Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gas Pipe for plumbing in Propane bottle for Gas Hob

• 13-06-2019 5:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭

Hi There,
    I was wondering if you knew what was the correct pipping that should go into a house under the Sub-Floor in the crushed stone.

Would 10mm insulated copper pipe do the trick? We are not talking about mains gas here, just a bottle to run a gas hob.
    Or would it be better to pipe it in over the sub-floor in the insulation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

This will give you a rough idea of what has to be done, you need to call an rgii though

http://www.rgii.ie/_fileupload/installer%20files/Technical%20Info/RGIIdocument.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭caff

magnethead wrote: »
    Hi There,
    I was wondering if you knew what was the correct pipping that should go into a house under the Sub-Floor in the crushed stone.

Would 10mm insulated copper pipe do the trick? We are not talking about mains gas here, just a bottle to run a gas hob.
    Or would it be better to pipe it in over the sub-floor in the insulation?

Your rgii plumber should be able to tell you this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭magnethead

Perfect lads, insulated copper pipe it is so, the crushed stone is going in tomorrow and the slab is being poured next Wednesday. It's just a 4M run through the rising wall to where the cooker is. I'll leave the insulated pipe in place and let the RGI plumber connect it up.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭DGOBS

If I was your RGI I would not certify any pipework I did not put in the ground myself (as is required under gas regulation)

If the pipe your laying is intended to carry gas, what you are doing is 'Gasworks' and you are required to be an RGI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,883 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

You talk about propane as if it was harmless compared to mains gas, when in fact it works on a higher pressure and is more explosive. I wouldn’t touch your installation either tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,304 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    You talk about propane as if it was harmless compared to mains gas, when in fact it works on a higher pressure and is more explosive. I wouldn’t touch your installation either tbh

Mighty stuff this propane. Tis a pity they don't sell the auld plutonium pellets anymore horse one into the hot water cylinder and no need to turn on the immersion for years

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 6,417 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wearb

Mighty stuff this propane. Tis a pity they don't sell the auld plutonium pellets anymore horse one into the hot water cylinder and no need to turn on the immersion for years

MOD NOTE: Please don't just jump in making light of a serious subject. You haven't even made any other helpful contributions to this thread.

Please follow site and charter rules. "Resistance is futile"

Propane IS much more dangerous than Nat gas and although it’s a small job the OP is doing it should be treated with the same care to safety as the biggest especially as it’s in a home environment, don’t see what’s funny about staying safe.

gary71 wrote: »
    Propane IS much more dangerous than Nat gas and although it’s a small job the OP is doing it should be treated with the same care to safety as the biggest especially as it’s in a home environment, don’t see what’s funny about staying safe.

If we are not allowed to have a laugh what is the point? Feck sake lighten up a bit. If you think my particular attempt at humour is unfunny fair enough but I saw another fella being given out to as well for trying to crack a joke. What is with the ultra serious attitude and worship of the RGI profession in this forum?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

DGOBS wrote: »
    If I was your RGI I would not certify any pipework I did not put in the ground myself (as is required under gas regulation)

If the pipe your laying is intended to carry gas, what you are doing is 'Gasworks' and you are required to be an RGI.

He can do it himself. No problem.

If we are not allowed to have a laugh what is the point? Feck sake lighten up a bit. If you think my particular attempt at humour is unfunny fair enough but I saw another fella being given out to as well for trying to crack a joke. What is with the ultra serious attitude and worship of the RGI profession in this forum?

There are lots of places here on boards where you can have such fun, but you need to know the correct time and place for it here. Jumping straight into a thread that you hadn't participated in with a smart remark, just belittles the genuine contributors and drags the thread off topic. That is the reason that it's not allowed in those instances.

Blueshoe wrote: »
    He can do it himself. No problem.

Yes he can, but he may not..... as my old teacher used to say.

Wearb wrote: »
    Yes he can, but he may not..... as my old teacher used to say.

His authority stops at the school gates.
    Plumb away my son plumb away

Wearb wrote: »
    There are lots of places here on boards where you can have such fun, but you need to know the correct time and place for it here. Jumping straight into a thread that you hadn't participated in with a smart remark, just belittles the genuine contributors and drags the thread off topic. That is the reason that it's not allowed in those instances.

I am terribly sorry if someone felt belittled out of what I said that wasn't the intention at all

Apology accepted, but note that belittling wasn't the only reason I mentioned. Anyway we'll leave it at that so as not to pull this thread even further off topic.

I’v never understood why my concern for the safety of others is mistaken for my ego or my need for worship(which would be nice though)

It's pretty much Gary because unlike you and I, these guys have never been up close and personal with the installs and the people affected when these things go wrong, so they think either; it doesn't, won't, won't happen to them, they know better, or we just scare monger. (Or even worse, like one of our friends here who lost a loved one)

Plumb away son, plumb away.....kinda sums it up (natural selection at it's finest) :rolleyes:

DGOBS wrote: »
    It's pretty much Gary because unlike you and I, these guys have never been up close and personal with the installs and the people affected when these things go wrong, so they think either; it doesn't, won't, won't happen to them, they know better, or we just scare monger. (Or even worse, like one of our friends here who lost a loved one)

Plumb away son, plumb away.....kinda sums it up (natural selection at it's finest) :rolleyes:

He would have had it done by now. No need for the plumbers premium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Blueshoe wrote: »

Sure why not, what could possibly go wrong, sure it'll be grand, it's not like it could... BooM!

Or could it?

Despite the fact it's considered illegal for a non-registered person to undertake gas works.

Hopefully your RGI who you ask to connect and commission the appliances and installations understands that he/she is taking all the risk on the pipework that you have installed and buried yourself, once they sign your cert (if they do)

The actual procedure here, would be for your RGI to request an inspector to come to site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭magnethead

Wow, this thread escalated fast :) The pipe is in place now (I didn't come back to this thread in the mean time) .
    Thanks for all the warnings, I do appreciate that gas is dangerous, you should see how it's plumbed in, with my current house.

Hopefully the RGI will not have an issue with it, maybe he could pressure test it to be sure, I'm thinking of a guy who knows the current guy doing the groundworks, so he might trust him to be careful...
    Anyway, if it all goes wrong, and I need to drill in a separate connection, I'll let you know

GasPipe.jpg?raw=1

magnethead wrote: »
    Wow, this thread escalated fast :) The pipe is in place now (I didn't come back to this thread in the mean time) .
    Thanks for all the warnings, I do appreciate that gas is dangerous, you should see how it's plumbed in, with my current house.

Hopefully the RGI will not have an issue with it, maybe he could pressure test it to be sure, I'm thinking of a guy who knows the current guy doing the groundworks, so he might trust him to be careful...
    Anyway, if it all goes wrong, and I need to drill in a separate connection, I'll let you know

GasPipe.jpg?raw=1
    I'd advice to get the rgii guy out now when he can advise you.