign being best horse on the day are not mutually exclusive positions. Thought he won fair and square really. Reason why Coolmore run so many in race is to cover all eventualities and they've done that with this one winning off the front. The most obvious ones on form don't always win races, not sure why people are labelling this a disgrace.

could Sovereign be a better horse going right handed . Flimsy enough evidence but 6 runs left handed 0 wins , 3 runs right handed 2 wins and got caught on heels in the other race . 6 lenghts win yesterday and 14 lenghts win in a Galway maiden . I reckon he ran to about 116 yesterday against a previous rating of 104 .

Bullwall wrote: »
    could Sovereign be a better horse going right handed . Flimsy enough evidence but 6 runs left handed 0 wins , 3 runs right handed 2 wins and got caught on heels in the other race . 6 lenghts win yesterday and 14 lenghts win in a Galway maiden . I reckon he ran to about 116 yesterday against a previous rating of 104 .
    Seems a reasonable theory, hard to know exactly what brought about the improvement but it was clearly a decent effort in its own right regardless of being allowed a relatively soft lead. Sure Coolmore would rather win it with a first string but they'd also rather win it with 4th/5th strings than have someone else win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

Bullwall wrote: »

U000015618318021.jpg

http://www.irishracing.com/news?headline=Sovereign-springs-33/1-shock-in-Irish-Derby&prid=201003

He certainly seemed to enjoy himself yesterday. He was absolutely loving the track and underfoot conditions. I had another look at the chasing pack and the only other horse who seemed to be flowing over the ground as well as him was Madhmoon which didn't do Madhmoon any good.

Does anyone else think that Madhmoon actually stayed on well enough but simply isn't as good as people think he is? I think he's going to let his supporters down again if he's tried in proper G1 company over any distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Morleystreet

coolmore have so much quality horses that the outsiders can never be ruled out. Aidankkk has been posting for years about the value to be had in the big races with the coolmore outsiders. The problem always is which one !!!.

I remember thinking Joseph was not going to get caught on Memphis Tennessee in pour moi Derby - he just got swallowed up late on. Remember homecoming queen leading them a merry dance a few years back. I'm never surprised when I see these outsides place or on rarer occasion win. The problem is always which one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

tryfix wrote: »
    U000015618318021.jpg

http://www.irishracing.com/news?headline=Sovereign-springs-33/1-shock-in-Irish-Derby&prid=201003

He certainly seemed to enjoy himself yesterday. He was absolutely loving the track and underfoot conditions. I had another look at the chasing pack and the only other horse who seemed to be flowing over the ground as well as him was Madhmoon which didn't do Madhmoon any good.

Does anyone else think that Madhmoon actually stayed on well enough but simply isn't as good as people think he is? I think he's going to let his supporters down again if he's tried in proper G1 company over any distance.

Exactly madhmoom is useful at best. A long time ago a horse called al muhfti ran in those same colors , he was trained by peter walwyn. All hype too never won a major race.