Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Repotting Spider Plant Babies

Options
  • 07-05-2019 12:03pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭

So I'm quite new to plants in general, so just a warning that this may sound like a stupid question.

I have a spider plant that seems to be doing quite well and now has a few babies hanging down off of it. There's one in particular that looks like it would do well on it's own, but I can't seem to find any info on how big they should be before snipping off and replanting. I really don't want to kill the 1st one - he has about 6 or 7 buddies coming after him so I might aswell get it right the 1st time.

IMG-20190507-115845.jpg

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 772 ✭✭✭baaba maal

They are really tolerant plants, so assuming the baby has been potted for a couple of weeks, give it a gentle tug to see if the roots have taken hold. If there is some sign of this, snip the "apron strings". I have cut individual plantlets off and then potted them and they have done fine. Spider plants are damn hardy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Bawnmore

So should it be OK at that size? Or wait a little longer? I was going to just snip and replant, but may go down the replanting while it's still attached route.

You can just see the first root tendrils starting to appear so they would make it once they are kept watered. To be honest, you could do the following:
    cut the plantlet off
    put in an egg cup,
    keep topped up with water
    once roots have developed, transplant into bigger pot

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,629 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous