Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Land rental prices

• 10-05-2019 6:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭

heard of land near me in the Clogher valley making £300 an acre with no entitlements how would any money be made off this ground or are people bidding land into big money to hold on to entitlements ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

There's a lot of demand for land for silage atm because lads want to build up a reserve of silage again as last year took lots of that reserve away.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

€300 paid near here too. But it's a long term lease. Nitrates derogation could be a factor too.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    €300 paid near here too. But it's a long term lease. Nitrates derogation could be a factor too.

It'll great craic altogether when the nitrates levels drop down to 130:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Young95

It'll great craic altogether when the nitrates levels drop down to 130:pac:
    What livestock units calculates to
    130 do you know by any chance eg stocking rate of 2 or 1.5 etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Nitrates are 85 for a dairy cow and basically the same for her replacements ie calf and maiden equals ~85

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

So 130 is still around a cow an acre?

No, around 0.6 LU/ac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭bosallagh88

blue5000 wrote: »

I wonder did that include the entitlements? Works out at 750 per hectare hard to see any money being made at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭alps

No, around 0.6 LU/ac

Half rate farming...scary thought...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,831 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

alps wrote: »

More like contractors will be investing in large tankers for the road and corn men will be getting plenty of free (or getting paid to take in) exported slurry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I wonder did that include the entitlements? Works out at 750 per hectare hard to see any money being made at it

Probably doesn't include entitlements, farmers want to use their own entitlements so land makes more without entitlements

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

alps wrote: »
    No, around 0.6 LU/ac

Be grand take it handy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭bosallagh88

wrangler wrote: »
    Probably doesn't include entitlements, farmers want to use their own entitlements so land makes more without entitlements

So really unless you are one of the few with very high value entitlements you can’t compete to bid for The tenancy if land for rent reaches the local paper ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 D-mac

More like contractors will be investing in large tankers for the road and corn men will be getting plenty of free (or getting paid to take in) exported slurry.

Does anyone know what the going rate for taking nitrates is? Just interested :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,831 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

D-mac wrote: »
    Does anyone know what the going rate for taking nitrates is? Just interested :-)

You could ask some of the Northern pig or poultry producers.

Fella near here had yellow reg tankers drawing down pig slurry to him at the start of the year. We'd be at least 90 minutes from the border - so whatever the differential was between getting the slurry in and either taking cattle slurry (or chemical fertilizer), it was enough for the pig-farmer to truck it down that distance. Even if they weren't drawing it from the North, I can't think of a piggery within an hour of here.

Heard of one or two cases of fellas around taking in chicken manure as well. Followed of course by a few cases of botulism.

Given that, at least around here, dung is given for free to take away, I can imagine that if everyone is over limit......then supply and demand kicks in. Even at that, some importers were slow or moaning about signing import forms. You have 10 neighbours desperate to export a few hundred tonne of dung....well you might select the one who will pay to have it transported to you and spread so that you can sign their form to stop them getting penalties.