Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SQL database build time

Options
  • 12-05-2019 9:55pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭

Hi,

I'm not a software programmer by any stretch of the imagination but can ye guys help me with a work issue and fight that I'm about to embark on:rolleyes: I looking for typically how long would it take to build a SQL database and populate etc Obviously this is how long is a piece of string and I will try my best to fill in some of the details.

I am in the process of building a SQL database for a group public sector organizations. This Database is about 300,000 point location data all over the country with about 30-40 attributes associated with each location. The data is currently stored in separate SQL databases and we are joining into one large database to report nationally etc. The data is there just to merge into this new SQL database.

We have done the conceptual data model and produced a logical data model with all the tables and look up values etc so that work is done. So its actually to build the thing and populate etc.

Problem is its the public service and the way this org works is all it development is done through a developer that's on retainer (daily rate). Now when we were doing the CDM and LDM I got an other independent developer to do the workshop and produce the models. I asked him then to quote what would it cost to actually build it and test load up a data set, do some management queries and test the mapping displays. He said that would take him 9 days...no probs