Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So what arachnids do you hate?

• 24-06-2019 10:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭
    Ms

Me I absolutely hate Ticks. One of them little bastards got onto my dog last Summer and only for I noticed she was at her paw a lot and got it out who knows what could have happened. I treat her every year now know to keep the little feckers away.

Nasty little things they are.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭Sinus pain

There was a programme on RTE just now about ticks and Lyme disease

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,592 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Sinus pain wrote: »

It was very sad , and frustrating to think they can't get proper treatment here .

Ticks are gross. I remember as a kid having this massive itch on my collarbone. I kept scratching and scratching. It was like a big red pimple. I went into the bathroom to burst it, and looking in the mirror, saw some creature with little squirming legs pop out.

I assume it was a tick. The little fcuker had burrowed right down into the flesh. It didn't half freak me out. I didn't dare even tell anyone about it at the time, I assumed it was riddled with them.

Shudder.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,381 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

They don’t like my blood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,059 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

a09b61b885f0c46718ae1afe929a3c29.jpg

caead35a2118885a34b219c53358fdcb.jpg

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

AMKC wrote: »
    So what arachnids do you hate?

All of them. It's not natural for anything to have more than four legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I don't mind spiders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,217 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Me either ^

Unless i lived in the US or Asia where literally one of them fûckers can end your life. Here they small and cute, :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

I love them all

Covered in fire!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The only ones we see regularly in Ireland which properly freak me out are the massive female house spiders which tend to crop up between August and October looking for mates, and just openly chill out sitting (menacingly) on walls and.... Looking at people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Strumms wrote: »
    Me either ^

Unless i lived in the US or Asia where literally one of them fûckers can end your life. Here they small and cute, :p

When I was a kid I visited relatives in Australia and had no fear of spiders. It could have gone badly when I was out poking at the wildlife. I got a telling off and was shown a Redback in a piece of glass as a warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

All of them. And I don't even like talking about them! KILL THEM WITH FIRE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

I like spiders, especially the larger ones that appear every autumn.

giphy.gif

Harmless, cute little things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

All of them. Especially scorpions. Had them in my last house, we had to be constantly on the look out for them. Getting professionals to spray around outside monthly and even inside the house a few times did nothing. my husband ended up getting stung by one in the end that was inside his jeans when he put them on. He was in pain for days. horrible things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    All of them. Especially scorpions. Had them in my last house, we had to be constantly on the look out for them. Getting professionals to spray around outside monthly and even inside the house a few times did nothing. my husband ended up getting stung by one in the end that was inside his jeans when he put them on. He was in pain for days. horrible things.

Stung in the end of what ?

I'll get my coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Sinus pain wrote: »

Yes I just caught the end pf it and then recorded it on +1 for a friend that wants to see it.
    Mam of 4 wrote: »
    It was very sad , and frustrating to think they can't get proper treatment here .

I agree. It is terrible that there is not proper treatment for it here.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

The only ones we see regularly in Ireland which properly freak me out are the massive female house spiders which tend to crop up between August and October looking for mates, and just openly chill out sitting (menacingly) on walls and.... Looking at people.

You've seen LOTR too many times!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

As mentioned above, the gigantic house spiders that you can hear walking on the wooden floor just give me this shivers:o I won't kill them or anything, just sweep them up & out of the house!
    Ticks are par for the course on our farm, I get around 20/30 every year. You just learn to recognise the itch & check for them each night.

I actually love the teeny little money spiders or whatever they're called, think they're cute & the way they tickle you when they walk across your skin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

While sleeping, the average person will unknowingly swallow three rats every Martian year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Zaph wrote: »
    All of them. It's not natural for anything to have more than four legs.

Agreed. Only thing I can deal with that has more than 4 legs is a snooker table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Don’t worry, they won’t be around for much longer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

I like spiders, especially the larger ones that appear every autumn.

giphy.gif

Harmless, cute little things.

You are a sick f***er. Now I'm going to have to set fire to my computer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

You are a sick f***er. Now I'm going to have to set fire to my computer.

That's the thing about spiders, they fear not your "fire".

You think the fire is your friend? They were born in it.

I've been an arachnophobe for as long as I can remember. Can't stand spiders or anything that remotely looks like them. I even hate those stupid plastic spiders that some people seem to find amusing (idiots!).

It's been quite embarrassing at times during my adult life as I've occasionally freaked out if one gets too near me, or even worse, crawled on me. I swore blind that I'd do my best not to pass on my irrational fear to my children when they were born, but alas, I failed miserably.

My daughter now lives in Australia with her husband, and I'm visiting for the first time in December. Fu*king Australia!!!!! Surely the very worse place for me to visit? I have already planned where I'm stashing my shoes overnight, how I'm going to do a full room search before I get into bed each night, how I'm going to turn my clothes inside out and shake them vigorously each day and how I'm definitely not going anywhere near a shrub or a bush or a tree or anything remotely likely to contain spiders that can actually kill you! I might decide to spend the entire month in a plastic bubble or hazmat suit.

I can actually remember the childhood trauma that caused this complete dread of spiders, and in fairness, it wasn't really that traumatic looking back on it, but it has lasted a lifetime. It wasn't even a genuine spider that caused the original hatred, but one of those wanky crane flies (spiders with wings in my mind).

I think it's the way their legs move when they crawl (urgh!) and why the fu*k do they need eight legs????? Also, is there really a need for eight eyes???? They are obviously some evil entity from another planet originally.

Evil, alien bastardos, that's what they are.

I've been an arachnophobe for as long as I can remember. Can't stand spiders or anything that remotely looks like them. I even hate those stupid plastic spiders that some people seem to find amusing (idiots!).

It's been quite embarrassing at times during my adult life as I've occasionally freaked out if one gets too near me, or even worse, crawled on me. I swore blind that I'd do my best not to pass on my irrational fear to my children when they were born, but alas, I failed miserably.

My daughter now lives in Australia with her husband, and I'm visiting for the first time in December. Fu*king Australia!!!!! Surely the very worse place for me to visit? I have already planned where I'm stashing my shoes overnight, how I'm going to do a full room search before I get into bed each night, how I'm going to turn my clothes inside out and shake them vigorously each day and how I'm definitely not going anywhere near a shrub or a bush or a tree or anything remotely likely to contain spiders that can actually kill you! I might decide to spend the entire month in a plastic bubble or hazmat suit.

I can actually remember the childhood trauma that caused this complete dread of spiders, and in fairness, it wasn't really that traumatic looking back on it, but it has lasted a lifetime. It wasn't even a genuine spider that caused the original hatred, but one of those wanky crane flies (spiders with wings in my mind).

I think it's the way their legs move when they crawl (urgh!) and why the fu*k do they need eight legs????? Also, is there really a need for eight eyes???? They are obviously some evil entity from another planet originally.

I'm scared for you. Australia is like ground zero for deadly creepy crawlies, I think only India comes close. :(

The amygdala in the brain clocks the unpredictable movement of spiders and flags them as a threat even before our eyes fully focus on the little swine coming at us sideways with all those legs going like crazy.

It's a perfectly reasonable and rational thing to hate spiders, some of them can kill us. And most of those live in Australia! Be careful. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,037 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

While you're correct that the little bit of dinosaur jelly in our brains recognises odd movements as a threat, the fact is that the vast majority of spiders are completely harmless to us.

Spiders won't attack anything they can't eat. So that rules out humans. They may bite if alarmed or hurt. But they won't bother wasting their time on anything they can't get into their tiny mouths usually.

They're also essential to our eco system, because if our eight legged friends weren't around, this planet would be teeming with other bugs, who really are a danger to us. Like flies and the diseases they're responsible for, which kill far more people every year than spiders do.

Now there's things I hate. Flies. Ugly bastard things altogether.

bluebottle-fly-macro-stock-photos_csp38947436.jpg

Tony EH wrote: »
    While you're correct that the little bit of dinosaur jelly in our brains recognises odd movements as a threat, the fact is that the vast majority of spiders are completely harmless to us.

Spiders won't attack anything they can't eat. So that rules out humans. They may bite if alarmed or hurt. But they won't bother wasting their time on anything they can't get into their tiny mouths usually.

They're also essential to our eco system, because if our eight legged friends weren't around, this planet would be teeming with other bugs, who really are a danger to us. Like flies and the diseases they're responsible for, which kill far more people every year than spiders do.

Now there's things I hate. Flies. Ugly bastard things altogether.

bluebottle-fly-macro-stock-photos_csp38947436.jpg

I agree with pretty much everything you've written, but my fear and loathing of spiders doesn't come from a logical place, it comes from a very deep, dark place inside me :D

I know that spiders perform a very noble task in ridding the world of other more harmful creatures BUT why do they have to look and seem so evil?

True, flies are disgusting, but if one lands on or near me, I just brush it away without a second thought. If it was a spider of similar size, I'd almost have a stroke! Thinking about it, no insect or other creepy-crawly really bothers me at all, apart from spiders and those horrible harvestmen yokes, and to a lesser extent crane flies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Female dung beatles.

Not sexist, just hate the way the offspring cling to the underside.

Also flies. Seen too many swarming around steaming piles of s*ite and then knowing they'll be in your kitchen before long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Awe Australia is not that bad unless you decide to wonder off somewhere were you should not be you will be grand. I have been there. But you should still do all the things you have planned to do as well as more. Better be safe than sorry. Enjoy it when you do go. It will be hot around December so always make sure you drink plenty.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

My ex lived in southern Africa where they had these things called camel spiders - they are arachnids but not technically spiders - and while they're not dangerous to humans they look pretty alarming. They used to get stuck in his bath.

I am not the biggest fan of spiders but they do eat flies and mosquitoes which I appreciate.