Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

needing some advice on friend

• 25-06-2019 10:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭

I'm not sure what to do here, my friend is gay in his 30s while he enjoys meeting guys from Grinder and he travels to UK a lot too, I've notice he was handing business cards to young(ish) chaps say late teens, I did ask him what's that about he said he pretends he's a photographer and ask lads to e-mail him and do a photo shoot he then tells me he **** over the pics later as he likes looking at young toned guys. he said he's a very sexual person and enjoys sex.

I did warn him of the dangers but I don't think he's listening to me on it, I'm thinking of going to the guards anonymous to have them visit him maybe to shock him.

I do think he's going to get himself in a lot of trouble if he's not careful.

Thanks for reading

• Registered Users Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭antix80

I'd ditch him as a friend. Sounds sleazy.
    If young lads fall for it that's their problem. Maybe one of them will cop what's happening and knock some sense into your friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

If they're late teens then they're presumably adults I.e. past the legal age of consent at 17......so what are the guards going to do?

It is a bit sleazy pretending to be a photographer but not illegal, so if you have that much of an issue then you should tell him and then end the friendship, at least he'll know what actions he took led to it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

What a horrible sleaze, and frankly I find what he’s doing slightly sinister. You’d swear porn was hard to come by. Seriously the guy has issues. I doubt the guards would/could do anything, he’s essentially collecting photos, many people do this I’m sure but probably through dating /chat apps or just plain old porn.
    You say you’ve spoken to him, there’s not much more you can do really, he’s obviously not going to heed you, or if he does he’s probably just going to stop admitting to you what he does. He obviously gets a thrill out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

<snip>

• Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,655 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Mod:

Danzy - if you can't provide constructive advice, don't post here again.