Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you do?

Options
  • 10-05-2019 9:05pm
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Ok here it is. Would really appreciate some advice. Am struggling.

I am a mature student. I spent many years abroad building experience to access a super competitive career programme there and needed to come back to Ireland due to my brother getting into trouble, which led me to having to decide on doing the programme here, knowing the standard would be lowered etc.

I now find myself turning 40 and living in the middle of nowhere with my lazy brother, and doing the programme day in day out. It won't finish for many years yet.

I am miserable. My peers are a lot younger, quite cheeky and rude and have no problems leaving me out of things. I find myself very affected by not being liked, as when I speak my mind, my views are often not agreed with by the younger ones who will cut across me and dismiss me. I find myself very depressed for days after being in their company. It is not a nice feeling knowing that I am disliked but I am trapped with them. I have spent so long at this that it just isn't an option to back out. The GP recently prescribed me some Xanax and I am considering just popping one of those a day from now on just to tolerate them.