Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Changing Career to What?

Options
  • 12-04-2019 8:45pm
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I graduated 2 years ago, and went to work in industry. I hate it, for numerous reasons, there seriously is not 1 single aspect I enjoy and I cannot fathom how anyone has stayed working in industry. I want to take my career in a different direction, but I don't know what. I've already been to a career guidance appointment and I am still lost. My current job does not pay well (its an internship, I have 10 months left) and I'm hemorrhaging money (I don't even know how-if I take a holiday its maybe twice a year to Scotland for like 3 days, I do not buy designer, or even high street clothes-just cheap websites and pennys, I do not live a lifestyle much different from my student days, other than the drinking and having fun part-thats non-existant these days). I had savings and they're starting to deplete. I feel like I'm running out of time. I am getting older, the clock is ticking to start a career afresh. I've not had any sort of epiphany, and I know an epiphany will never come, I can't afford to take any days off of work (I don't know how it has happened and I think it may be a mistake by my employer, but my holidays are negative days) to go try work experience in different work places.

How do I come to a decision, is there anything, some tips, that helped you, the good people of boards, decide what you wanted to do as a career? Anything you wish you had done before deciding, or taken into consideration?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭joeguevara