Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chester Racing Festival 2019

• 08-05-2019 12:28pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭

Don't forget that there is a low draw bias on all sprints and up to 7f's. I think it is fine after that but there is argument for the same bias up to the 2 mile start where the low draw definitely starts again.

1.50 Great Dame
    2.25 Fanny Logan
    3.00 Angel Alexander
    3.35 Dashing Willoughby and Sir Dragonet.

Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Theonly way

The draw bias is always overbet and a hateful track for punters .

Great start for you there and well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Mostly Harmless

The draw bias is always overbet and a hateful track for punters .
    Low drawn ones still have an A/E over 1.0 last time I checked, definitely over 5f anyway

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

There is a massive draw bias from 5 to 7 f at Chester. Don't bother arguing. There is not a computer program on the planet that can replicate it.

The only argument arrives at 1m +. But as I said, in the 2m 2f cup on Friday there is a also a low draw bias and a race to the first corner. Getting a good early position is vital for the race. Most of the middle distances are small enough fields, it never really becomes a factor.

The bookies love obfuscating race trends by muddling statistics, it helps them make more profit, quite a simple business model really, over supply the punter with too much information leading to a confused response, sublime.

When you accumulate all the different distance results at Chester you can argue that the draw bias is overrated. IMO this occurs because it is not a factor for races between a mile and 2 miles. Hence the stats are blurred.

It is possible for there to be a massive draw bias but for it to also be overbet in the market (i.e. the advantage is reflected in price)

Both Gosden's fillies look decent, the winner looks very good. Que lots of Frankel waffle. They just interviewed Ralph Beckett there, he looked disappointed and a bit baffled, he must have fancied his one big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Think Yolo Again is nicely priced, possibly better than her mark and might like the track- 16s in the 3pm.

Edit- @MH I literally just saw the other thread haha. Nice to be in good company.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Both Gosden's fillies look decent, the winner looks very good. Que lots of Frankel waffle. They just interviewed Ralph Beckett there, he looked disappointed and a bit baffled, he must have fancied his one big time.

Mehdaayih looks a bit of a machine on that evidence, you'd think they'll have to supplement her for the Oaks now. Great to see some nice unexposed 3yos showing their class, always an exciting time of the year.

Dascombe just said that " half the yard " are on Angel Alexander.

He also said he owns a bit of She Can Boogie so he is a bit torn, he doesn't fancy the third one, that probably wins :p:p

Mehdaayih looks a bit of a machine on that evidence, you'd think they'll have to supplement her for the Oaks now. Great to see some nice unexposed 3yos showing their class, always an exciting time of the year.

Yeh she looks savage. She had loads of excuses if she needed them and still hacked up.

Think Yolo Again is nicely priced, possibly better than her mark and might like the track- 16s in the 3pm.

Edit- @MH I literally just saw the other thread haha. Nice to be in good company.
    Chance went when she didn't get out in front

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

O'Brien's yoke ( Secret Thoughts ) was very disappointing, not too sure why he'd send such a non-contender to what has been a key oaks trial for Ballydoyle in recent years.

You could blame the early position she found herself in but I reckon that using the speed influence War Front to speed up a crazily wayward but very talented Montjeu staying mare was never going to be a recipe to produce a Gp1 12f classic horse.

The winner is a cracking filly, despite the quirky Frankel influence that's a filly with a really great attitude. Looks more impressive than that Pink Dogwood yoke that's favourite for the Oaks.

Great Dame 1 drawn
    Mehdaayih 6
    Leodis Dream 6

Yes they do win drawn low but the price is always too short and near impossible to make a regular profit.

Great Dame 1 drawn
    Mehdaayih 6
    Leodis Dream 6

Yes they do win drawn low but the price is always too short and near impossible to make a regular profit.
    A sample size of three is hardly telling you anything

See results for the last eleven runnings of race 3 over 5 f.

Previous Years
    2018 Spoof 3 9-7 Callum Shepherd 9/2 (Charles Hills) (Drawn 3)
    2017 El Astronaute 4 8-8 Jason Hart 2/1Fav (J J Quinn) (Drawn 1)
    2016 Kimberella 6 8-10 F Norton 5/1 (David Nicholls) (Drawn 3)
    2015 Lexi's Hero 7 8-8 T Hamilton 10/1 (Richard Fahey) (Drawn 4)
    2014 Sir Maximilian 5 8-7 S Donohoe 7/1 (T J Pitt) (Drawn 4)
    2013 Forest Edge 4 8-6 J F Egan 12/1 (David Evans) (Drawn 3)
    2012 Confessional 5 9-2 P Mulrennan 5/1 (Tim Easterby) (Drawn 2)
    2011 Doctor Parkes 5 8-5 P Hanagan 10/1 (Eric Alston) (Drawn 7)
    2010 Masamah 4 8-6 W Buick 9/1 (Kevin Ryan) (Drawn 3)
    2009 Sohraab 5 9-3 E Ahern 11/4Fav (H Morrison) (Drawn 4)
    2008 Bertoliver 4 8-6 P Robinson 12/1 (D K Ivory) (Drawn 7)

Anomalies happen. The winner got a great ride and Dave O'Meara looks to be pouring in the winners.

The second race doesn't count as it was over a mile and a half. As I said earlier the draw is irrelevant at Chester between a mile and 2 miles.

Can't wait to see the price on that one.

https://www.flatstats.co.uk/draw-stats.php?course=Chester

Again sample sizes are bit small but 5f shows decent return for low drawn once you factor in prices of runners, 6f and 7f a lot more even

Distance: 5 furlungs
    Draw Wins SR% PL PL% Starts
    1 51 19.7 133 51.4 259
    2 53 20.9 133 52.4 254
    3 42 15.9 116 43.9 264
    4 32 12.6 99 39 254
    5 30 11.9 86 34 253
    6 24 10 79 32.9 240
    7 16 7.1 68 30.2 225
    8 13 6.5 49 24.4 201
    9 6 3.6 32 19.3 166
    10 6 4.6 15 11.5 130
    11 4 4 10 10.1 9

Distance: 5 furlungs
    Draw Wins SR% PL PL% Starts
    1 51 19.7 133 51.4 259
    2 53 20.9 133 52.4 254
    3 42 15.9 116 43.9 264
    4 32 12.6 99 39 254
    5 30 11.9 86 34 253
    6 24 10 79 32.9 240
    7 16 7.1 68 30.2 225
    8 13 6.5 49 24.4 201
    9 6 3.6 32 19.3 166
    10 6 4.6 15 11.5 130
    11 4 4 10 10.1 9

Strike rate is a tad meaningless though because you're not accounting for field size or price of runners

For me it just helps me arrive at a decision before I back a horse at Chester. I am happy enough with my methods.

In particular with 2 year old maidens, it can be that there is pile of crap drawn 1 -5. If that is the case I can make my own mind up about picking a runner who is drawn higher. If you check the stats the 2 year old races offer more of a chance for the outside draw than a standard handicap over 5 f. The reason being that handicappers know a lot more about the game than a 2 year old. I doubt the computer program can replicate that stat either.

For me it just helps me arrive at a decision before I back a horse at Chester. I am happy enough with my methods.

In particular with 2 year old maidens, it can be that there is pile of crap drawn 1 -5. If that is the case I can make my own mind up about picking a runner who is drawn higher. If you check the stats the 2 year old races offer more of a chance for the outside draw than a standard handicap over 5 f. The reason being that handicappers know a lot more about the game than a 2 year old. I doubt the computer program can replicate that stat either.

Ha ,Really funny !!!!!!!!!!!!

The point I was trying to make is that drawn low is no bad thing until the bookies price them up as your TRUE chance is say from box 2 20.9 % thus 4 against 1 which they are never that.

Ha ,Really funny !!!!!!!!!!!!

The point I was trying to make is that drawn low is no bad thing until the bookies price them up as your TRUE chance is say from box 2 20.9 % thus 4 against 1 which they are never that.
    If only it were so simple as every runner drawn 2 had an actual probability equal to the strike rate for that stall.

In other news, Artistic Streak looks very overpriced in next (coincidentally also drawn 2 :))

If only it were so simple as every runner drawn 2 had an actual probability equal to the strike rate for that stall.

In other news, Artistic Streak looks very overpriced in next (coincidentally also drawn 2 :))

Be fair the data that I supplied is for the distance of 5 furlongs and of course they must have some form to win as the draw is only one factor out of a long list.

Dr Koukash has two left in the last. I am backing both.

Penwortham
    Humble Gratitude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭ASOT

Had Gossiping in my tracker after after someone on here said it went on a run around this mark last time. Didn't have a penny on because I'm an idiot. Well done whoever pointed it out though can't remember who it was.

Well not good for most I presume as one winning jolly out of the 7 races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Find it very difficult punting this time of year. Royal Ascot timeline / end of June things tend to settle down in terms of 3yr old form etc . In the interim you’re facing aob 2nd strings winning and others running under cooked.

Snapraeceps 10

Best one I could find and still badly drawn but backed it earlier . but I am out of luck the last 2 days so.

Drifted like a barge in the market but got me back a few bob .

I have input all the relative racing details into the GUMPTION123 Chester racetrack simulator. I have used an advanced binary algorithim based on

draw bias, ground, trip, course form, MichaelOwenness, Tom Dascombesness, Recent DaveO'Mearapurplepatchness. Champagne Sales ( on track only )

It spat out the following options

1.50 Confessional - Gumption Factor +11
    2.25 Circus Maximus - Bred in the Pink. Also a small ew on Living Legend. I actually think this is a pretty good race. I would keep on eye on all of these throughout the season.
    3.00 Lola's Theme - Dascombite party special.
    3.35 Kew Gardens - Hose up potential +11, he wouldn't be running it here for a spin.

Lots of racing out there, be careful.

Not much that appeals today and bit absurd that we have several jumps meetings and just the one flat turf meeting.

Lincoln Park in 3.00 race the only bet I have had.

1.50 Confessional - Gumption Factor +11 (ha)

Word of caution with that one as it has a record fresh of 0-2-11 .

7:50 pm
    Craigmor @ 15/8 my chance today.

GL

Not much that appeals today and bit absurd that we have several jumps meetings and just the one flat turf meeting.

Adding Fool For You each way in first given they are down to the 9 runners now. That's definitely it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Japan going for the Dante. Could be some race next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭FatRat

Kew Gardens is a rancid price. Morando has very good form in this for a 9/2 shot and will appreciate a small bit of give in the ground. I'll be having him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭votecounts

FatRat wrote: »
    Kew Gardens is a rancid price. Morando has very good form in this for a 9/2 shot and will appreciate a small bit of give in the ground. I'll be having him
    hope you had a few quid on him, kew gardens was very poor
    good tipping:)

Well done to 2 good decent priced winners with Morando 9/2 .How I did not back it .AAHHHHHHHH

1.50 Confessional - Gumption Factor +11 (ha)

Word of caution with that one as it has a record fresh of 0-2-11 .

7:50 pm
    Craigmor @ 15/8 my chance today.

GL

Thankfully that one delivered in the style expected .