Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help - fuses blown left right and centre!

• 01-06-2019 6:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭

Lads,

Woke up early and clearly feeling over confident i tried to replace the radio head unit. Have an mk5 GTI, there was an old aftermarket unit which was grand but basic, so but bought a new android one and tried to install this morning. Have shorted about 7 fuses now.

Tried putting the old radio back in to test to make sure I didn't get a dodgy new unit, but nope fuses still blowing.God knows what I'm doing wrong.

Need it sorted today, have a lads trip coming up with me driving and shame not to have it working! Just don't know who I should try. I'm based in leixlip but anywhere Dublin south or dublin west would be grand.

Was thinking Icetronix? Will give them a call when they open. But if anyone knows a good guy who might fancy a nixer let me know pleeeeaaaasee!

Massively appreciate it, will be wrecking my head all weekend otherwise!

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

you must have short circuited it somewhere. Check everything is connected right and well insulated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Old radio OEM or was it too removed before. What's the wiring like.

Any pictures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭Stoolbend

Would you have put a screw through a wire anywhere?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 390 ✭✭jochenstacker

Isambard wrote: »
    you must have short circuited it somewhere. Check everything is connected right and well insulated.

Absolutely that. If it worked before, but not afterwards, 99.99999% of the time it's something that was done during the installation process.
    Don't panic, retrace your steps and, if nothing is found, undo everything that was done.
    It could also be two rotten wires touching each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Absolutely that. If it worked before, but not afterwards, 99.99999% of the time it's something that was done during the installation process.
    Don't panic, retrace your steps and, if nothing is found, undo everything that was done.
    It could also be two rotten wires touching each other.

I'd say it was something done in the previous installation, an aftermarket radio cowboyed in and who knows what wires were connected to what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,749 ✭✭✭corks finest

Any updates bud? Hope you're sorted,don't feel like Langer after it we've all been there trying electrics on a motor are a balls